Samesun Vancouver
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Samesun Vancouver

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5 Canada
Traveller (136)
Panorama at the Samesun Vancouver
360
Panoramas (15)
Private room
Room & Suite (121)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 17 hostels in Vancouver
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Adults only
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Iron
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
City View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Vancouver Intl Airport
10.3 km
See all flights
Nanaimo Airport
59.8 km
See all flights
Yaletown–Roundhouse
7 minVancouver Sky Train
1,716Review18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 715
  • 671
  • 217
  • 57
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ramseyef wrote a review Jan 2020
Athens, Georgia2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
In all honesty, I had not stayed in a hostel in almost 15 years when I stayed here - at some point the allure of bare bones accommodations wears thin as you age. But because I needed cheap accommodations for a conference, I tried Samesun. It was much better than I expected, and I appreciated several features of this hostel in particular. First, I was pleasantly surprised to see the number of points of entry that were keycard only, including the initial door upstairs from the lobby (where there is a bar past the check-in desk), and that each individual room was also keycard entry only.

Second, the bathrooms, which were generally clean enough, had locking individual shower stall doors that reached top to bottom providing full privacy. There was room outside the shower for you to hang your clothes and dress without standing in the shower, and the areas were kept clean.

The rooms (which I shared with 3 other females) were also fine. There was an individual power strip and light at each bed, and an individual locker for each room inhabitant. I saw no bugs (and trust me, as a bed bug phobic, I did look...). I tend to go to bed early, but I lucked out in that with my conference, I was actually out later than all of the Aussie girls I roomed with, and all seemed to go to sleep earlier and wake later than me (probably suffering from jet lag), so I was not bothered by loud roommates. However, I was glad that I stayed Tuesday through Thursday night and not the weekend, as I noticed a lot more noise on Thursday night than on prior nights.

If you're there to sightsee, drink, and club, then you'll definitely enjoy the area - clubs and bars abound up and down the block. Again, I was there on work, and being about two decades older than most of the hostel's inhabitants, I felt rather out of place. But for what I needed Samesun was fine, clean, and safe, and the price couldn't be beat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JamieP2105 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom30 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was perfect, and staff were helpful when I got to my room to discover another guest had helped themselves to my bed. The bed itself was comfy and I was thankful for the privacy curtain on each one, as well as the individual electric sockets, light, and fan. The toilets and showers were very clean and the breakfast was decent. The only negative point for me was the wifi as I couldn't use my data on an international plan so the wifi was crucial for me. It was perfect in social areas, but almost non-existent in my room on the first floor. I'd definitely stay here again if I was in Vancouver.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lupitacarrillo1951 wrote a review Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
friendly and informative staff; very kind. cleanness and quietness. Location, in downtown, accessible to visit mainly places of Vancouver it is worthy for the price.. a place where you can meet travelers from all around the world.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: women room (6) quietness, cleanness, informative and friendly staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AnnMarie wrote a review Aug 2022
15 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Breakfast was yummy and plentiful! I loved that they have guided activities available each day of the week, too. The location relative to things to see and transportation was excellent! Unfortunately, it's also on a street that never sleeps, which means it's noisy (at least if you have one of the front rooms) -- definitely bring earplugs! The facilities, though, were excellent. Rather than having each individual room have a shared bathroom/shower, the whole floor shared individual toilets and showers with solid walls and locking doors. I much preferred this arrangement! They also provided shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the showers.

The biggest annoyance about the hostel itself was the extremely weak WiFi signal in the front rooms on the upper floors. In the lounges and the lobby, and even in front of the hostel on the street, the signal was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samesun Management, General Manager at Samesun Vancouver
Responded 13 Jan 2023
Hello, and thanks for the feedback. We recently upgraded our free WiFi to further increase it's range and speed, but I will take a look at your room, and the upper levels of our building. Safe travels,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitchell M wrote a review Oct 2020
Pattaya, Thailand4 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness: While I was at the front desk a german young man came down to talk about an overflowing toilet.

Customer service: Told me that I should have came prepared to give them a 100$ deposit for a ONE NIGHT STAY. I had received no warning through my booking app fhat this would be requested but they insisted I head off to a local private atm where I would be charged for the withdrawal. I went to my bank and gave them over double the cost of my stay as a "deposit". Then they tried to force me to change the low review I gave them on google maps because of their practice of collecting a huge amount of money for one night in a cheap room. I refused to change the review so they cancelled my booking.
Awful customer service, owner acts like he is doing you a favour by letting you stay in his cheap hostel after grabbing a bunch of money from you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew S, General Manager at Samesun Vancouver
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Hello, for all check-ins we require a credit card in your name or a cash deposit in lieu of a credit card, which is standard practice. Please note that we will also refuse service to guests who have been verbally or physically abusive to our staff. Thanks,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LouiseeDM wrote a review June 2023
Melbourne, Australia31 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Fairly big hostel - pretty clean. There are about 6 toilets and 6 showers per floor. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm. Beds were comfy, although the rooms were quite warm (I stayed in summer). Next to each bed is a little fan, light and power point. Beds have blackout curtains which were great. Lockers were large enough for my 65L backpack. Hooks in the room for towels etc. the rooms were a bit small e.g if one person has their bag on the floor it’s a bit awkward to get around. kitchen facilities were quite good. Free breakfast was great - large selection of bagels + spreads, fruit, oatmeal and hot drinks. Staff were friendly and helped me to book a whale watching tour. They also have a large luggage storage room. The hostel is in great location and easy to walk to most places. They have washing machines and dryers (about $3 per load). Bathrooms were relatively clean - they had a door that locked rather than a curtain which I liked.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: This hostel is on a busy, loud street. Bring ear plugs!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samesun Management, General Manager at Samesun Vancouver
Responded 7 June 2023
Hello, and thanks for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers and safe travels,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PB wrote a review Sept 2022
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great stay! I stayed there for three days and really liked it. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There were issues with the check-in process because they had given away my bed to someone else. But they worked it out for me. Breakfast is very good with a variety of bagels, fruit and coffee (though if it starts by 7.30am that would benefit people who have to head out before 8am). Bathrooms are always available and clean with nice locking doors rather than curtains. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Very central and convenient location. Good places nearby to grab a quick bite. The street is noisy and dirty but its not unsafe, its beyond hostel's control anyway.
The downside is there is no elevator and you will need to carry your luggage up the stairs. As others have stated its expensive for a hostel but Vancouver is an expensive city and the location of this hostel does not help there much. Its busy hostel and can get noisy at times.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samesun Management, General Manager at Samesun Vancouver
Responded 18 Sept 2022
Hello, and thanks for the great review. We don't give away reserved beds, but I am glad that we were able to sort out the issue with your booking. In regards to our free daily breakfast, we do have some items available much earlier. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Safe travels,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ali921 wrote a review June 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1,457 contribution659 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodation in downtown VCR is very expensive so expect to pay a lot more for a hostel than you might in other cities. We had a private room. Came with a clean room, bathroom (shower was hot & strong) & fridge. The bar can get noisy especially if you are on the first floor directly above it. However, residents we met said the staff were polite and efficient and moved you if you requested. Breakfast was bagels, bread, fruit, hard boiled eggs and tea/coffee. At the end of breakfast they allowed you to make lunch, a bonus if on a tight budget. Kitchen for those who want to self-cater. Good wi-fi, best in lounge/corridor. All hostels can be noisy despite notices asking people to be silent. Bar actually had a great beer selection. Lots of cheap eateries in the area, even if it's not most salubrious part of town. Overall it's a very good place to stay, 10 min walk from the airport metro.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holly W wrote a review July 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went (as BC residents) on a trip to vancouver for a birthday and our stay at the samesun really made our vacation.
We had a private double room and after staying in a camper van for god knows how long it was an absolute godsend .
The room was very clean with one comfy ass bed and all ablutions were exceptionally clean - really put us at ease during this time.
The bar was super fun and a great place for some cheap drinks with friends and again with amazing social distancing measures which made us feel really safe . Overall a fantastic stay with brilliant social distancing and pandemic measures in place which meant we had an absolute ball with zero anxieties. 10/10!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Stewart, General Manager at Samesun Vancouver
Responded 19 July 2020
Hello, and thanks for the wonderful review! I'm glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. Cheers,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gingergirlsouthwest wrote a review July 2022
South West17 contributions54 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Really awful experience, I left after 1 night. Nothing like advertised, hot, cramped, rammed in bunk beds with no room to move or store luggage. Lockers totally useless. Minimal toilets and showers shared between a large number of people, also whilst not an issue, it should be noted these are mixed gender. Really dark and dingy, area isn't the best either. Don't get a room at the front overlooking the street, the neon lights and music will keep you awake, plus the curtains don't actually fit either. I checked into a hotel, and it seems from these reviews, I'm not the first to leave early.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samesun Management, General Manager at Samesun Vancouver
Responded 16 July 2022
Hello, unfortunately Vancouver can be quite warm in summer but we do provide fans for all of our dorm beds, and air-conditioning throughout our building. Our lockers do fit small possessions, and we also have a large secure luggage room. Whilst we are located in the heart of the downtown Entertainment District, there can be some street noise at night, but we do have rooms away from the street which are generally much quieter. Some guests may also encounter those less fortunate moving through the downtown core, but the city in general is considered very safe, and for those reading, we do not have any issues in front of our building or in any of the areas surrounding us. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Samesun
Vancouver, Canada10 contributions
Hey Coral, Yes we do, if you need to store your luggage the day you check-in or the same day you are checking out we have free storage available for you!
Making it happen asked a question July 2020
Barrie, Canada12 contributions21 helpful votes
Is there parking on site or close by. If not is there a fee?
Answer from Mervyn S
Toronto, Canada63 contributions25 helpful votes
I don't recall parking at the Vancouver SameSun on Granville...the hostel entrance is directly on the street. They respond fairly quickly to emails if you want to try that.
Aaron L asked a question Mar 2020
1 contribution
Do you accept 16 year olds?
Answer from SamesunVancouver
Vancouver, Canada
Hello, all guests are required to be over the age of 18 to stay with us (even if accompanied by an adult). Thanks,
Answer from SamesunVancouver
Vancouver, Canada
Hello, we accept most major credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, JCB and UnionPay) as well as debit, or cash. Thanks,
Answer from petegas78
Vancouver, Canada31 contributions13 helpful votes
Yup as long as you are comfortable in the social setting of a hostel, you will fit right in. Age is but a number!
Simon G wrote a tip July 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring earplugs."
Read full review
LouiseeDM wrote a tip June 2023
Melbourne, Australia31 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hostel is on a busy, loud street. Bring ear plugs!"
Read full review
lucasacanna wrote a tip May 2023
The Hague, The Netherlands14 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hostel is in a very noisy street, I’d suggest to ask for a room on the other side of the building"
Read full review
Terri S wrote a tip May 2023
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only go if you want to party and not sleep. "
Read full review
Chris F wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do that activity’s on each day "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vancouver area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
samesun backpacker hotel vancouver
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Global Village Backpackers
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouverGranville Street / Central / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAMESUN VANCOUVER: 2023 Reviews (Canada) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Samesun Vancouver
Which popular attractions are close to Samesun Vancouver?
Nearby attractions include Orpheum Theatre (0.3 km), i-Exit Downtown Vancouver (0.2 km), and The Commodore Ballroom (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Samesun Vancouver?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Samesun Vancouver?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Samesun Vancouver?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Samesun Vancouver?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Samesun Vancouver?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge, Blue Water Cafe, and Lupo Restaurant.
Is Samesun Vancouver located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Vancouver.
Are any cleaning services offered at Samesun Vancouver?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Samesun Vancouver?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Yaletown (0.5 km), Engine 374 Pavilion (0.6 km), and Gaoler's Mews (1.4 km).
Does Samesun Vancouver have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Vancouver HotelsVancouver Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in VancouverHotels near Samesun Vancouver
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars