We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 555: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a Thursday. The place is what you expect for the cheap price - simple, maybe slightly dated but if you just want a room for the night it's fine. We had a room at the front on Granville st and neither of us noticed any particular noise. Staff were all friendly and accommodating and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurajayne56
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Front desk staff are not very friendly. Other than that, the room is central to nightlife. I stayed at this hotel while in town for a concert. We wanted to be able to go out after and walk home. We were able to walk around everywhere, the Art Gallery, Rogers Arena, the clubs, great location, if that is what you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glitteradvisor
San Jose
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Arrived around 11:30pm on a Friday night and there were so many young people standing outside. Found out that there was a night club/pub right next door, which opens until 3am. If you wish to have a quiet good night sleep, this is not the place. The bathroom is clean, but the common areas like hallway and stairs are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geminican
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Rooms were fine, location is good let down by reception staff who don't appear to talk to each other? Was told by the day receptionist we could extend our check out time which would cost $10 per hour as we didn't get collected until 5pm, when we returned to reception to do this was told sorry no can do. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear EmmaT, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry we were not able to accommodate your 5pm check out, but as explained, check in is 4pm and our housekeeping staff leaves at 5:30pm. We were sold out that day, due to the concert in the city and as you have witnessed by the...

Reviewed 15 October 2016

The room was kinda of outdated, but the staff was friendly and the location was great for lots of activities. They accommodate parking that is reasonable in downtown. It's steps away from public transit, and there's a park near by which is great for a night stroll.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard l
Point Roberts, Washington
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed Here few days in The middle of Vancouver - direct on Main Shopping Street of Vancouver and quite close To a Park. You can Walk Or use Bus Lines direct from Hotel To get Arround To Harbour Or other top places in Vancouver The room Are smaller but all You Need! Bath is really small but also all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sven K
Liberec
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I stayed at Howard Johnson Vancouver before and after returning from a cruise and I was disappointed only that I had not booked longer stay. The design, decor and Family atmosphere of the hotel is simply stunning and my favourite room, which had a nice sitting area, very clean bathroom and so so cozy Queen Bed. Hotel team and staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JakubFucik
London
Reviewed 13 September 2016

As first ever hotel stay in Canada certainly could have picked better, first impressions are important and sadly from unwelcoming staff to noisy room it was a terrible first impression. Would not recommend anyone to stay here especially on the street side, people singing along the street at 3am, seemed to like to stand outside hotel. Granville street is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ubiquitous7
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located on Granville street. There is a heavy concentration of homeless sleeping on the street and drug addicts. At night, because of 2 nightclubs across the street and one next door, the street is dirty abd noisy. People getting sick on the side walk. People waiting in line use the washrooms in the lobby area. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
Hojovan, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bob L. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing your review. I was surprised by the amount you paid, and you and me both know, that is not correct amount. The cost is less and also you forgot to mention that you did park at the hotel for 2 nights, not 3 nights, which...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
1,655 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 89 in Vancouver
94 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1176 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: $82 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vancouver
Vancouver Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms can hear noisy from the bar”
 of 5 bubbles 4charlesl, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 5th floor and rooms are ok there. The only thing is that there is a terrible smell of dust everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles DanielaDaniQ, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“are much better hotels in vancouver. this hotel only for emrgency”
 of 5 bubbles gtsouris, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you stay get a room at the back as it can get noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 431emmat, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room away from street”
 of 5 bubbles ubiquitous7, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5