Bedwell Place Guest House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bedwell Place Guest House

615 Campbell St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Double bed
Traveller (37)
Queen Suite
Room & Suite (13)
Beautiful Long Beach
Pool & Beach (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#5 of 10 guest houses in Tofino
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Very clean comfortable rooms all with separate entrances and private bathrooms ideally located just a few minutes walk to down town Tofino and Tonquin beach and only a few minutes bike ride or drive to many other beautiful beaches. . Some rooms have water views of Clayoquot Sound and Meares Island. Deluxe Suite has FULL kitchen with open plan living room, fireplace, spacious balcony, sleeps 4 comfortably. The Bedwell Suite has queen bedroom, ensuite bathroom, with living room, dining table and kitchenette with propane fireplace and front porch, sleeps 4, smaller adjoining room with double bed and private bath. The Queen suite is one bedroom with comfortable queen bed, ensuite bathrooom, kitchenette and garden doors which open onto the patio and view of Clayoquot Sounds. There is a Hot Tub and BBQ on site for guests enjoyment year round. Tours and trips to see bears, whales and hotspings can be arranged. Can assist in booking Electric Bike rentals, bicycle rentals etc. Clean, modern and comfortable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Romantic

Location

615 Campbell St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
72.8 km
See all flights
185Reviews2Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 133
  • 38
  • 9
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ashley E wrote a review Sept 2020
Squamish, British Columbia, Canada3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here for a couple days now with one more to go. Its in the most perfect location, 5 minute bike ride to the McKenzie beach and under 100 steps away from a coffee shop with all the good restaurants and shops right down the way.
We had everything we needed in the one bedroom salmon suite, mini fridge, coffee machine, eat wear, microwave and tv!
Not to mention super cozy pillows/and a cute little deck.
Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J G wrote a review Sept 2013
10 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I admit I'm not sure if this is a motel, or a B&B. Breakfast is delivered on a tray to your room, and you make your own coffee, with no fresh milk option for those who don't like little packs of cream. It's a perfect breakfast for some - granola, fruit, yogurt and a muffin - but might not be what others expect. And the room was somewhat small to be eating breakfast inside if the weather doesn't cooperate. Bed was comfortable, and everything looked nice and clean.

Just be warned. You are hard on the road, and it gets surprisingly busy after 8am, and the road and power/phone lines do butt in on that otherwise glorious view of water and mountains.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
harryandtrudy wrote a review Dec 2012
6 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our hosts very much made us feel at home. We also appreciated the privacy and cleanliness of our room and the vista we woke up to in the morning. Breakfast was also delicious! Happy to recomend this b&b to anyone visiting Tofino. Great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tepoht1 wrote a review Aug 2013
Lincoln, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Looking for a last minute one night booking in Tofino we were delighted to secure a room at Bedwell Place. A very chatty welcome from Linzi who showed us our room, which was very small and more or less overlooked the street which meant any change of clothes had to done in the bathroom or with the blinds down. Returning late after an outdoor adventure we discovered after a shower (my husband had to tighten and fix the shower head) and a dirty towel hanging behind the bathroom door, that we had no drinking mugs so went to bed with no hot drink. Next morning we collected mugs to find we had no spoons!...and only earl grey or green tea and four small pots of milk in the fridge. Breakfast arrived later than promised. All in all not value for money at $180 per night we expected some attention to detail and a courteous offer of a discount and not the curt "Oh, men! (Referring to her husband who she advised was responsible for all the points we brought up) here's $10 for a cup of tea"
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Entered pool critique in error. No delete facility. Sorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BedwellPlace, Manager at Bedwell Place Guest House
Responded 28 Aug 2013
In our defence this is a little harsh. I am sorry that you were not happy with a number of things during your stay with us at Bedwell Place. As you mentioned you were delighted to find something available in the high season and we did our utmost to accommodate your needs. One was that you were checking out at your present location and wanted to move into ours almost right away. Check out here is 11.00 a.m. and check in is 3.00 pm. on this day we rushed so that we could allow you to come in as early as possible and your time frame was around 11.00 a.m. This is the reason (but of course no excuse ) a few things were overlooked. The person who cleans the rooms missed the one towel behind the door when she was cleaning the bathroom and also forgot to replace the mugs. The spoons were in the cutlery drawer. The shower head I do apologise we had not had any complaint or mention of this and therefore were not aware there was an issue. I had originally reduced the price of the room by $10 from $190 - $180 when we first talked on the telephone and then again another $10 (a signigicant reduction in total of $20) when you told me about the towel and tea cup. If you were dissatisfied with this offer you made no mention at the time that this was unsatisfactory to you. Regarding the room , you were well aware that it was a room and not a suite...and where we were situated, which by the way most people are very happy with and appreciate being able to park and walk to everything down town Tofino......yes we are not on a beach but you did know this and I can understand after having stayed in a very quiet location on the water this would be different ....but you did have a place which was afterall very difficult to find in Tofino at that time. Regarding the comment about men....I am sorry you misunderstood...and this was taken out of context but when you arrived that morning to leave I was not in the room where you were talking with my husabnd I was talking to my daughter outside and my daughter was reading a feminist book by Germain Greer....I responded with Oh men..to her...who was just leaving at the back of the house. It certainly was no inference about my husband. I do apoligise for the oversights regarding towel and cups... I do hope you enjoy your future travels and I did enjoy meeting you especially the fact that you were from the old country as am I....it was very nice. I hope my chattiness was not burdonsome...I am outgoing and helpful it is my nature along with that sometimes comes my over exuberance....
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rita A wrote a review Sept 2012
St. Albert, Canada69 contributions61 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to start out by saying that Suzanne and John are the nicest people. Very friendly and approachable.

On first impressions excellent Guest House. Everything seems very clean. Oops, not so much. I left some food out and within hours the place was crawling with ants, not one or two - I can deal with that. My food, the floor and the counter, covered with them. Needless to say my sleep was a little hindered with the thought of ants everywhere.

I mentioned the ant problem to Suzanne and her response was she knew about it but hadn't seen evidence. Well now you have evidence, we killed a lot of them and left them for evidence.

If this place can get rid of the ants I would recommend it. Nice location if you want to be close to town and breakfast was very good, if the ants don't get to it first.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask if the ant problem has been fixed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BedwellPlace, Manager at Bedwell Place Guest House
Responded 9 Oct 2012
When you are in the rainforest, you can expect ants. We do try very hard to effectively manage them but when you leave food out on the table, as was the case here, then that is an open invitation to them. Just as leaving food outside is an inviation to bears. A little common sense helps us to keep their visitations to a minimum.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gabi17 wrote a review Aug 2009
Israel5 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beverly and Henry made our stay in Tofino a memorable one. Beverly was so nice, helpful and worm with her great suggestions which started on the mail as we booked the Bedwell place. When we got there they gave us the information of all the hidden gems in Tofino: were to eat and what to see. They helped us even organize things outside Tofino. The place is very clean, the room is not big but it has everything that is needed. If possible best choose the suit. The location is the best in the city of Tofino, walking distance to the restaurant and city attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul H wrote a review Nov 2015
Winnipeg, Canada69 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to take the trip to Tofino as my wife had never been. We called the Bedwell and dealt with TJ. He met us on arrival and was like an old friend. He recommended restaurants and local attractions and his recommendations were perfect. We stayed in the "Classic room" and found it to be very comfortable with attached ensuite and a small kitchenette. Parking was at the door. Good accommodations and very reasonably priced. I recommend you call direct.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caro H wrote a review Oct 2015
Berlin, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Bedwell Place Guest House for two nights in October. Our room was very comfortable and clean. It was a "easy peasy" walk into the city. The owner's brother welcomed us and was very funny and friendly. We had a great time in Tofino. Thank you very much. We can recommend these place to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rvdederde wrote a review July 2015
Rotterdam, The Netherlands46 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in Tofino. Warm welcome and the room we stayed in had everything you would look for. Short walking distance from good restaurants, parking for your car and a nice place to sit outside and enjoy a glass of something.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Truway wrote a review June 2015
Sarnia, Canada68 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is within walking distance of downtown which was nice after a long drive and we needed some exercise. The owner was very nice and spent some time going over a map of Tofino, pointing out places of interest and good restaurants. We had a downstairs unit and found it rather noisy especially when the people upstairs got up at 5:00 a.m. Otherwise, it was clean and well kept. I would recommend asking for an upstairs unit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs unit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rafaeltc wrote a tip June 2015
Seattle, Washington72 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"General tip: If you like to sleep with open windows, bring earplugs. Its central location also attracts lots of drunk people at night :)"
Read full review
Truway wrote a tip June 2015
Sarnia, Canada68 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for an upstairs unit."
Read full review
JOHN H wrote a tip Oct 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Possibly the rear of property has the best views, but any room is good here."
Read full review
Scott B wrote a tip Aug 2014
Boulder, Utah29 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose upstairs room and ask if you can use the hot tub."
Read full review
A K wrote a tip July 2014
Seattle, Washington6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great, accessible BBQ. Nothing like fresh smoked fresh Sockeye, or slow cooked marinated chicken on the grill. :)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tofino area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEDWELL PLACE GUEST HOUSE: Reviews (Tofino, Vancouver Island, Canada) - Photos of Guesthouse - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bedwell Place Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Bedwell Place Guest House?
Nearby attractions include The Whale Centre (0.5 km), Tonquin Park (1.2 km), and Roy Henry Vickers Gallery (0.7 km).
Which room amenities are available at Bedwell Place Guest House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Bedwell Place Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bedwell Place Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shed, Shelter Restaurant, and The Schooner Restaurant.
Is Bedwell Place Guest House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tofino HotelsTofino Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tofino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars