We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elk + Avenue Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

964 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elk + Avenue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 868: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was nice and clean. Rooms were hot and you had to open a window to try and keep it cool. Avoid Rickey's Grill. Terrible food and service. Location is great as you can walk to the shops and restaurants easily.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nlprice
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Elk. It is Very well situated. Staff was friendly and polite. Loved the spa as it is quite big. Decoration is up to date, Everything looks lovely. Beds are comfy and rooms well isolated. Loved theView on the mountains

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank boubas26
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our spa provided relaxation during your visit. We are also happy to note your appreciation of the new look. And we take great pride in knowing guests found our beds comfortable. Please return again for a great sleep and a...

Wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives: 1-we were originally booked into the Mount Royal but the fire prevented us going to what was the ideal location. However, Brewster transferred the reservation to the Elk, with no fuss and a seamless change. 2-having previously stayed at the former Banff International ( a dark, unwelcoming place) any reservations about returning were forgotten immediately by a tremendous transformation...a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobs-big-vacation
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a wonderful, thorough review of your stay with us. I was thrilled to read your comments regarding the updates to make the hotel bright, airy, modern and welcoming. Very-well said. I was also very pleased to read your praise of the staff - "nothing was too much trouble" I think is a perfect way to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Modern room though a bit cold (I suppose the baseboard heaters would find it a challenge as it was -29 degrees Celsius during my 4 day stay!) I asked for a quiet room and got it - total silence and spotlessly clean (The little Santa decoration on the desk was a nice touch). I was fine with not having a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RainCityFoodie
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to know that our staff accommodated your request for a quiet room and that you were able to experience total silence. Thank you as well for the feedback on the little Santa decoration. I am also happy to know you enjoyed the modern aspect of your room and our new seating...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the loft that we stayed in at! There was an additional sofa bed and everything was pleasant. Although would have loved a microwave in our room. The jacuzzi was undergoing repair when we were there. But it was great overall!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renenne P
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am very pleased to find that you found the space beautiful and our hotel and rooms very comfortable. The comfort of our guests means a great deal to us. We do hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue Hotel

FAIRMONT HOT SPRINGS
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall a great experience. Only complaints were that room service was not allowed to deliver alcohol and that toiletry items were provided as single use - refillable dispensers are more environmentally friendly. Staff was friendly and helpful and I appreciated the late check -out they allowed when my bus was delayed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT F
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

It is wonderful to know that you had a great overall experience. We appreciate the review. In particular, I am happy to hear that you found the staff so helpful and that they could accommodate the change in your plans. We will certainly look into your comments about our toiletry items as we do have a very strong commitment to...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms looked great and were clean. Were able to check into our room early and checking out was a breeze. Public areas were awesome. Hotel is in a great location. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennieh181
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to know that you received great service with checking-in and out and that the look of our rooms and public areas strongly appealed to you. I am also very pleased to hear that you will be back again. Kind Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last month with my family, The location is perfect walking distance to shop and restaurants. The room is clean, comfortable beds, washroom clean a bit pricey compared to other hotels nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myneverendingvoyage1
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed a nice stay with us and that the comfort of the beds and room cleanliness matched your expectations. Please do visit us again. Kind Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue Hotel

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall it is a not bad hotel. Interior design was good. Family loved the environment of the hotel. We are plannning to tell our friend of our experience until we see the improvement of the cleanness . Thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eric449
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to know your family loved the environment of the hotel. We hope you may come again. Kind Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue Hotel

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

too loud. could hear every sound in hallway and from outside. food was terrible. service was not great. way too expensive . price started as 199 per night then when i checked out the bill was 275. will not be staying here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 541malcolmk
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for providing your feedback. With regard to the pricing of your room, your original booking was for 2 nights (Saturday at $249 and Sunday night at $149) with an average rate of $199. When you reduced your stay to only the Saturday night, the rate for Saturday of $249 remained in...

514 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe One King (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen (36)
Viewed
Hot Tub (20)
Viewed
Modern Loft (41)
Viewed
Modern Two Queen (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Two Queen Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.7 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,038 reviews
0.4 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,063 reviews
0.2 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,333 reviews
1.5 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $130 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elk + Avenue Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Elk + Avenue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front of the hotel has the nicest views as does the back, sides aren't the best view”
 of 5 bubbles MellieMcIntyre, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“great location”
 of 5 bubbles 976marissah, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“New section has king size beds”
 of 5 bubbles tomeA9236KH, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Talk with front desk. They were very, very accommodating!”
 of 5 bubbles gordp924, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are very hot in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles 843joer843, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5