We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Deer Lodge

Expedia.comUSD 245*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 317*
USD 245*
USD 267*
USD 317*
USD 245*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,406: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I don't know when this place was built, but it has been around for awhile. I read somewhere that being an "older" hotel, adds to its "charm." Well, in this case "charm" probably meant the size of the rooms (tiny), the separate cold/hot faucets on the sick, and lack of temperature control in each room. There are really no frills...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malea518
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. The log tea house which would eventually grow into Deer Lodge was constructed in 1923, and the first hotel rooms were open for business by 1928. While many guests appreciate the style of this era, we understand that there are some drawbacks, and that this may not be to everyone's taste. Please accept...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We arrived before check in time of 4.00 pm. This is obviously strictly adhered to as when we returned to Reception to retrieve our luggage and collect our room keys there was a queue of guests doing the same. Our room (Heritage) was great - nice and big, with a large modern bathroom - but it was on the third...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you were happy with your Heritage room, as well as the service you received. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate an early check-in for you; while we do our best, we cannot always have rooms ready prior to 4pm. Thank you for your patience and understanding....

Toronto
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Beautiful old lodge in an excellent location. There is nothing quite like sitting in a hot tub after a hike while looking at the Rockies. Food at the restaurant was delicious. Rooms have all basics you need.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleaU314NY
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and made the most of our roof top hot tub. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

North Hills
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This rustic lodge is in need of some TLC. The older rooms and exterior need remodeling. The halls were dark and housekeeping left their supplies outside of our room for several hours. We stayed two nights but the room was never attended to, (bed was not made, etc) during our stay. We showed up at 3:45 and were told at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreabJ6401UU
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't quite live up to expectations, but really appreciate your detailed feedback. We provide daily service to all inhouse guest rooms, so I will follow up with our housekeeping department to find out why yours was missed. Please accept our sincere apologies for...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Having read previous reviews we expected a quirky, old fashioned hotel. On arrival we were greated by an unsmiling receptionist. As we were on the third floor with no lifts we had to carry our cases up 3 flights of stairs, on inquiring the house man was summoned to help us. Room 30 a Heritage room was small but adequate,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 989jill
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry that a few shortcomings meant your experience at Deer Lodge was not as good as it could have been. We really appreciate your helpful feedback, and will use your comments to help us live up to the property's full potential moving forward. I will pass your kind compliments...

cornwall
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Overall the stay was very pleasant and in a superb location. The rooms were adequate, apart from the very small bed, I am only 5ft 10 and my feet were hanging off the end of the bed by at least a foot, more suitable for short people. Also no tea and coffee facilities in the room, although there are tea...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank robbiewilliams_7
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but apologize that some of the service you received was not up to the high standard we strive to provide. We take comments such as this very seriously, and I will ensure that this is followed up by our management team. I apologize also for...

Joppa, Maryland
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The location of this hotel is ideal. Literally a very short walk to Lake Louise without paying the high price of the hotel on the lake. The lodge is beautifully constructed and amazingly maintained. There was no elevator, so getting to and from our third floor room gave us good exercise. Our bags were handled efficiently by the hotel staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgtrip66
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the original features of the Lodge, as well as the convenient location. We appreciate your feedback on the bedding in our guest rooms. We are able to provide non-feather duvets or lighter blankets upon request, and will ensure that future guests are aware of these...

Perth Western Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Great location! Stayed in Lake Louise for three nights (Mountaineer Lodge), went to Banff for two nights, then returned to beautiful Lake Louise for a final night. Thought we'd treat ourselves to a night at Deer Lodge due to its location and website information. We were very disappointed with the quality of accommodation for the price - we found it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 191Christine
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad that the location worked well for you, but apologize that you were disappointed with your room. Our Lodge rooms, in the original part of our heritage building, are very simple and much smaller than the average modern hotel room. They provide a more reasonably priced option in...

Yeovil
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Room is very basic however the remainder of hte hotel is excellent and the location is great for walking. When we asked for any extra facilities in our room it was not problem to the staff. Restaurant was good and downstairs lounge very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alm452
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff were able to assist in making you more comfortable. I hope the rest of your trip through the Rockies was a great experience. Thanks again for your comments.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Whilst in lake Louise we decided to have an evening meal at deer lodge recommended by our driver/guide. It was well worth the visit a cosy restaurant to have a meal with family and friends food and service was of a very standard. They do have an outside dining area but was a wet night so chose to sit inside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CYardy
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal in the Mount Fairview Dining Room, and were impressed with the service you received. I hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasurable. Thank you again for your feedback.

793 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (349)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (422)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Heritage Room One King Bed (38)
Viewed
Heritage Room Two Double Bed (53)
Viewed
Hot Tub (11)
Viewed
Lodge Family Room (50)
Viewed
Lodge Room One Double Bed (41)
Viewed
Lodge Room Two Twin Beds (28)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Tower Room One Queen Bed (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
2.4 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,257 reviews
0.6 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
2.3 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
680 reviews
12.4 km away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
739 reviews
2.2 km away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Cuisines: Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: $144 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Deer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Heritage rooms are lovely”
grahamd951, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Book Ahead.”
Griz22, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose from the new wing, as the old hotel rooms are tired, but great showers”
pauljohntanner, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Family Rooms are large and sunny.”
  • Lovely old door with antique fixtures.
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, big and bright and clean (plus a sofa)
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, the corner with the single bed
475cindyw, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesnt face the road”
happytraveller413, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 245* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 267
Hotels.comUSD 245
ElvolineUSD 317
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates