MacKenzie Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

MacKenzie Beach Resort

1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Take a cold plunge into the Pacific Ocean from our Mackenzie Beach Resort location
Traveller (131)
Cabins 9 - 12 living rooms
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#2 of 2 ranches in Tofino
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Mackenzie Beach Resort! A beachfront collection of beachfront cabins, modern suites, camping, re-imagined vintage Airstreams and RV sites. We might be biased, but it’s the best beach in Tofino. Maybe the world? We hate to boast… but the awe-inspiring sunsets, marshmallow roasting campfires mixed with a family friendly (and adorable dog-friendly) stretch of sand is hard to beat. If that’s not enough, we’ll top it off with a hospitality staff that goes far beyond making your stay unforgettable and will end with a feeling that you’ve made some new best friends. We have a new lobby complete with a General Store with drinks, food, rental fire pits and electric bikes, art, staple grocery and camping goods. The facilities include new camping bathrooms, showers and coin laundry facilities. Our group of onsite amenities is ever growing, so check our website for what's new! At present, we are proud to have General Store, Lil Ronnie’s Beachside BBQ (and live music), Tuff City beachfront sauna, beach yoga, Swell Surf and Paddle rentals and some awesome photography :)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Yoga classes
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Public wifi
Sauna
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shops
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Allergy-free room
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German

Location

1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
73.7 km
See all flights
130Reviews1Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 12
  • 14
  • 21
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
WeekendReviewers wrote a review July 2020
Victoria, Canada132 contributions77 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights in one of the two bedroom oceanfront cabins. When we arrived we were told that there was only one parking spot and any other vehicles are charged $15, unless you drive a truck or a minivan you have to drive two cars for luggage and gear, they waived the second fee after a short discussion. The parking lot could really use a load of gravel to fill the many pot holes in their driveway and prevent the mud bog that appears after a rain.

We walked to the cabin. First I have to say being on the end unit was wonderful, it had a large yard space and is right in front of a great fire pit, and has an incredible view. This made the weekend for my daughter’s birthday. It’s also a quiet and convenient to the ocean and very quick walk up the stairs to the parking lot. We were given a free bundle of firewood each night and extra wood bundles are $10+tax.

Now inside the cabin. It wasn’t clean. The coffee table was sticky, cobwebs in the bedroom, and half of the front stove burner stopped working on the second day, it’s also missing a side panel and should have been repaired or replaced prior to renting. The fridge door is sagging enough to prevent it from sealing properly and also should be repaired. The bathroom floor looked like it hasn’t been scrubbed in awhile either and the counter has patch work. The unit needs a new broom because it’s shredded. I had called to ask about a bbq and was told there was an outdoor grill, it is completely unusable due to the grill being totally rusted and it’s not cleaned at all and required you to bring briquettes or hardwood... and a grate to cook on. I tried to add a photo of the brick grill but I couldn’t upload it.

We had been asked to leave an hour early on Sunday to allow for Covid-19 cleaning, I hope they did a better job than what they did when we arrived. Positive note: The beds, pillows, and couches are comfortable.

The cleaning isn’t the only issue here, the cabin needs a lot of maintenance, and when they are asking $600 per night, maybe it’s just me but my expectations are a little higher. It’s not getting a terrible rating because we had a nice time outside and the furniture was comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mackenzie Beach Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at MacKenzie Beach Resort
Responded 11 July 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we appreciate it. We are sorry you have encountered issues, that made your stay less enjoyable. Every cabin can have a vehicle per bedroom, so we apologize for the misunderstanding. We are aware that the potholes are an issue especially after it rains, therefore we have frequent scheduled maintenance of the parking lot. We are sorry about the BBQ in front of our beach front cabins, we replaced it with individual BBQs for the each of the beach front cabins. We have very high standards for cleanliness, please accept our apologies if you were disapointed. Here just a few points to clarify: * Check in time: 5PM * Check out time: 10AM - no guests are asked to leave early for cleaning, the check out time is 10AM * Our firewood is $9.50 + tax, that comes to $9.98 a bundle after tax. We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the beach and Tofino! Kind regards, Mackenzie Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Virginia N wrote a review Aug 2022
Brisbane, Australia333 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First off we are from Australia and were recommended to this resort by our CanAussie son for convenience. They were staying in the campground right next door.

We chose the Airstream as they looked really cool and well appointed on the website. Our first night was horrible. It was dirty and dusty and broken. Nothing worked well at all, the ‘king size’ bed was THE most uncomfortable bed I’ve ever slept in.

Next morning I went to the front desk and asked for the manager, he was very understanding and helpful. We were able to be moved the 2nd night to a one bed cabin which was fabulous. It had everything we needed and a comfortable bed.

Our last night we moved to one of the new luxury cabins, which were very well appointed if not a little small. We had good weather so I was grateful for that and we were able to use the outdoor space. It was a little inconvenient to move twice but was worth it and the staff made it as easy as they could for us by having housekeeping ready them as early as possible.

It’s also worth noting that the Airstreams and luxury cabins are situated in a carpark away from the beach so not ideal locations and very dusty.

The live musical was fun and finished early enough so that no one was disturbed by it. The BBQ meat was melt in your mouth deliciousness.

The cafe was lovely and cozy, the coffee excellent and staff super friendly and happy.

All in all what started out as a very disappointing arrival after a long drive from Vancouver and an uncomfortable 1st night ended up being a very comfortable stay with a lovely friendly and helpful team in charge.

IMO the owners need to spend some dollars and either refurb the airstreams or lower the price accordingly. It is not cheap accomodation by any means. Had it been cheaper we would have been ok with it.

That being said its a beautiful beach and we loved Tofino 💕
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid staying in the Airstreams. They need lots of help. Note the road in is gravel and the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MKB2883 wrote a review Aug 2020
Smiths Falls, Canada75 contributions79 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After having another hotel reservation canceled due to incomplete renovations, my friend found a room here at the last minute.
At over $300/night for a small room, we were extremely disappointed. Yes, we were steps from the beach in Tofino; however, the room was not as promised (we were expecting a cabin with a kitchenette) and you are most definitely paying for your proximity to the beach as opposed to the quality of the rooms.
There is a “General Store” which suggests that generic items are available; however, we had to go next door to the Bella Resort just to get ice. Besides cocktails, I’m not sure what is available at the “general store”.
If you wish to eat at the local BBQ “Lil’ Ronnie’s Beachside BBQ”, be prepared to overpay and be disappointed. We just wanted a hot dog and they are $9.50/hot dog and you are presented with a hot dog sprinkled with Doritos (see pic).
This restaurant is currently charging a $2 COVID-related fee in addition to a compulsory 18% gratuity on each bill.
As customers we expect that there will be an upcharge for food and booze; however, $9.50 for a “kids” hot dog is an embarrassing example of purposely gouging customers. I would not recommend this “resort” to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon O wrote a review June 2022
Canmore, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First off, location, location, location! Picture this - a cabin room backing on to a picturesque view of the Pacific Ocean, the aroma of a cedar hot tub caressing your sinus. Songbirds gently informing you of a new day.
The resort itself is only steps away from a sandy beach, complete with tide pools for exploring, sand for castles and horizon to wish upon.
My partner and I rented wetsuits and took our dogs paddle boarding, while raining. We still had the most amazing time and the rentals are accessible right off the beach!! My gf and I both thought the rental prices were reasonable and she’s from Halifax. Girl knows a deal when she sees one.
A general store on property offers some super slick e bikes for rent you can roll on for a half day or day, which will have more than enough charge to get you to the bar and back!
Ronnie’s bbq has a uniquely simple yet lovely patio space…with a stage! On our first night we were fortunate enough to have a Elton John cover band…which I of course just thoroughly enjoyed. Food was delicious and nothing beats a little bad ass bbq to warm you up after a big day of activities!
Cody, manager and supreme leader of the resort made sure everything was up to expectations and then some.
Beds were comfy, dogs were happy and the hot tub was slick AF.
Just sayin’
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiredmom wrote a review July 2021
28 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First off I knew what we were getting into when we booked this resort. We visited 15 years ago and it was old then. We decided we would camp in their beachfront locations as a last minute decision and actually got a spot. We knew they would have no privacy and we were fine with that. The beach was amazing and on sight surf rentals as well as the very cool opportunity to rent a sauna on the beach for a couple hours. Now for the not so good. It’s very dusty, bathrooms and showers are a good walk away, no wheel barrows or anything to help haul your gear to the beach. The bathrooms are horrible!!! Very dirty, all the toilet paper dispensers are broken so everyone is dropping the tp on the floor and touching it. No soap in the dispensers, showers you pay for and are freezing cold and no water pressure and there was transient people sleeping in the shower area over night. The property has a great restaurant and live music every night which is fun but brings a crowd of heavy drinkers and they use the same facilities that the campers do so not the best environment for the kids. People who drank to much were passed out in the bushes. If it wasn’t for the beach and location close to Tofino I don’t think anyone would stay here but fortunately for them people will pay $100 to camp a night or $300+ for a room. We won’t be returning anytime soon but we still made the best of it and didn’t let us get us down.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julkat99 wrote a review Sept 2021
Picton, Canada27 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived to the parking lot, knowing it was a parking lot, but boy, that is all it is. So much dust everywhere. Within minutes you could taste and feel it. Their rental airstreams are covered in dust. So gross. They can't help that the road is dusty but it is obvious that no one cares that the resort is also dusty. They could pave or maintain the grounds, add trees, fencing, something, anything! The trees are white with dust and look like they have never been sprayed down, Maybe they have but it doesn't look like it.

Check in was good and the young lady was lovely, I needed to do laundry and the washer was disgusting, 2 washers and 2 dryers and one of each was out of service. Judging by the sign on the dryer, it had been out of service for a long time, I was going to sit and do a crossword while I waited but the room was dirty so took a pass. We paid for 3 nights and were out of there in 3 hours, asked about a refund and was told to email management, there was no management onsite. It shows. We felt depressed sitting in that parking lot, so we drove down the road to Bella Pacifica and got 3 nights for less money and it was really lovely, Would never, ever go back to Mackenzie Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrina492 wrote a review Sept 2020
Vancouver, Canada7 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don’t waste your money

The rv site at MacKenzie Beach Resort is crowded and rigs much bigger than 30 feet are allowed in. You are lucky if you have 2-3 feet between your trailer and your neighbours. There is no place to turn around at the end of the so called rv site , near the airstreams. Price gouging for your rv , your reservation fee and for pets. The road is not closed at night behind you and there is a steady stream of traffic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
biancavd wrote a review Sept 2021
Leiden, The Netherlands25 contributions49 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had seen the reviews so we knew what we could walk into. We arrived on a rainy evening. Bumpy road with holes in it ( in the bright side by daylight it seemed they are paving the road). Frontdesk had left and there was a note for us with parking card and directions to our room. Lots of noise from the place opposite of our room.. we booked an ocean view room, room was moist with paper thin walls. Could easily overhear neighbors’ conversations.. the amount we paid compared to what we got is not near value for money. Would avoid the place snd pay a bit more should we ever be around again. That said, it was NOT cheap at all. We picked the place for its only pro: location!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rupert F wrote a review Sept 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It you like to wallow in a steady cloud of dust, by the very busy, very dusty McKenzie Beach Road, then this is for you.
The staff are friendly, and facilities good. The beach is fabulous, but the atmosphere is just road dust.
The beachside camping is in a less dusty location, but not as private as a Walmart parking lot. The Airstreams and RV sites are the dustiest. The staff race around in golf carts, just to make sure the dust doesn't settle.
If you come, make sure it's pouring rain.
Did I mention the dust?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin W wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We opted to stay in the campsites that are steps away from the sand and the sound of the waves in the harbour was very desirable for us with our two dogs.

The views and walks were amazing and the staff were friendly and helpful all around. Spent a good amount of time in lil Ronnies BBQ which was a great experience. Such great smell and meals. Nice place to relax with a beverage and board games too.

We were able to bike around and forage for mushrooms in the lush forests and even took a dip in the tepid waters.

I can't wait to visit again in the summertime.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mackenzie Beach Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at MacKenzie Beach Resort
Responded 11 July 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we highly appreciate it! We are glad you had such a good time and hope to see you soon again! Kind regards, Mackenzie Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Marilyn B
Cowichan Bay, Canada51 contributions14 helpful votes
There is an expresso coffee machine in the kitchen. Coffee pods were provided.
tiaragirl wrote a tip 8 May
Calgary, Canada123 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wind coming right off the ocean can be cool but worth it for the view."
Read full review
sonja c wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are many rooms/cabins/airstreams available to suite all kinds of needs and expectations! Look into all of them!"
Read full review
Carol B wrote a tip Oct 2023
Courtenay, Canada78 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own pillow"
Read full review
Penny W wrote a tip July 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you plan for highway 4 road construction. "
Read full review
Virginia N wrote a tip Aug 2022
Brisbane, Australia333 contributions71 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid staying in the Airstreams. They need lots of help. Note the road in is gravel and the resort quite dusty."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tofino area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$212 - AU$299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mackenzie beach hotel tofino
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MACKENZIE BEACH RESORT (AU$212): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Tofino, Vancouver Island, Canada) - Photos of Ranch - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about MacKenzie Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Tofino Botanical Gardens (0.8 km), Henry's Carving Shed (0.9 km), and Raincoast Education Society (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chocolate Tofino, wildside grill, and Tacofino Cantina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at MacKenzie Beach Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MacKenzie Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Chinese.
Does MacKenzie Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Tofino HotelsTofino Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tofino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars