We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Royal Hotel

Save
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (230)
Pool & Beach (14)
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good39%
  • Average22%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tony romas”(44 reviews)
“great location”(201 reviews)
“central location”(46 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,104)
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,034 results
Traveller rating
248
374
245
112
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
248
374
245
112
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony romasgreat locationcentral locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuean older hotelthird floorhistoric hotelstandard roomhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnowgondola
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,034 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We arrived very early due to the bus schedule and they were still able to get us in a room, absolutely loved this place and the location was right downtown near bus stops, shops, and restaurants! Would not stay anywhere else!More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackien862
Response from Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal HotelResponded 21 January 2017

Thank you for your golden review! We are very happy to read your comment, especially when it comes to our guest satisfaction, and see that we have exceed in it. We will be very happy to welcome you again in the future. Estelle Lo Piccolo...More

Reviewed 17 January 2017

Great location, free parking, friendly staff and beautiful views We stayed in the corner suite for an extra $20 and you have a view all the way down Banff ave. the noise level is good in the evenings even with the bars near you. Hot...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah B
Response from Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal HotelResponded 21 January 2017

Thank you for your high rated review! It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay: location, view and quality of guests service. It will be a pleasure to welcome again in the future. Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Reviewed 16 January 2017

Very sadly the hotel was badly damaged by fire on 28 December and is now closed. It will be sorely missed. On a positive note, key staff who ensured an outstanding welcome have been transferred to the sister hotel in Banff, the Elk and Avenue....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry H
Response from BrewsterTravelCanada, Public Relations Manager at Mount Royal HotelResponded 17 January 2017

Hello Hankebr, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mount Royal Hotel. I am sure your experience on the night of December 28 is one you will not forget. We are thankful that no one was injured or harmed in the fire and...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017

Continual unannounced refurbishment going on during our stay. Work continued 8am - 9pm+. Had to be moved rooms repeatedly to avoid the construction and its noise. All sauna and spa facilities shut down. Hotel suggested we visit their sister hotels spa however this was a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markbH5346OM
Response from Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal HotelResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not ideal, and that you were not informed about the renovations on the roof and in the sauna area. These renovations were done...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017

This hotel has amazing staff that are friendly and very helpfull. The rooms are spacious and clean. The price is great for such an amazing location - right on main street. We had a great time and can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N6715IQmelissam
Response from Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal HotelResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you for your 5* rated review on your stay at the Mount Royal, it is well appreciated. We are pleased to hear how amazing our staff was. They actively participate to our guest satisfaction, as well as the hotel location, and the quality of...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Banff, Canada
See all 33 hotels in BanffSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 301 - USD 377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 301 - USD 377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (230)
Pool & Beach (14)
Dining (5)
Amenities (10)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
raytaximan
10 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nickademus64 | Reviewed this property |
We used a local tour company (Brewsters) Very good with excellent guides
1
Vote
Lana G
29 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from CameramanUk | Reviewed this property |
Very good breakfast and cater for healthy or the big fry up, either way you won't got hungry.
0
Votes
Mel N
14 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Macca499 | Reviewed this property |
No it doesn't! We stayed in June 2015, and it did not have an indoor or outdoor pool.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Went on a technology free vacation so check if you need internet."
Read review
"The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!"
Read review
"ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early"
Read review
"Good location"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing