HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse

81 West St. P.O. Box 296, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Right at the end of the road
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 4 hostels in Tofino
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Whether you are interested in surfing, fishing, whale watching, storm watching, beach combing or just which to explore Tofino and its exciting arts, culture and restaurant scene, we offer the best value around. Spend your money on adventure not your accommodation. At the end of each day, enjoy a hot drink or a cold brew next to our fireplace in the comfort of our lounge room overlooking the Sound, or relax shooting a game of pool in our games room! Fully equipped communal kitchen. BBQ area and coin operated guest laundry facilities. Choose from our spacious private suites (2 - pc bathroom), private rooms with ocean views, Deluxe private room with balcony, Budget private rooms or shared dorm style rooms - all with 9 ft ceilings and many with breathtaking waterfront views. We look forward to making your experience memorable!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor dining area
Beach
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Bicycles available
Game room
Hiking
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Oven
Stovetop
Hair dryer
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

81 West St. P.O. Box 296, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
73.8 km
See all flights
281Reviews2Q+A44Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 69
  • 28
  • 10
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Georgia wrote a review Oct 2022
United Kingdom27 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hostel since it seemed to be in a good location and was more affordable than some of the other options in the local area. The location for exploring the town is great, only a couple of minutes walk to the Main Street & the docks for wildlife trips. The communal lounge/ dining area has an amazing view over the bay - whilst eating dinner we spotted seals along the shoreline.

The rooms were clean and spacious although it would have been great to have a small shelf to put phones/ glasses etc on overnight.

The only thing we found strange was that the kitchen/dining was cleaned between 1-3pm meaning that if you where having lunch at the hostel this could be a little bit of an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fellipe Trasmonte wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super nice place to stay!

Clean and comfortable, the room was perfect.

The staff is amazing, I can see that the people who work there have a lot of attention to detail. Everything looks very clean and tidy.

Definitely, I would refer this place to other people.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
liam r wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a family of four who stayed in a family room at HI Tofino this month, and loved the central location, beautiful views, helpful staff and great facilities! Great value in what can be an expensive town. Only thing I'd suggest is a little later closing time for the kitchen and social space, which tends to shut down from 9.30pm. If we could make use of common areas up till 11pm, would have been perfect :) Still, highly recommend if you're looking for a friendly, clean and affordable option in the heart of Tofino.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pasc1991 wrote a review Sept 2020
Montreal, Canada47 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an okay stay at the Hi-Tofino Whalers on the point Guesthouse. We had a private room with shared bathrooms.
The big plus is the location. The view from the lounge/fireplace area is incredible.
However, for a hostel the prices were very high for what it was. I understand that prices are higher in Tofino, but I have been to far better hostels elsewhere for less than half the price. Also, for the price, I assumed that the parking would have been included...! The COVID-19 sanitary measures were not fully enforced which made us question how seriously they were being taken by the hostel’s staff as well. The kitchen hours were quiet restrictive and the reception was almost always closed.
It remains one of the most « affordable » accommodation in the area and I think it is why they are getting away with an average hostel with a high price point.
We liked Tofino and the location, but we were slightly disappointed with our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tofino Hostel, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Hello Pascale, Thanks so much for staying with us an leaving a review. We are sorry about the confusion with the parking fee. We only have fee for parking during high season (5CAD per vehicle) but do not charge for parking during shoulder and low season (November to March). We also recommend to visit us during low or shoulder season - Tofino is beautiful in the off-season and we have a lot of good deals and discounts during the more quiet time of the year. Please also be assured that we are taking COVID019 very serious. We re asking all our guests to wear face masks inside the building and a sanitizing and cleaning high usage areas frequently and multiple times day. Can you please reach out to us by email and let us know which sanitary measures you found were not enforced so we can retrain our team if necessary? Thanks again for visiting us in Tofino, we hope you had a safe trip home.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oilcoveredotter wrote a review Sept 2020
St. John's, Canada1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Opted to try the HI-Tofino as an "affordable" option (around 150$ for a non member rate, private room).

Pleasantly surprised by the surf gear storage area, although some means of having it securely locked would be an added plus.

I can appreciate the challenges covid precautions place on a hotel, and protocols and safety measures made sense.

Bit disappointed that 150$ a night doesn't provide the guests any shampoo or conditioner services.

Staff are seemingly absent after 9pm or so. I found both Friday & Saturday the hallways and rooms to be areas of communal parties / music etc passed 10-11pm. There was no contact available at the front desk to enforce noise issues, and seemingly no one to contact based on the info pamphlet provided.

Going forward for future visits I'll likely shell out a few extra bucks on a hotel to get a better nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tofino Hostel, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Thanks a lot for reviewing us. We are happy to hear that you liked the surf gear storage. Due to COVID-19 we currenlty do not lock it since guests would need to handle a key for the storage and we considered it safe for everybody not to have a key being passed down. While we close our office at 9PM staff is around until at least 10PM to sanitize and clean bathrooms, communal areas and kitchen and also to enforce quiet times. We also have emergency numbers posted by our main entrance door in case guests need assistance. We are not a party hostel and take our quiet times serious. While we do not have a 24 hour front desk, all our staff live onsite and ensure that quiet times are kept and respected. While we do not offer individually wrapped soap and shampoo we do have soap dispensers in all our bathrooms and provide samples of a local soap manufacturer for our guests to use. Next time you stay with us just check without front desk and we are happy explain the different types we offer. We do offer a 10% discount for HI members on our rates - you might also want to check our fall / winter deals - which is as low as 64CAD + tax for a private room.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A P wrote a review June 2021
London, United Kingdom21 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here in June and were greatly disappointed. Currently it is not the hostel it advertises to be.
Of course we’re aware covid has had huge impacts, but with the lounge and kitchen being closed to guests it seems silly to pay upwards of $90 a night just to sleep in a bunk bed with wifi.
The outside kitchen has one covered table, the rest of the patio furniture is at risk of rain. There are no cooking utensils or crockery provided, we were told we needed to supply our own, and guests have no access to food storage or a fridge. Unless you’re travelling in a camper with a mini fridge (and then why would you need a hostel), or plan on eating out all the time (and you could probably afford better than this hostel), it’s almost impossible.
This wasn’t communicated to us when we booked over the phone, nor did it properly explain the level of covid closures online so we had a rude surprise upon arrival. Hoping hoping this review informs other travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tofino Hostel, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Responded 17 June 2021
Hello Anna, Thanks a lot for leaving a review for us after reaching out to us by email before. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. We try our best to make a stay during COVID-19 as pleasant and normal as possible. However, we also have to ensure the well-being of all our staff and guests. After more than a year into COVID-19 most of our guests understand very well that travelling during COVID-19 is a different experience than during pre-pandemic times. We are also aware that our house rules here are strict and at times very different from what other hostels offer. However, for the last 16 month we successfully managed to prevent any COVID-19 exposure here at our hostel and were able to keep the highest possible safety standards to ensure the well-being of our guests, staff and ultimately our community. Tofino is a very small community and we are operating in the traditional territory of the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nation of the Nuu-chah-nulth peoples – there have been valid concerns from the local first nations communities about welcoming tourists here in Tofino during a pandemic. This and the fact that our community has 10 hospital beds for 8,000 people is why our COVID-19 safety protocols might seem stricter than in other places. This is the reason why we are strictly following the provincial orders that put a circuit breaker on all indoor dining and also introduced strict regulations around travel. As a result, we had to make the hard decision to close all our communal areas to guests until further notice. This is clearly communicated in all our confirmation emails, pre-arrival emails and also on our website (https://www.tofinohostel.com/ and https://www.tofinohostel.com/covid-19-info ). We also give out pots, pans and dishware to all our guests who want to use the outside kitchen. We will make sure to communicate this again with our team to ensure this is clearly explained to all our guests at check-in. Luckily, with the new infections going down and more and more people getting vaccinated we were able to open all our communal areas and kitchen again. Again, we are sorry that your stay during COVID-19 was not as anticipated. We do hope you enjoyed your trip to Tofino regardless and hope you will give us another chance during post-pandemic times - when hostelling and travelling is hopefully like we all used to know it from the times before COVID.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan Cadman-Rivers wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was utterly disappointed with this hostel. They charged me a lost key fee despite telling us we had extra time to check out after asking. We were also told off for chatting outside with other guests at roughly 9:30pm, we were in no way being loud. The kitchen policy was obscene - very strict over even getting water. Finally, they seemed very unhelpful with tours if it wasn’t with the direct company they usually worked with. Overall, I was disappointed with HI hostel Tofino, which was sad given that I am in general a big HI hostel fan. Staff weren’t warm, helpful or friendly.

My advice is to look for somewhere else especially given the price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tofino Hostel, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Responded 12 Sept 2020
Hello Jordan, thank you very much for leaving a review for our hostel. We had charged a lost key fee because one of the keys was not returned and also explained to your group that we would refund you if the key is found. We refunded the lost key fee right after your group found the key and returned it to our front desk. Due to COVID and extended cleaning and sanitizing protocols that we follow here at our hostel for the safety of our guests, our kitchen is open to guests from 8AM to 11AM for breakfast, 12PM to 2PM for lunch and from 5PM to 9PM for dinner. Outside these times we are cleaning and sanitizing the kitchen. We will be back to our usual kitchen times as soon as it is safe to do so. As we are located in downtown Tofino and our neighbors are not too far. We usually close our patio area at 10PM and give our guests a quick heads up around 9:30PM that our patio will be closed soon. We are sorry that you had the feeling that we did not make enough recommendations for tour companies. We have a great variety of companies that we have in program and that offer our guests a great discounts on adventure tours and lessons. We have picked each single one of them because they are our Tofino favorites and we know each of the tours they offer and can tell you every single bit about them. For guests who prefer to go out with other companies we usually recommend to make your booking directly with that company to ensure you have all the information about the company prior to your booking. Kind regards, Juliane
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Izzy F wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and views with friendly other travellers staying. However, although it’s a hostel in name, it’s not cheap. They take big deposits during your stay and on any bike rental/activities etc. I’m told there used to be a cool sauna room and that it was cheaper, but this is not the case anymore. Also the hostel walls and doors are thin. You can easily here conversations from other rooms and the closing of doors along the corridor. There is meant to be required quiet time between 10pm and 8am however, no one resolved a very loud room during my stay. Although, I wouldn’t want to report it anyway as I don’t want anyone to receive a $300 penalty fee as a consequence - what the hostel does. If you’re travelling solo, it is a helpful choice. If you’re in a group, I’d actually look elsewhere into Airbnb’s for example to split. Sorry Whalers, but you could and should do better for the backpacking community.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James G wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Quaint hostel, perhaps having seen its best days, but still very amenable. Service available to book tourist tours in advance with a slight reduction. Private room with a balcony has a very small view of a cove, so not really worth the extra expense.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle H wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here with some friends in a private room and we could not have been happier. Our room was cosy and clean with fresh towels and soft bedding, all much appreciated after a morning of driving right to the beach from Port Alberni and five hours of surfing. Check in was easy and we even got a parking spot right close to the front door. There is a large common area with tables and couches and a lovely view out the main window. Upstairs there is a games/books room where we found a game to play before passing out for the night. Check out was easy in the morning though it was sad to be leaving. 10/10 experience would definitely recommend staying here if your going to Tofino.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tofino Hostel, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Responded 26 Aug 2023
Hello Danielle, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Tofino. Thanks for leaving us a review :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from elish s
New York City, New York23 contributions10 helpful votes
You have to ask the hostel directly.. go to their website and book.
Elliot G wrote a tip 11 May
Sheffield, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep an eye on the office hours. They're only open at specific times."
Read full review
HenningInOL26121 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Oldenburg, Germany102 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is 5 $ extra per day. Make sure to book with your room in the main season. "
Read full review
Helen C wrote a tip Sept 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring tea/coffee!!"
Read full review
Alayna G wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect location! They offer parking, but I didn't need my car once I was there since everything is in walking distance. "
Read full review
Sarina E wrote a tip Sept 2022
10 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is quiet area and all rooms are quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tofino area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$223 - AU$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
whalers on the point guesthouse hotel tofino
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HI-TOFINO - WHALER’S ON THE POINT GUESTHOUSE (AU$223): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Vancouver Island, Canada) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Roy Henry Vickers Gallery (0.4 km), Clayoquot Sound (0.3 km), and House of Himwitsa (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a dining area, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Schooner Restaurant, Common Loaf Bake Shop, and Tough City Sushi.
Are any cleaning services offered at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tofino HotelsTofino Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tofino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars