We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

880 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 820: English reviews
England
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Group of 5 adults stayed in a four bedroomed Wolf condo. This was spacious, clean and well equipped, and made for a very comfortable place to stay. Beds were very comfortable, and there is plenty of seating in the lounge area. We lit the log fire on most evenings - very cosy. Housekeeping was very good, lots of clean towels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Family-reviewer
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Yes, the four bedroom wolf suites are great for families or a large group. We are working on plans to upgrade the pool area and changerooms and hope to do it this fall. Presently, renovated the main floor of the gatehouse. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your comments.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Stayed there for 1 week, had 2 bedroom condo, quite dated, small for 4 adults, room smelled of curry, bathroom smelled or urine but they did send someone to clean it. Not very well cleaned upon our arrival. Cleaning inconsisent. Would not stay there again. Have stayed at Douglas Fir a few years ago but it was booked. Was better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apology that your room was not cleaned to our usual standard upon your arrival at the resort. Yes, the shuttle is popular with guests we run the shuttle until everyone gets to town. We are busiest on the weekends in the early evenings. I hope you will reconsider staying with us again. Thank you for your...

Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

I loved this hotel! The rooms are a bit dated (unless you have a renovated room) but the service we received was awesome, the room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, the gas fireplace was very nice and relaxing, and to top it off we had an amazing view from our room. The one down side was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canada05
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it.

Strathmore, Canada
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Our dogs had no complaints but we had to raise our noses not only about the 25.00 per pet charge per night but what they say on their fancy pamphlet about their pet friendly hotel. We chose this hotel because it is some of the few hotels in the national park that takes pets. It is also on the very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chbaldwin B
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

I was very sorry to hear we did not provide your pets with the service they deserved. All I can do is apologize it we did not get it right the first time. I hope you will reconsider and try the resort again. Thank you.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We stayed in a renovated wolf room which was very nice. It was a little cramped for 4 people but everything was very fresh and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with amenities. The staff were very helpful and called us a cab and connected us to dominoes pizza. The lobby was a bit dated and the pool was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taysak
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. We hope you will come back soon and see the renovations we will have complete by June in the lobby area. Excited about the changes and the new look we will have.

London
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Stayed in a 1 bed condo for 2 weeks. Perfect accommodation for a couple (perhaps a couple with one child but wouldn't recommend more) very well equipped kitchen and bathroom and comfortable lounge area. Small bedroom but comfortable bed. Easily cooked in a number of evenings (there is a Safeway's in town) very warm room and plenty of hot water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonKazza
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. Your comments about the health club are valid. We will be moving the gym up to where area where you had drinks and are presently renovating the main floor and moving the restaurant up to the lobby area. We are excited about the changes and hope that you will...

Okotoks, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2015

On reading the other reviews I am wondering if we were at the same hotel. Our room was pet friendly but we had expected that on being charged an additional $25 per night it would have been cleaned thoroughly before we got there. Alas not. Booked 2 nights and decided oh well lets make the most of it. However breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lovefamily01
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your experience while at the resort. We appreciate the candid comments and will use them to improve the service. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2015

This property exceeded every expectation one might have. I was there for a 5 day ski experience with my nephew who fancies himself as quite a hotel connaisseur. The accommodations were superb and the dining room was excellent. We were centrally located to access a couple of outstanding skiing properties and could not have been happier with the overall experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dragica G
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the review.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2015

I stayed at this hotel through a deal on travel zoo. The hotel room was nice, clean and decently price. Although not located in the main road for Banff, it was only a 5 minute car ride. The hotel offered a free shuttle service into town. It made for a good weekend trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your weekend with us. Thank you for your comments.

Oxfordshire
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We spent a very pleasant week here as II exchange. We had a one bedroom which had a kitchen. It was all very clean and had a log fireplace . The unit is quite small, ok for two but not really suitable for more. The outdoor hot tub was not working which was disappointing and, although adequate, the pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank grantravels
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

566 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Junior Suite Two Double Beds (37)
Viewed
One Bedroom Condo (61)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Wolf Two Bedroom Condo (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.5 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,894 reviews
2.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
3.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
1,042 reviews
2.4 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.0 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $106 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banff Rocky Mountain Resort staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Ohio

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Banff Rocky Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do no accept room 1604, do not accept ground floor room, do not accept highway facing room”
 of 5 bubbles 16fishies, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“double check with the room type you are getting”
 of 5 bubbles lastroyalette, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the condos are fine”
 of 5 bubbles heidib909, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get an upper floor if you don't like overhead noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 578DawnB578, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Condos across the street from the main building may be a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Y2907ADmikes, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay