We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Mountain Chalets

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Mountain Chalets
Castle Mountain Chalets
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Mountain Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Showing 211: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We stayed here for two night during the week in a cabin with a king bed and kitchenette. This place was perfect for the two of us and had everything we needed. The fireplace warms the cabin up so well that we had to open the window and door for awhile because it was to hot. We enjoyed the hottub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryFrozen87
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's great to see you used the air hockey table and got to relax in the hot tub. We do understand that all guests have different needs and the kitchen seems to be one of the biggest ones that our guests really enjoy. It's always great to get out and have someone...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Great spot with cosy cabins with everything you could need for your stay. We brought our Dogs and they had it all set up for them, with bowls and beds waiting in front of the fireplace. Hiking, snowshoeing, and x-country skiing right outside the door. We went out and spent most of our days playing in the snow untill we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AprilSirois
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your kind comments. It's nice to hear you took full advantage of the trails and brought were able to bring your dogs with you. At this time we aren't able to put a pub on property (plus there are the licenses, etc, that would have to be looked into), but we do have...

Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

...worth it! We spent a few nights in a large chalet and were happy about the open fire place, while it was kind of winter outside. You can reach Banff easily within 15 minutes by car. You'll get the opportunity to meet several wildlife for sure. The only bad thing to say about this place is, that there's no restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oliver I
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves on trying to make sure that all guests enjoy their stay and have the amenities they require. Many, many years ago there was a small restaurant on site, however, it wasn't feasible to keep it as most guests wanted to travel to town or to one of...

Reviewed 10 January 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights in December. Excellent customer service. We wanted for nothing. Gorgeous surroundings, great amenities, clean and well kept cabin. We had my dog with us and when we first walked in, they had dishes, treats and a dog bed all ready for her. Considering we had a full kitchen and brought our own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleenaa
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves here and will be coming back. It really doesn't get more peaceful (except for the trains..lol), than being in the mountain, especially during the Winter months. For the majority that do like the sound of the train whistle, they comment on how the sound is haunting...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We stayed in Castle Mountain Chalet from December 5 to December 7 of 2014. This hotel is situated at the junction of Highway 93 (for Radium Hot Spring) and Highway 1A. It is 30KM west of Banff city towards west. Location of the chalet is at the foot of Castle Mountain. This chalet is surrounded by Bow River, forests and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sushantakumar
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate all feedback both positive and constructive. The suite you were in can now be booked online though our website. It is called our Pet-Free One Bedroom Suite. It was actually always bookable once you clicked on the Book Now button, however did not show up on our...

Estevan, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

Ghada and staff you guys rock this our 3rd time this year and the service has been excellent and you are all so friendly and make sure we never get left out you go that extra mile to help everyway you can and I think our Poms love it just as much as we do.Keep up the great work you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Patrick K R
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Pat and Rhonda, It really is always a pleasure to host you both (and the POMS), while you are here. Although we do try to make sure all of our guests are welcome and experience what you do, getting to know our regular / repeat guests is always something we enjoy. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon! All...

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 September 2014 via mobile

We arrived last minute in low season at castle mountain and though we had a small walk-in discount it was a bit over prized for the overall experience. The cabins are very cozy, with a fireplace you can turn on by a switch. But they're also very dark. The beds squeak every time you make a small movement. The thing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sara J
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Unlike most properties we do pride ourselves on being 90% pet friendly, as our location is a perfect setting for dogs, with the walking trails and open space for them to run. Unfortunately, I am unaware of what room type you stayed in, but we do have units that are 100% pet free,...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had six nights staying in the Castle Mountain Chalets. The location of the chalets is superb, being on the Bow Valley Parkway, approximately half way between Banff and Lake Louise (note that Google Maps takes you to the Banff Post Office, not the actual location!). The chalets are cute, well spaced out and well equipped. The resort also offers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan H
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Again, loved it. We even had a home invasion of sorts that was rather amusing. Woke up to a squirrel crawling across the curtain rod. While some guests may blanch at this, I need remind them that they are staying in a cabin in the mountains. I only shared the concern due to the presence of an infant in our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YYC_wayfarer
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This establishment is the most unaccommodating when faced with a natural disaster. With a recent trip into Banff, I have to rate their customer service as poor. We have traveled to Banff numerous times in the previous years and this was the most frustrating trip in my 40 years of life. We had an uncle visiting from the UK and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wow1271
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Whenever, we get a comment from a guest that they were displeased with something at the property, we always use that as a training tool to grow and learn from. When I received the call that you were stuck in Jasper and could not return to your cabin (that you checked into the day before), yes, I did...

598 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (466)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Cedar Chalet (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (89)
Viewed
Pet Free Suite (77)
Viewed
Pine Chalet (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
27.5 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,988 reviews
26.3 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
26.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
27.4 km away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
5.9 km away
Johnston Canyon Resort
Johnston Canyon Resort
#18 of 18 in Banff
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Castle Junction1A & Hwy 93 South, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $205 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Mountain Chalets staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Mountain Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The larger one bedroom cabin are really worth the extra cost”
MKennedy99, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Cottages on the mountain side are quiet because of trains closer to the road area..”
rosaanb, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The property is near the railroad tracks so there is some noise at night but we had no problems sleeping.”
lauelipas, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All single cabins in a circle, view from any side of the cabin, but view is best on a walk around.”
trelor2017, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cabin 8 is great but make sure bed is updated.”
JEJHouston, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates