We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Irwin's Mountain Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Irwin\\
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Irwin's Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
SanJuan Islands,Wa
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I found this place through trip advisor and felt it would be a good fit, it certainly was. Friendly staff, good location and a great onsite restaurant. Room was very nice, I ended up in a two bed with a kitchenette that would be great for a ski getaway and was scrupulously clean. Banff is a great town and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4015c
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so very much for your comments. I am so pleased that the hotel was a fit after you conducted research here on Trip Advisor. That is our hope, that you will see this little gem in Banff. We try so hard to meet expectations on price and on budget with our charming hotel. We've bee around...

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Haven't stayed there in 10 years- found it to be centrally locatd, room good size- nothing special.The building is old, the rooms are furnished with not only the usual beds but two comfortable chairs, a microwave and an in room sink. Restaurant attached to hotel, seemed busy enough for a Monday night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bandolie
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am very grateful you stayed with us. Thank you for your comments. We are a charming 65 room hotel with a variety of room types for the savy traveller. El Toro has been a part of Irwin's Mountain Inn for over 35 years. They are a fantastic place to dine both in the morning and in the evening for...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We've been to Banff several times as a day trip, but decided to go for the weekend. Researched several hotels and Irwin's was a good price compared to others. When we arrived, the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The decor is a little dated, but the room was large and clean. Wifi worked well and there were two flat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am most grateful for your review and comments. Thanks for taking the time to highlight our property. I am so pleased that your research paid off. We are indeed a budget property with the hopes that both price and customer service will ensure you return again soon. Thanks for highlighting our great staff and their willingness to help. Our...

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I keep going back, this hotel is a great value. The rooms are always clean, the views are great, the staff are super friendly. The restaurant is good, though I've only ate there twice. And if you stay there more then once, mention it when you make your second reservation and you get 10% off as a thank you. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am so very glad to hear from our returning guests. I am so blown away by your comments and our staff will be so delighted to hear the feedback. I would like to take the time to thank you for highlighting our hotel as you have. It is both honest and appreciated. We take all comments very seriously and...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is located in downtown Banff near shopping and restaurants. The building is old, the rooms are furnished with not only the usual beds but two comfortable chairs, a microwave and an in room sink. While there were many lamps in the room, the lighting was poorly arranged so there were dark spots. The bathroom facilities were not satisfactory....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Khajorn
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Cheers for taking the time to review our property. Our goal is to create a returning customer so I would like to take the time to ensure that happens with you. The Irwins has been around since 1967 and is family owned and operated. So you are correct that the building has been around for a while. However, the owners...

Manitoba
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Booked last minute! Lots of reasonably priced hotels in Banff. $133 for a family of four. Located only a few walking blocks on the main strip from the shops and restaurants. Breakfast is not included. Parking in back of hotel is terrible and tight. We drive a small compact car, anyone with a big truck would have extreme difficulty parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaNic
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our property. While you have highlighted some great points, let me take the time to highlight some more. Our budget property does amazing at hitting pricepoint during a very busy summer season where rates can balloon. Breakfast is not included and our rates show that. But our next door restaurant...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Room was a little weird (unconventional room shape, eclectic furniture) but clean and great location. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. Only $10/day pet charge. I would stay there again for a good price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Your comments highlight some of the great features we provide here in Banff. Our pet friendly hotel is very accomodating and our fees are for the budget traveller in mind. Our staff are amazingly helpful and our staff are always ready and willing to help. Our rooms are both comfy and clean and since we have been around since 1967...

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Staff very friendly and hotel was spotless. The room was a great size for 3 adults with fantastic views of the Canadian Rockies from our room, located in the heart of Banff. Shopping and restaurants are conveniently within a few minutes walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cat F
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Truly grateful for your review. Thank you for illuminating our room sizes and cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff will be so pleased with your comments. They work so hard to ensure that our hotel is spotless. Our 65 room hotel has been family owned and operated since 1967. The Irwin's has always made cleanliness it's top priority and friendly and helpful...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Excellent friendly service at check in and out as well as any time you asked for help or guidance. The room was spacious and clean. Hotel is just a few minutes walk from downtown which is great for evening strolls and dinner. Only downside was very noisy AC. We tried sleeping without it one night but it was too hot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakkster67
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am so pleased to hear that our staff were helpful and that your check in and check out was a breeze. That is our goal. Our staff are ready and eager to help you find what you are looking for in Banff. I am so sorry that you...

Calgary
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in Irwin's Mountain Inn in August for our anniversary. The hotel was nice and clean. The beds we very comfortable. It was a short was to downtown. There was underground parking, however, it was limited to cars only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryHappycamper
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I do hope you enjoyed your stay during your anniversary. I am very glad you were able to take advantage of our distance from downtown. All of our staff are ready and willing to help in a heartbeat. I do hope you will stay with us again very soon. Our free parking is a huge plus in busy Banff. It...

341 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Family Suite (47)
Viewed
Hot Tub (12)
Viewed
Mountain View Jetted Tub Room (34)
Viewed
One King Bed (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Queen Bed Suite (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#15 of 32 in Banff
376 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
1,049 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
711 reviews
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#17 of 32 in Banff
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $86 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Irwin's Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Calgary, Canada
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
3 months ago
Bryan, Texas
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Irwin's Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call for a reservation - we got a room rate and type better than anywhere else we could find!”
 of 5 bubbles 2010JD, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Looking over Banff Avenue is the best view”
 of 5 bubbles 724antonioq, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a great room on Level 2 with a balcony overlooking the main street with views to the mountains and autumn trees.”
 of 5 bubbles colleencanberra, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Unfortunately, the fist night we were there we didn't get much sleep as neighbors kept running in and out of their rooms and making a lot of noise, the rest of the time it was pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles jimmyb692, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For better room selection, do NOT book with Expedia or Travelocity. Book directly with Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles tripmagoo, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay