We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Hotel is in Hotel Village across from McMahon Stadium so lots of choices of places to stay. Parking is tight, rooms are a bit compact. Breakfast is included but no hot meal and minimal choices...coffee is awful. Pool is nice but the exercise room is quite tiny and limited equipment. It's an ok place for a night but I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RempelW
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we're sorry to hear we were unable to exceed your expectations. Your feedback helps us improve and we hope to have the chance to show you a better stay the next time you're in town.

Winnipeg
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Let's start with the fact that the a bar of soap from the previous guest, with hair, was still in the soap dish when I arrived. Let's then add that at midnight, a clock radio started blaring from an unoccupied adjoining room for precisely one hour (probably was unplugged by a guest, thoughtlessly plugged back in by cleaning staff without...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anacreon100
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to hear you're unhappy. Your comments have us concerned as we have no records showing that there were any issues with your room; cleanliness or noise. We do note that we called your room around 6pm to see if everything was satisfactory and our agent left you a voicemail and didn't hear...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Located short walk from great shopping and eating. Vicinity has good vibes. Staff were courteous and were able to give detailed directions for destinations within the City. Room interior was 33 degrees C (91 degrees F) when I arrived (mid-September!) and it took two hours to reach a bearable temperature. Fit & finish old and tired but I guess in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thengling
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We can assure you that our elevator is inspected every month and our inspection certificate is on the premises. Thank you again and we hope your next stay in Calgary is a pleasant one!

Truro
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here just before flying from Calgary and it was great having free parking. Good value for money for a motel room and the rooms were clean and tidy which was perfect for a short stay. There were local places to eat nearby as well so we popped into Boston Pizza which is a short 5 minute walk away....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosie H
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're glad to hear you had a good stay with us. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next tiem you're in town!

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel was everything we had read about and more. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful. The location was good, not right in the city, but not far from anything we wanted to see and do. They also provided a decent continental breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda S
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing and we're always glad to hear we have exceeded guests expectations! We can't wait to show you another great stay the next time you come to Calgary!

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Cold rainy Canadian night - and the heating did not work at all. Thin comforter blanket did not help much. Next morning they checked the heater - yup it's broken. I am staying for the week, so I need a room with a heater. But they could not understand when I asked for help moving my room. The manager was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank userrick
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed. We are proud to offer staff service 24 hours to assist guests with any issues they encounter in their room; however as a limited service economy branded property we do not have porter services available. Had the front desk been informed about...

Marana, Arizona
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This property actually turned out to be very good in many respects. We stayed on the top floor in a corner room so it was very quiet. The pool and spa are quite nice. Breakfast is fairly good with the usual suspects--pastries, bread, hard boiled eggs, apples, juice and coffee. We left our car and walked a very short distance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darryl L
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We take pride in our hotel and our staff and are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Seven Hills, OH
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I didn't expect a lot because I considered this a budget motel but it was great. Our jaws fell open when we entered the room. It was large, had a sofa, clean, and the bathroom was huge and modern. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator. We had a most comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NKODIS
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful words! We love hearing when we have exceeded guests expectations and cannot wait to serve your accommodation needs the next time you visit Calgary!

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We spent one night at this Econo Lodge and were very pleased. For the $92/night (CAD) rate, it was exceptional. The room was clean, complete with a mini fridge and microwave and large area with a couch and coffee table. The hotel was quiet, and the breakfast was simple (continental, mostly carb options). We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank penguinchatter
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next time you're in town.

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

it was our first time as a group to book here... we had so many concerns and questions but the front desk personnel was very accommodating and very helpful.. she's also very approachable.. that made our 2 nights stay very comfortable.. the room was very nice..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank val a
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We take pride in the services we provide to our guests and are always happy to hear when we have exceeded guest expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to show you another great stay the next time you are in town!

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#46 of 109 in Calgary
249 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Address: 2231 Banff Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $67 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If room is between lobby and road, choose second floor to avoid heavy foot-noise from the balcony walkway.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller99ab, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose an east facing room (unless you like it hot!), east view is pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles thengling, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floors in the corners”
 of 5 bubbles DarrylL833, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room in the main building”
 of 5 bubbles Celia63, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“So close to the Tom Baker Cancer Hospital. We stayed in the tower. very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles loisp825, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5