We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Gate Resort

Expedia.comUSD 134*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 162*
USD 134*
USD 162*
USD 134*
USD 162*
USD 134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Gate Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Gate Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Abbot Village
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in many places usually nothing but positive experiences ! This hotel is absolutely horrible ! I thought this would be great for my anniversary weekend turns out it's horrible I requested one king size bed online ended up with queens two of them in my room. Then tried to use the hot tub at 7 pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay S
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that you were disappointed in your recent visit. You had booked your reservation through a third party online site which explicitly stated that bedding types were by request only. Unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate that request due to high occupancy. Guests that book directly with the Resort or on our website are...

Locust Hill, Virginia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

After 7 days in Bar Harbor, we stayed 2 nights here, and wished it could have been longer. Extremely pleasant staff, good breakfast, nice grounds. Maybe reaching to call it a resort, but we were very satisfied. The owners obviously care, and want you to have a good stay. The views over the water are great... birds, ducks, working boats,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrNoah
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

It's really wonderful that you took time to let us (and everyone else!) know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It especially nice to hear that all of our staff were pleasant and accommodating during your visit. We also wish that you could have stayed with us longer and hope that we will be at the top of...

New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Just spent half a week at Ocean Gate and enjoyed it completely. Our only regret is we didn't take the time to enjoy some kayaking or canoeing. Next time we'll plan more days to spend at this terrific spot. Staff is excellent and very well trained (congratulations!) and the rooms are very comfy, if not luxurious. The view from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James N
Rome, New York
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This hotel is on a peninsula. Beautiful wooded grounds to stroll around on, but many of the rooms directly over looking (just feet from) the bay. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. Nice private balconies where you can sit, relax, and enjoy the bird life and bay views. Only a couple miles from restaurants and quaint shops to explore in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cat53052
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Even though Originally had single bed room upstairs, keeper switched us to a double on the lower floor. Very comfy room and grounds. Fog prevented us from seeing lots or trying our canoe skills. Included breakfast was quite a spread and very tasty. Set us up for the day. Ate lobster at Robinson's Wharf restaurant. Very good. Good atmosphere. Explored...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MinJenTX
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself here at Ocean gate and that your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed our full, hot breakfast buffet. Sorry that the San Francisco :) fog rolled in and prevented you from enjoying the spectacular view but even a foggy day is beautiful here on the Maine coast! Hope to see you...

Dover, Delaware
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The hotel is well run and the rooms are clean but not fancy. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is tasteless, so seek out one of the quaint places to eat in Boothbay. The setting is beautiful and views are priceless. Enjoyed the kayaking and pool is heated and clean. HOT Tub Bonus too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyGirl2014
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your thoughts. Most guests really enjoy our complimentary full, hot breakfast buffet and the wide variety of selections available. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the great views, our kayaks and the hot tub. Look forward to seeing you again! Frank

Marshfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Had a nice stay at Ocean Gate. The room may need some updating and the breakfast is adequate but what a view. We were able to bird watch right from the room! My husband made use of the kayak and pool and enjoyed both. Close to Boothbay Harbor and the Botanical Gardens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wbatraveler
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a king room with sea view and what we got was definitely what we had expected. We unfortunately arrived a bit late and the sun was already gone but the view onto the bay from the room was amazing. The rooms and the amenities could be more modern. They are very very dated. The breakfast was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huberand
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Booked a two night stay here for my moms birthday. We checked in and the grounds were beautiful. We booked a suite and upon walking up to our room noticed the windows were all open. When we entered our room the smell of mold and cigarettes was so strong we were unable to stay. We were offered little apology but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank batten2012
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent visit. I'm very happy that you noticed the attention to detail that we give our grounds when you arrived. Unfortunately, the prior guest had violated our strict non-smoking policy in your assigned room. While I appreciate your comments and am certainly sorry for your disappointment, I do have to...

Rushsylvania, Ohio
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This was a wonderful place to stay. The building we stayed in had an awesome view out into the bay, and we spent every night there sitting out on the balcony relaxing and watching the sun set. The room was extremely nice. Would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank green36eyes
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the spectacular view from your balcony. Look forward to having you back! Frank

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.8 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
345 reviews
2.8 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
425 reviews
3.3 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
458 reviews
6.7 km away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
205 reviews
3.2 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Gate Resort is a 45-acre oceanfront resort surrounded on 3 sides by tidal inlet and less than 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor. The nine buildings are nestled among the majestic pines and perched on the rocky coast line of Maine. All rooms include a full breakfast, refrigerator, coffee maker, A/C, cable TV. On-site free amenities include a heated pool, canoes, kayaks, fitness room, mini-golf course, tennis and basketball court, playground, and stocked fishing pond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Resort

Address: 70 Ocean Gate Rd, Southport Island, Southport, ME 04576-3053
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport
Price Range: $159 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Gate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Southport
Ocean Gate Boothbay Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Gate Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 201 has a fire place wood burning,”
LanceB570, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in building 1, and very satisfied. The building just below the building where breakfast is served, was also desirable..”
DrNoah, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cedar Building rooms are less busy”
jamesn241, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Many rooms directly bay front, but no beach per say.”
cat53052, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“End unit we stayed in was where water heater was located choose an inside room.”
ShirleyGirl2014, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 134* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 134
Orbitz.comUSD 134
Booking.comUSD 162
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates