We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hastings House Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hastings House Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hastings House Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Marsh Lake
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Charming personal Service, sound sleep, delightful breakfasts, warm and comforting ambiance, authentic English architecture, fireplaces to warm the hearts of the coldest souls. A top 3 destination for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shad0w750
vancouver, BC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We love Salt Spring Island and it has always been a dream to stay at Hastings House. Now we have and it was fabulous. So much money- but for a splurge it is totally worth it. Hot baked muffins in the morning and an excellent breakfast in the dinning room each day. Non intrusive service when ever needed. AMAZING grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smartgreg
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a spectacular 2 night weekend stay. The scenery was wonderful with lovely gardens, beautiful view of Ganges Harbor and well maintained grounds. The afternoon tea was terrific with the best scones and other tasty treats. Our room was a large suite on the upper level of the property with a great view but still ground level. Huge bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BXB205
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the post cottage. The cottage is very nice and cosy. We were the only ones at the resort and the dining room was closed. The internet was down. I reported it and it was suggested that it might have something to do with my phone! No turn down service and cold muffins delivered in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nain2
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It was very nice to have you and your husband stay with us for your birthday. Our rooms & suites are steeply discounted during our Winter Season in lieu of the fact that our dining room is closed for dinner, but we do recommend and reserve, close by restaurants for our...

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our Manor West room provided a beautiful view of the Ganges Harbor and its seaplane and boating activity, as did the seating in the dining room. We had delicious Herb Encrusted Pacific Halibut, Parmesan Polenta, Soya Emulsion as well as Filet of Alberta Beef, Gruyere Potatoes, Portwine Reduction (oh, the Gruyere potatoes!), and followed that with Orange Almond Ricotta Cheese...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 2 nights with friends. The rooms are a good size with comfy furnishings. The gardens and setting are right on the water and truly beautiful. A cosy pub is a 2 minute walk (Moby's) and the small town is less than a 5 min drive (you can walk - but part is on the verge of the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilona K
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regard every comment as important and look forward improving each and every time we can. Recently we introduced handmade honey candies to commemorate the introduction of our new bee hives that will soon begin supplying honey to our restaurant and have already made an incredible difference in the production of our gardens. We are...

Road Town, British Virgin Islands
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful grounds, attentive and helpful staff, large rooms, felt very exclusive and quaint. The fireplace in our room was amazing and the wood was so nice and dry it was easy to keep it going. My husband definitely enjoyed that part! Fantastic english breakfast included in our stay. The price was a bit rough, if it was a little more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JBFKBJFK
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind review. We think one of the great English Country Estate experiences is sitting in front of a roaring fire in a hand laid stone fireplace curled up with a good book and a hot tea. Especially on a cool evening listening to the wind blow the fall leaves about the property. You should come back...

Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful, tranquil setting with gardens to make an Englishman proud. Excellent service from everyone--vigilant but unobtrusive. Restaurant is one of the finest in the northern hemisphere. Can't imagine a nicer place to unwind and re-generate. We followed this with one night at the Empress in Victoria (terrible), and found the Empress more expensive than Hastings House.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackye F
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We very much enjoyed giving you an excellent experience her at Hastings House Country house Hotel. Our crab catch package is a really fun way to sample island life and we are glad you enjoyed it. We wish you would have taken part in the crab preparation demo but we understand you had other...

Shoreline, Washington
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is an unbelievably pretty, quaint and service oriented place. The gardens, waterview and buildings were beautiful. The accomodations are very expensive, roomy and clean. But for the price they charge they should be updated. We had dinner there and it was excellent. We will go again, but we will stay just one night and have dinner there or stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George98177
Oceanside, California
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is one of the most tranquil and beautiful properties my husband and I have stayed at. There is so much beauty in the gardenes and the view of the harbor. We took so many pictures. We did the crab package, where you go out on a boat and catch crabs and the chef prepares them for you that night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.2 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
416 reviews
1.6 km away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
104 reviews
3.0 km away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
0.6 km away
Salt Spring Inn
Salt Spring Inn
#5 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
127 reviews
0.6 km away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#6 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hastings House Country House Hotel is a small waterfront luxury country resort, spa and restaurant sitting on 22 acres on the waterfront of Ganges Harbour, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. Enjoy luxury lodging, fine dining, wellness and relaxation in a casually-elegant atmosphere. Explore British Columbia’s natural beauty, Salt Spring’s mild climate and the warmth and creativity of its people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hastings House Country House Hotel

Address: 160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Price Range: $337 - $916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hastings House Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Hastings House Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Hotel Saltspring Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hastings House Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hastings House Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the cottage suites - private and cozy”
jasonakeenan, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Consider accessibility for elderly guests. Some rooms need walking up stairs.”
mnng1222, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we loved the East Farmhouse”
AHROARAH, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you can't climb steps or hills let them know- some of the rooms were ground level with the entry.”
B2447LSlisam, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our preference is for the lower rooms rather than the rooms higher than the Manor House. The rooms in the Manor House are very quaint.”
pcb2015, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5