We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Banff Aspen Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,125: English reviews
Michigan
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location is fantastic - just one block and you are in the midst of everything downtown. The bed was pretty comfortable. It was a bit hot the first night with no a/c, but then the other 2 nights we opened the patio door and ran the fan and it definitely helped cool things off. The size of the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candygirlMichigan
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

new orleans
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

It started off bad when we made the reservations they quoted us one price but when they asked the age of my son (16) the price was raised by 7 dollars. On arrival after my credit card was given we were informed the hotel had no air conditioner and oh yea we could not cancelled the room or we would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cfb107
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi cfb 107 I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your satisfaction. As you can tell from previous reviews this is by no means a normal standard. I have spoken with all departments regarding the concerns with your stay. Most hotels do take...

Vancouver, WA
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Banff Aspen Lodge this week while sightseeing in the area, and would have given it perfect scores except for the fact that there is no air conditioning in the hotel, and we were there during hot days. There are signs at the front desk and in the rooms suggesting that guests close...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank colt123
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Colt, Thank you for your review. It is true we do not have AC in our hotel rooms. It is generally very warm only a few weeks during the summer, and thus staying with our environmental initiatives being in a National Park we have oversized sliding patio doors to cool down the rooms in the evenings.

Saint Paul
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

BINGO!!!. I reviewed this place on line as we drive into Banff. Was extremely pleased the minute I walked in the lobby. The staff was wonderful. Miss Picky that I am was pleased the minute I walked in our room. Room very very clean!!! Bed and pillows comfy. Breakfast was super and staff was busy with keeping it clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romelle C
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Romelle, You WIN!!! :) Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Romelle. We look forward to your next stay with us in the future.

scotland,uk
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was very clean and modern in a quiet yet central location. The reception staff where more than helpful with any questions we had. The hotel also had 2 small hot tubs with a fire overlooking one of them, this would be brilliant after a days skiing. We were there in the Summer for 2 nights and we only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rtz63
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad our service levels exceeded your expectations. This is of course what we strive for. Its true we don't have a bar but there are many options within town that are close by. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for seven nights. The hotel is clean and the room was nice. It does not have air conditioning, which is a problem at the end of a summer day. However, at night, if you leave the door to balcony open, the room cools down. The staff was very nice and helpful. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David D
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you so much for your comments. You are right we do not offer air conditioning in our hotel rooms. Being in a national park we try to preserve the environment every way we can. With our large balcony doors and windows it does definitely cool down in the evening and you can enjoy the mountain air. Thank...

London
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while attending a conference at the fairmount Banff springs. The customer service and friendliness of the staff was really good. The hotel is perfect in its location and the back rooms are so quiet I could sleep with the balcony door open. It's not swanky but it's really very good. I would stay again. The fairmount Banff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francescini
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Francescini, We are glad you appreciated our personal touches. As a smaller independent hotel these are the things we are able to focus on. Thanks for staying with us.

Summerland, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Banff Aspen Lodge is very clean, as a mom this is important to me. It is centrally located. We stayed for 2 nights and had a package deal that included passes to the gondola and hot springs. Also breakfast was included. It was a good deal. We would definitely stay here again. Only things of issue - very hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommabeetle1
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mommabeetle, Thank you so much for your comments. We do offer a breakfast to go bagged option for our guests who leave early in the morning, also if guests want to take their breakfast to their room they are more than welcome. I will speak with our Breakfast room manager as a reminder of this. We are glad you...

UK
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We toured the Rockies for 2 weeks and decided to use Banff as a travel centre for 4 nights. We booked Banff Aspen Lodge and we're not disappointed. It has a great location with a very short distance walk into town, along with off street parking, either underground or the back of the hotel. The hotel is relatively small so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highlandrover
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Highlandrover We are pleased to hear that you were not disappointed in your stay with us. We offer fantastic amenities and a great breakfast as you stated. We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Christchurch
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 night with 3 of my friends, the room was more than spacious enough for all 3 of us and beds very comfortable. Loved the use of the 2 hot tubs, especially the larger one. Location was excellent, outside the real hustle so you could sleep well but close enough to town it was only just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willowaz
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi willowaz, Glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Our hot tubs sure are a good way to relax after a long day.

542 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (25)
Viewed
Premium Queen (45)
Viewed
Premium Two Queen (37)
Viewed
Premium Two Queen Divided (56)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
789 reviews
1.7 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,001 reviews
0.5 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.8 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $134 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banff Aspen Lodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Banff Aspen Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are different types of room configurations, so worth checking into depending if you want a sitting space, have children ect.”
 of 5 bubbles jbriannelaw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The outdoor rooms are cool as you can talk to your friends very easily!”
 of 5 bubbles keltiel2015, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one view of Banff Avenue”
 of 5 bubbles 384fahads, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor corner room so comfortable and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SRJ426, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try to get on the upper floors farthest away from the pools”
 of 5 bubbles econospan, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay