We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 640: English reviews
galway ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in the Sandman's hotel in the city center ,It was quite easy to find on the Saf nav.The hotel itself was a bit dated but otherwise very good ,clean ,and good food and friendly staff and the car parking was free ,this was on a weekend which was great. That's as far as it goes there is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikegalway
GMSandman26, Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hello Mike, Thank you for your 4 star review. We are glad you enjoyed what our hotel has to offer. I am sorry you didn't find the entertainment you were looking for - Calgary usually has so much to offer for visitors. I hope you reached out to our Guest Services Staff for some ideas while you were here, they...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was VERY disappointed in my stay here. Probably won't return. The price to value of this hotel is not worth what they charge. Wall paper was peeling off the walls and bubbling. The box spring bed skirt was torn. The upholstery underneath the chair in the room was torn and hanging down. The tub spout was separated from the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamie F
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you again for reviewing your stay - I trust your concerns have been addressed in my email sent today.

Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was poorly maintained - heater made loud noise, remote didn't work and one light globe needed replacing. Offered a different room but no offer of assistance with our baggage which we had commenced unpacking. New room was on the tram line - so very noisy. Then, my husband turned the hot tap on in the shower, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tmwind
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry to hear of the challenges you faced. We are scheduled for full renovations to start in the near future. I will pass on your kind words to our maintenance and reception teams. Tracey Smith General Manager

Stafford, TX
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for business as my client was across the street, so walking to work was amazing. However, my stay was just okay. 1. Rooms - I've stayed here three times (one room, King bed), and the room was pretty much the same. You have a somewhat modern LCD TV, comfortable bed, and enough room to unpack your things....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are looking forward to renovations beginning in the near future which will include all guestrooms and new equipment for the fitness centre. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Tracey Smith General Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The sleep was good, the view was great but the updated-not-so-updated hotel is why the review isn't better. Loud hallways from outside, and old bathrooms that were not upgraded when the place got a pint job. But, it comes with parking which is stupid expensive otherwise in downtown Calgary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrukL
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad to hear you found the beds comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Tracey Smith General Manager

Calgary
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked three rooms for clients last month, for a total of $1060, or so I thought. I used Reservations.com. This hotel is less than a mile from my business, and the site represents itself as being Sandman. 1-800 number right beside the hotel address, everything. But buried down at the very bottom of the page in the fine print...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 884NeilP
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were there for a business trip for one night, upon check-in, Jesse, the Front Office Manager who was processing our check-in notified me that my CC had declined, shocked I asked him to run it again but same message appeared on his screen, he advised I give my bank a call, which I was happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cboyal
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel has an ideal location. Right Downtown Calgary & The LRT Line is literally right outside the front doors. It has large heated underground parking and small side lot for larger vehicles outside. Upper level pool & hot tub accessible by elevator or escalator, There's a Moxie's & Bar In house, as well as a Tim Hortons/ McDonald's/ Subway...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJ7123
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Sandman is centrally located, within the free train zone. Those same trains do produce room noise even on higher floors. Reception staff were helpful and efficient at all times. Toiletries are provided along with tea/coffee in the room and aircon(which was fairly inefficient). Wifi is free and fast. The lifts are painfully slow leading to possible long waits. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevTheClotter
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you found the staff helpful. As part of our upcoming renovations we will have in-room safes in all rooms and we will also be having the lifts updated. Tracey Smith General Manager

USA
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Great location is what Sandman has going. If you are looking for a cheap hotel in City Center this maybe for you. The hotel needs some serious updates - old carpets, elevators, Interiors, AC, etc. Got a queen room and it's small - no space to go around the bed. The bathroom is fairly small too. Coffee maker did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triphopper
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay - we are aware of the updating required and are looking forward to a full renovation beginning by the end of this year. I do hope you informed the front desk regarding the coffee maker and remote so that these were rectified for you. Tracey Smith General Manager

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $107 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Brazil
4 months ago
Sandy, Utah
over a year ago
Carthage, Missouri
Carthage, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are very similar the higher you go the less street noise you will hear”
 of 5 bubbles mikegalway, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is no tip..... Read all reviews carefully..... Not like me....”
 of 5 bubbles jamief303, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't stay there until they renovate!”
 of 5 bubbles tmwind, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go high to minimise train noise”
 of 5 bubbles KevTheClotter, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The staff are helpful advise them of your needs”
 of 5 bubbles jeanh567, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay