We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mount Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,099 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,029: English reviews
Calgary
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We booked two rooms for two nights. The hotel appears to be undergoing renovations, but our room had chipped paint and banged up furniture so we assumed it was not complete yet. Also the toilet bowl had dark stains around the rim which suggests it is not regularly scrubbed. Although we set the thermostat in both rooms at the lowest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Karen B. It is very important for us to hear what our guests are actually experiencing in our rooms. In this particular case, we are terribly sorry to find that the heat in your room was such a problem. Our maintenance team will give this their immediate attention. Please accept our most sincere apologies for...

Alberta Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Pros: great location, discount coupon to Toque restaurant (nice touch) , friendly staff, convenient attached restaurant and bar, easy access to parking lot, room noise was fine (there was noisy customers) but you will get that with other hotels too. Carpet did not seem dirty (other reviews mentioned that). Good Wifi quality, the deco is modern (new vanity, dresser) Cons:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tompat923
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed review and feedback you have given regarding your recent stay. The more we know about how you as guest feel about our hotel, the more we can improve our overall service and product. We are very grateful for the positive comments you have given regarding our friendly staff, parking, Wi-Fi, and location. We also thank...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We have just returned from 10 days staying at the Mount Royal in Banff. I had read some negative reviews from guests before going on this holiday and was a little apprehensive. However, my apprehension was unfounded as the front desk service we received was professional, pleasant and attentive. Our room was clean and spacious and the housekeeping was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christine C, Thank you for your amazing review of the Mount Royal Hotel! It was wonderful to hear that you were able to stay with us for 10 days. That is amazing! I loved hearing that our front desk staff gave you such professional, pleasant and attentive service during your stay. They thrive on positive feedback as it really...

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights so was able to give a reasonable evaluation. Older rooms but bed was comfortable the shower had great water pressure. They supplied us with thin towels with holes and frayed wasn't impressed with that. Had a room facing the Main Street and very loud between 0200-0300 with bar crowd screaming and yelling so ask for back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sall101
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sall101, Frist off thank you for bringing your review to our TripAdvisor page as we believe that all our guest's experience where it be good or bad should be voiced out. This way we can review the information and correct any concerns mentioned in the best way possible so that we don’t have a similar comments in the future....

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Every member of staff that we dealt with were amazing! Friendly and always happy to help! Especially Jaice on the concierge desk and Matthieu on reception. It's so conveniently located to everything, and very comfortable! We will definitely stay again on our next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy M
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Kimmy M, Wow thank you so much for this wonderful review! I loved reading that our concierge and front desk supervisor made your stay a fabulous one. They are always happy to hear positive feedback in regards to their hard work at our hotel. I will definitely be sharing your review with them! It was great to read...

Reviewed 18 February 2016

The rooms are fine, not too fancy but nice and clean. The staff is wonderful, so helpful and nice. They really made our stay that much more enjoyable! We had an issue and they were very quick to fix it and went above and beyond. The only real issue I found was that the noise from the hallways is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel .
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Rachel, Thank you so much for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests! I was very happy to hear that our staff made your stay an enjoyable one. Seeing them go above and beyond for our guests really shows us how hard they work to ensure our guests have the best...

Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Awesome location, poor service. Our window didn't close properly so our room was loud and cold. The electric kettle was filthy. No mini fridge. Our sink was also plugged. The "hot tub" was luke warm and dirty. No breakfast included... GST for our room was VERY expensive. Not worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brittany B
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brittany B: Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay. We take your comments very seriously and will investigate the room you were in to ensure that the issues you encountered do not re-occur. Above all, we apologize for those issues which were correctable such as the window not closing and the plugged sink. We sincerely wish...

EDMONTON
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Room was clean and ready on arrival. Staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel was surprisingly quiet at night considering the fact it was ski season and there was a meet in the park. Everything was within walking distance,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAWRENCE L
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there LAWRENCE L, I thank you for your kind review of our Mount Royal Hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our clean rooms and that our staff were able to show you such hospitality for your stay with us. It was also a plus that our location meet your needs. Thank you once more for your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Nice modernized hotel right in the middle of town, probably at the better end of Banff Ave in great proximity to all the great bars and food. I stayed for 10 nights, on the 3rd floor with an excellent view of the mountains. The 'town lot' pickup point for all the ski resorts is right behind the hotel, you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Greenwood
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim_Greenwood, First off thank you so much for your review of our Mount Royal Hotel. We love hearing from all our guests and looking at such positive feedback makes us extremely happy! I am glad you were able to enjoy everything our hotel has to offer. Staying for 10 days really gives you an idea on what we are...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. When we arrived we found out they had upgraded our room for us. That was nice. The hotel location is also super great. You can walk almost everywhere. In general we had such a great experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamiemm7
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great experience. We are also pleased to find that the upgrade of your room was appreciated. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#17 of 32 in Banff
913 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
532 reviews
0.6 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#15 of 32 in Banff
376 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $102 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
 of 5 bubbles virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
 of 5 bubbles DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
 of 5 bubbles TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay above ground level”
 of 5 bubbles IDWiner, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay