We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandman Hotel Edmonton West

Sandman HotelsUSD 93*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Edmonton West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Sandman Hotel Edmonton West
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked on this website for a hotel, it is a Canadian hotel and I am Canadian and so I assumed that it was Canadian dollars. There was no warning that they would charge me 100 extra dollars for an exchange rate! I have never had this stupid of a problem booking! I will never book through this travel sight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's an alright location, if you want to go to the mall. It's really far out of the main part of the city. The safe was broken, we were locked out by the previous occupiers. Were treated like we were stupid for having a problem with it from the staff who were working that day. The key stopped working the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ameliagrace94
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during your stay. I did try and message you directly to get more information but unfortunately I did not receive a reply. My team and I strive to ensure all of our guest's have a wonderful experience...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel as I was attending a work function the next day at this location. Upgraded to the new Tower rooms. Room was beautiful and bed was like floating on a cloud. Clean and quiet room. That's where it ends. The function of the room didn't work. Toilet too close to the toilet paper holder which causes you to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheri P
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Hi Sheri, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay in the new Executive Tower. I have reviewed your comments regarding the functionality of the room and I would like to address them directly. In regards to the toilet paper holder, this is the first...

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in to find no elevators and it was almost a maze to get through to the room we were assigned, the front desk lady didn't appear to be happy to help us including answering the phone while I was in front of her checking in. When we get to the room it was like a sauna, I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LouiseMay8
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Extremly disappionted!! I called down to get the burnt out light in my room changed and that never happened although I was told it would be changed right away. Also, housekeeping left a long letter on my bed signed my management saying due to items around we could not clean and do the beds signed my management. That is ridiculous!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linz87btc
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear of the problem you encountered during your stay. The Sandman Edmonton West does have a policy not to make the bed during your stay if there are valuable or heavy items placed on it. We do this to safeguard your items as...

Berwyn
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We stayed for medical purposes and extended our stay. Staff Josh and Julie are outstanding, helpful and courteous. Room in the tower was clean and luxurious. There is no bath tub in the king kitchen suite but a spa type walk in shower makes up for it!! We stay in Edmonton regularly and won't stay anywhere else now. Kudos!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda E
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Brenda, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! I appreciate your very kind words regarding my team and I will be sure to pass them on. It was great to hear you enjoyed your room in the new executive tower that feature our newest bedrooms. We do have rooms available with a tub in...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The room was amazing. Staff was great. Room even included a washer/dryer. There was an outfitted kitchen with a breakfast bar as well. Room was extremely clean and well maintained. Highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdpcdn
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I was delighted to read you enjoyed the brand new Executive Tower. The spacious one bedroom suites are a perfect option for a family or long term guest as they have a full kitchen, living room, separate bedroom and have a washer and dryer. Thank you once...

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We were bothered by continuous construction noises as well as dust and debris flying about in the wind. Lots of cigarette butts and garbage cluttered the entrance. We were awaken at 6 a.m. by a heavy duty garbage truck right outside our lower floor room. The room was poorly cleaned, with dirty windows and floor corners. We were not given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blackwolfpub
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving review and I am sorry to read you did not fully enjoy your stay at the Sandman Edmonton West. The hotel is currently going through a renovation program to completely update the hotel to serve our customers better. We are trying to keep disruptions to a minimum and I do apologise if this impacted...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I had to walk so much with my 3 luggages to just to get to the tower part of the hotel! After walking up 3 stories and a long hallway, finally got to the elevator in the tower. My room was on the 5th floor, 1 Bedroom Suite - everything in the room was good, has a balcony, kitchen with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gklgkl
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your most recent stay at the Sandman Edmonton West hotel. I appreciate all feedback I receive and I promise to use your comments to make improvements for access to the tower. My team and I do recommend that guests staying in the new tower check in at...

Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed march 15 to 18 hotel under renos air was so bad sneezing and could not breath waking up constantly all night beds were the smallest hardest and most uncomfortable doubles i have ever seen my wife woke up with sore hips every day my two teenage sons complained beds were so uncomfortable they couldnt sleep mold and filth in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D M
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear of your experience at the Sandman Edmonton West. I take all feedback seriously and I promise to look into your concerns personally and make any necessary adjustments. I am also pleased to announce the Sandman Edmonton West has started renovations on the...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
190 reviews
Ramada Edmonton West
#57 of 93 in Edmonton
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#42 of 93 in Edmonton
203 reviews
Place LaRue
Best Western Plus Westwood Inn
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#14 of 93 in Edmonton
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A comfortably furnished hotel with easy access to all major highways, Sandman Hotel Edmonton West is perfectly situated near all major attractions such as West Edmonton Mall and the West Edmonton business district, making it the ideal place for your next stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Edmonton West

Address: 17635 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Price Range: $107 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Edmonton
Sandman Hotel Edmonton West Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Edmonton West staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Edmonton West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tower king kitchen suites are awesome!”
BrenE66, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel during construction period if you are not given a discounted deal. Request the rear main entrance be cleaned up.”
Blackwolfpub, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to stay away from the rooms on the 178th St side (east side of hotel) because of traffic.”
859valm, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid the "atrium" rooms - the pool is LOUD and echo-y and stuffy! No air!”
CfromV, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wait until rents are done.”
Kimeiteneier, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Sandman Hotels
USD 93* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 93
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates