We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

MacKenzie Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MacKenzie Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Start your review of MacKenzie Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well, this is perhaps the 6th time my family has stayed at Mackenzie Beach, and once again it is purse heaven. Not chi-chi or fancy, it feels like a classic family summer cottage. The whole place is absolutely comfortable and dog-friendly, with two big cozy couches, a beautiful stone fireplace housing a big wood stove and daily deliveries of firewood....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawkwoman64
Pemberton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't express how this place made my weekend. I wanted a romantic spot with a great view and this place was a crazy reasonable price for the value we received. My beautiful girlfriend couldn't stop staring out the window enjoying the beach that was literally on our doorstep. We had a nice fire on the beach under the stars,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear of your great stay at our Resort. Make sure you find the time to return as there is so much Tofino has to offer.

Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly I'd like to say that the service received from reservation through to check out was personal, polite, and genuine. The manager, Dorothy, responded in detail to all questions asked and offered insightful advice to the accommodation that would best serve our families needs and budget. We stayed in Cottage 12. Breathtaking! - gas fireplace was lit upon our arrival,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trindagajek
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We understand how important holidays are for everyone and try our best to make it special and make it a Tofino experience.

Nanoose Bay, Canada
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This resort is definitely my happy place and serenity! The number one thing that keeps me returning here, is how honest the owners are. It may be the oldest property in Tofino, however, the charm and warm hospitality has made me a loyal guests. Here, they do not do any false advertisement about the property and go out of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mad0nna71
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Yes, we are doing off season renovations. One large project we are tackling is our large indoor salt water swimming pool which is being redone. On your next visit we do want your opinion on all our changes and upgrades.

Okanagan Valley, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The best think about camping at Mackenzie beach is that they don't do reservations. If you get there and they are full, they will put you up in over flow until a better spot become available. You can almost grantee a place to sleep here when going to Tofino. The ocean/beach sites are vert very close together and very small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacielouuu
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments on your camping experience at our Resort. Many customers like that we are a first come first serve campground as they can make last minute plans to come to Tofino and find a spot. Our pool and Hot tub do have a slightly green tinge but that is because the water is from a deep well...

Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2016

After spending a lot of time online to source out the perfect property for a special birthday surprise for my wife, I cannot say how disappointed I/we were with the property - from the moment we drove along a very rough road, could not find the address on the property, then to walk into the two bedroom beach cottage I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank islander112
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Yes, I agree our road does need some more maintenance, and the District does their best but the pot holes seem to appear almost overnight after it is graded. We are now in our slower season doing upgrades to the property and the cabins. The stairs have been repaired as one step had a little movement to it and as...

Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Mediocre Cabin. Clean, Bed poor. Exterior full of debris. Pool too cold to comfortably swim. Hot tub okay. Beach is lovely. This is very much too expensive for what is provided. Will not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William W
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

The cabins are rustic, but with maintenance being done on a regular basis they are cozy and inviting. We have replaced our beds in several cabins and do understand that beds are such an important part of your stay. Our pool temperature is kept at 82 - 83 degrees, but during your stay with us it did develop a leak...

Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We had planned a little trip to Tofino with some hopes of storm watching. This place was recommended to us by a neighbour. We arrived at this place in the pitch dark and the pouring rain. Signage could/should be improved. The road off the highway is riddled with horrible potholes (I expect this is simply due to the location, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honesty and comments on our Resort. For your large RV I can understand needing more than one site to accommodate you for sure. And yes the cabins are great especially for the off season when rates are lower. It is great to be in a beachfront cabin to watch those fantastic storms come in with your...

Barry's Bay, Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2016

It was pouring rain ...could not find a lodging for the night. Last chance phoned this resort and they had one cabin available. The hostess was so warm and friendly. Walked into our cabin ...it was lovely...clean and lots of space. We started a fire in the fireplace and had a glass of wine on comfortable furniture. We had all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 912anne59
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

So nice to hear you had a great stay at our Resort. And that the weather co operated to give you a very special day with sunshine and a world class view.

Reviewed 18 September 2016

I recently stayed at the MacKenzie Beach Resort in there pool cabins. I didn't really know what to expect from previous reviews. I was pleasantly surprised with the cabin. It was large, clean living, dining and kitchen area. A deck with picnic table in the front. The cabin was not on the beach, but in a quiet area. The separate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA S
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Pleasantly surprised is what we want to hear, as our guests satisfaction is what we are all about. Fires being allowed right on MacKenzie Beach is such a bonus, especially for those in cabins or camping sites that have no view of the ocean. The pool suites have been recently upgraded and the wifi has been upgraded as well. Hope...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.6 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
992 reviews
1.1 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.5 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beachfront Resort is located on beautiful MacKenzie Beach and has cabins and suites only 2km from town of Tofino. Camping area for tents and RV's. Indoor heated salt water swimming pool and hot tub for guests Open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MacKenzie Beach Resort

Address: 1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Price Range: $123 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MacKenzie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MacKenzie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Beach Hotel Tofino
MacKenzie Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MacKenzie Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from MacKenzie Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabin 1 is lovely; the mattress in the master bedroom is pretty soft, but there are lots of other beds.”
 of 5 bubbles Hawkwoman64, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This is the only resort at McKenzie beach that actually has the cottages ON THE BEACH.”
 of 5 bubbles trindagajek, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The camp sites on the beach to the right along the fence are the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles Stacielouuu, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for a renovated room or cottage, as cabin two was in need of a major renovation.”
 of 5 bubbles islander112, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles 20franw, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5