We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,076 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff Ptarmigan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,014: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights 4th and 5 th october. Nice hotel tidy clean rooms, although lighting bit dark in rooms. Good breakfast. Nice little bar but on last night arrived back at hotel for nightcap around 10.30 told by the 'bit scruffy' long haired barman that they had closed, even though the bar was full, said couldn't serve us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigmac04
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Booked via TripAdvisor and Booking.com. Booked for just one night but decided to stay an extra night as we liked it. The young guy on the reception was very well mannered and welcoming he explained everything very well. Room had two double bed and bathroom with view of the mountains. The hotel provided parking below the ground floor and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackRussell1964
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in Banff many times and this is by far the most overpriced dive I stayed in. As I'm typing this, kids are playing hockey with actual nets in the hallway. We were moved as the standard rooms have non-functioning windows and no a/c. After cooking our selfs the first night we asked to be moved, after much complaining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further to ensure your concerns are addressed. I have discussed your stay, which is not representative of our high service and quality standards, with our Front Office Manager who will contact you directly. I am sorry we failed to meet your...

Melbourne
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn Banff on 26th September 2013 for three nights. The room was big very clean lovely mountain views. Good breakfast & evening meal. Very good location in town. 5 minutes walk to Rocky Mountain train station. Helpful staff for arranging day trips. Most important their staff are very Honest. We left Banff on Rocky Mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arkette
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Ptarmigan Inn and that we were able to help return your lost belongings. I have shared your comments with my team and hope you have the chance to stay with us again!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our 5th year running in Melissa's and the first time we have stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn! It was a wonderful experience and will definitely book again next time we are in Banff. The staff was very helpful and the complimentary breakfast included was wonderful!! The rooms were clean and the hot tub and sitting area was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed the hotel immensely. There is plenty of choice for accommodation in Banff but this ticked all the boxes for us. The room was of a reasonable size and we had asked for one at the back of the hotel away from the noise of the busy street. The bed was very comfortable too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtravellers50
Davis, California
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a clean, comfortable room. Staff were friendly. Breakfast is served in a pleasant area near the lobby. Buffet items are available, and cooked-to-order omelets were just right. I enjoyed the whirlpool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USAwalkers
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed overnight on September 20th and had a great stay overall. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the third floor, which was more than adequate. Check-in and check-out was smooth; underground parking was available. Breakfast with the omelette station was great. There was an assortment of cold and hot foods available. I enjoyed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yellowbuggie
Redcliffe
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived in Banff a day earlier than what we had booked on a beautiful weekend in September. Unfortunately with a busy weekend there weren't any availabilities however the staff were more than happy to ring the local hostel to arrange accommodation. When we did book I asked for a new room (wasn't happy with a view of the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna A
Isle of Man
Reviewed 29 September 2013

There are two hotels close by, one owned by the same chain, the other is the Torquin. Choose either of those. There is an air of chaos about the Ptarmigan, breakfast is mayhem. Lines over thirty feet at eight in the morning. The food is very average, the rooms the same. I would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sparkyIsleofMan

479 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Premium Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,073 reviews
0.4 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,355 reviews
0.0 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $120 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banff Ptarmigan Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Banff Ptarmigan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a balcony”
648niamhg, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms being refurbished to high standards.”
claryNorthampton, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you're looking for quality, don't stay here.”
MyViews_11, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room without noise from the bar.”
C3228DMruthp, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms were quite insulated from noise on the second floor, overlooking the main street - did not hear a thing!”
gschmidt528, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5