We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Banff Aspen Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,167: English reviews
Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved the location, breakfast and outdoor hot tub. However both nights we had horrible sleeps on the uncomfortable hard mattress. We asked the front desk to change rooms but they said all mattresses were the same. I would love to stay here again but a good nights sleep is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Amanda, Thank you very much for your review and for your feedback regarding our mattresses. We do have new Serta Mattresses in each of our rooms with a medium firmness to try to accommodate as many people as possible, it is unfortunate to hear that you did not find them comfortable. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed...

Polegate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This hotel has comfy rooms/beds. Excellent location on Banff Avenue. Nice hot-tubs but very cold when you get out!! Breakfast is also nice with lots of choice. All the rooms on the upper floors have balconies

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, Thank you very much for your review. It has been a cold winter so far and I completely agree that it is very cold to get out of the hot tubs, I hear it helps with blood flow. We do hope that the robes help warm guests up. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very lovely. Not to far from everything, nice heated pool to swim outside under the stars at night with a fire place. My husband and I had a lovely honeymoon here. They had different options for room service if you wanted to skip it. My husband and I enjoyed the cafe inside the hotel. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for staying with us for your honeymoon. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hot tubs, it is lovely to be outside at night with the stars above and the fireplace glowing. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Whitebark Cafe on site. Thank you, Monique Hendrickx -...

Perth, WA
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Nice clean hotel. We had a double room and it was really good value for money. We arrived at around midday ready to check in and head out for a guided tour but unfortunately our room wasn't ready. Luckily they have storage for luggage and after a bit of suitcase shuffle we stored and were off on our tour. Helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weekendaway09
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This newly renovated hotel has a free amazing hot breakfast buffet with friendly and attentive service. There are two fantastic outdoor hot tubs and a gas fireplace set in Rundle stone adds to the ambiance. A steam room and dry sauna are great to step into after a soak. Robes provided in the rooms so you don't have to freeze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb48bbb
Rochester, NY
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Booked this hotel as it was highly recommended by my wife who stayed here many, many years ago with the Ski Company Mountain Sports crew on their annual year-end employee thank-you trip. Was hoping it did not lose any of its luster after all these years, and it did not disappoint! I had an excellent stay, great location in town,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whthird
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your five star review. We are very glad to hear that you chose to stay with us again. we do constantly work at upgrading and improving our hotel and we are happy that we did not disappoint. We definitely hope that our breakfast fills guests up for a great day skiing and that the hot...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

The rooms are pretty good. Service is great. Breakfast is not the best though, no options for soy milk or gluten free. Very little with choice but it is included in the stay, so can't complain too much. Like the use of the laundry room as well, very handy for a family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewExplorer16
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make use of our laundry facilities, it can be rather useful. Your breakfast suggestions are fantastic, with this increase in allergies this is definitely something we will look into. We do offer bacon and sausages...

saskatchewan
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

In our travels we have spent many nights in hotels. This place is genuinely unbeatable. The staff are incredible, friendly, smiling, helpful and welcoming. Maintenece went out of thier way to accomodate a issue we had with our vehicle. The rooms are in excellent condition. You cannot be disappointed !!! Thank you for making our stay one of the very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manycolors
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your glowing review, it is wonderful and we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that our maintenance team was able to help you with your vehicle, they are a great team and we are so glad to work with them. Please do stay with us again. Thank you, Monique Hendrickx - Business Development...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I had spent a long day hiking through Banff when my friend and I arrived to check in to the hotel. She had booked the hotel via Expedia or another third-party site. When checking in, the hotel manager talked down to us and yelled at us for booking via a third-party site instead of directly with the hotel. My friend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Elizabeth, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. On behalf of the Front Desk Manager and the entire team we would like to apologize that you were made to feel uncomfortable while checking in. We do aim to provide exceptional customer service to each and every guest and this is not how we would...

Toronto
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days during the first week of December 2016 as a mini skiing vacation. This is a nice, clean boutique hotel right on the main Banff Ave strip. The hotel is 3 floors high and walking up and down wasn't an issue. Our room came with a mini fridge which was convenient for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GottaGetta
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review, we really appreciate your comments. We are happy to hear that you had a great few days of skiing in the mountains and that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel. I followed up with our maintenance department regarding the steam room and they mentioned that they do check it every morning...

547 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (25)
Viewed
Premium Queen (45)
Viewed
Premium Two Queen (37)
Viewed
Premium Two Queen Divided (56)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,041 reviews
1.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.8 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
1,063 reviews
1.7 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $152 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banff Aspen Lodge staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Banff Aspen Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hot jacuzzi is in ceiling of the first floor, I choose the second floor because it is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the courtyard and hot tub may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles beckside4, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I like the rooms in the main bldg.”
 of 5 bubbles JimRich48, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms ending in 23 to 33 face the back of the hotel, so away from main street. In courtyard section.”
 of 5 bubbles The_Dudes, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Rodney's help if you don't like anything about your room. He will make it better!”
 of 5 bubbles CarlT590, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5