We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Castle Mountain Chalets

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Castle Mountain Chalets
Castle Mountain Chalets
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Mountain Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

As a solo traveller, getting 'Value for money' is important. I intended staying 2-3 nights only, because I was travelling around the National Park and was going to try staying in Banff. Wrong! I stayed 8 nights! I had one of the apartments. It was magnificent. A one bedroom apartment with a separate shower/bathroom, fully equipped open plan kitchen and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We wanted a quick weekend getaway to Banff and wanted the dogs to come. All of the hotels in Banff that were pet friendly didn't include any of the nice features that we were looking for (fireplace, big room, kitchette) in their designated pet rooms. At Castle Mountain ALL of their cabins are pet friendly! We couldn't believe it. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank TCS1975
Santa Fe Springs, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I were married on Jan 4 2013 and found our way to Canada the next day. Many thought we were crazy for going to Canada at the beginning of winter but that's exactly what we wanted: SNOW! And boy did we get snow. We were even snowed in one full day. Castle Mtn Chalets impressed us beyond... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank April T
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Happy early Anniversary, as we know it is coming up on January 4! Thank you for your lovely comments. Maybe we will get to celebrate your 1 Year Anniversary with you :) !! All the best for 2014! Sincerely, More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins here for 3 nights on our recent trip around the Rockies. We found it to be quite spacious and very comfortable, and very clean & tidy with all essentials provided. The setting at the base of Castle Mountain is just gorgeous, and the grounds are very pretty with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RavRed_RR
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife booked this as surprise for me, it was our wedding anniversary and her birthday, the log cabin was absolutely fantastic, very cozy and just what we expected. we were greeted by a bottle of champagne and a card which was very nice. The cabin we stayed in was close to the train tracks but did not bother us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
firenze
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Let's start from positive things: the rooms are very beatiful and clean and the location is not bad as you are in the middle of Banff, Jasper and Kootenay NP. However there are so many problem that made our stay very bad (in fact absolutely the worst for us in 3 weeks in Canada). First of all the quality of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank marcello68
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear you had such a negative experience. We do appreciate all comments and believe they are our opportunity to change and get better. I'd like to address one particular issue you presented as there seemed to be a misunderstanding. The vehicles that parked in your spot were paying guests, not the owner as you suggested.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The cabins are exactly what we expected, simple and cozy. The location is great, close to Banff and other local attractions. The staff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank JenJayL
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here over the easter long weekend and it was excellent. We had our own little cabin that was complete with kitchen, living room and fireplace. The room was very cozy and clean, The staff are nice and they even have a little convenience store which had a decent liquor selection. There is a games room and common area... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny W
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The lodge is rather new and we had a great suite with own living room and kitchenette. This is great after a long day of hiking. you are right between Banff and Lake Louise which makes the options so much wider than being in either location fixed. The rooms were spotless clean and fresh. All you can ask for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bcbtoronto
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We traveled there in hopes to stay 3 nights in mountain’s serenity. The first look at the accommodations didn’t disappoint us. The chalets look great, very clean and large. They are not inexpensive, but it looked like they offered the value to the money. Very soon however, we discovered that there was a railway trail almost adjacent to the cabins,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sansa997
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay because of the trains. Banff National Park was actually built by the train system that came through the mountains, and as such the trains are a big part of the history. On our website we do make note of the trains and their whistle blowing to make guests... More 

598 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (466)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Cedar Chalet (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (89)
Viewed
Pet Free Suite (77)
Viewed
Pine Chalet (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
27.6 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,892 reviews
24.8 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
788 reviews
26.3 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,001 reviews
28.4 km away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
5.8 km away
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $175 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Mountain Chalets staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Mountain Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Chalets are all about the same size except for a few which are specifically designed for families.”
 of 5 bubbles Akempus, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet Friendly, even gives you bowls and treats for your pet”
 of 5 bubbles 363dianag, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a stand alone cabin more private”
 of 5 bubbles 365kimm365, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are best, choose by what size you need.”
 of 5 bubbles KristinaZ720, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“nothing in the main building, units 1-3 are all very noisy and poorly designed.”
 of 5 bubbles 346grantl, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay