We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,138: English reviews
Regina
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2015

My husband and I needed a pre-Christmas get-away so chose to make another visit to a CRMR resort. We had had such enjoyable visits in the past and weren't disappointed in our visit to the Banff Mountain Lodge. Our quaint room, delicious food and wonderful service made our visit so relaxing and special! Thank you CRMR!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joannef187
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy your time with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! More 

Lethbridge
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2015

We had a different and enjoyable stay in this lounge. Wonderful and highly recommend my friends to stay there in Banff for sure. The staff was friendly and on time. Room was clean. Wood fireplace was different taste for us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank seyedrezam2015
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will be able to visit us again in future. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2015

This is a clean well staffed establishment with several nice touches such as a hot pool and small intimate bar area as well as fireplaces in our room. We chose this location because they allowed pets. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beds were adequate, but nothing spectacular. The units are grouped in sections of approximately 6 or... More 

Helpful?
Thank kcchambers
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and found our staff friendly. We do apologize that the room did not live up to expectations and will pass this information along to help us improve. We aim to make the experience here special for our guests, and will take your helpful comments... More 

Rimbey
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2015

For the price the hotel is average not the quality for the price. Parking is horrible as is lighting for room numbers. We had breakfast in lodge it was a brunch style the food was very average. Fir a higher end hotel it is not worth the money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 665joannej
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed, and did not feel the experience was good value. We do appreciate your feedback, and will work with the relevant departments to address the issues you have raised and provide the best possible experience for our guests. If... More 

Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Sometimes the room photos can prove to be a little nicer than the actual rooms. This was not the case at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. It was as cute and wonderful as we thought it would be. Staff was very informative and quite nice to chat to. They even have a shuttle service to take you in and out of banff!... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pcarlone
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and had such a positive experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was my wife and I and 3 kids and our dog. We had a pet friendly room - the check-in and load in was very smooth. Front desk staff were helpful. They have a free service that brought us downtown for dinner - very convenient. Our room was clean - the fireplace... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aug3
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. More 

Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Only place to stay in Banff on Tunnel Mountain! Terrific staff and service, really comfy beds and a fireplace for a roaring fire, great dining room, all in all the ambience is true Mountain, vaulted wood ceilings in the room, views, trees abound with deer meandering through the property! Amazing Christmas displays! You have to stay here!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Croenisa
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the rustic atmosphere of the lodge as well as the views on Tunnel Mountain. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future. More 

Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Magical, amazing and stunning. From the moment we arrived until the moment that we left was truly the most amazing experience that we had. We were made to feel like we were the most important people there. We NEVER were made to feel like we were bothering them. The staff was friendly, professional and personal. We wish that we could... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 114lorig
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were welcomed by all of the friendly staff here at the Lodge. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. More 

Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

My husband and I chose to stay at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge for a weekend get-away to Banff. We booked the Premiere Room to treat ourselves. It was nice enough, but to be honest, it didn't live up to our expectations for the price. The room was not as clean as it could've been and we were woken up several... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichelleD1022
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our Dining Room and some of our special features in the room. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to expectations though, but appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. If you would like... More 

Nanton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge for a company Christmas party November 28/15. From the exterior, the property looks fairly good, if a little dated. Parking & traffic space present real concerns at the property, and although I got lucky for a parking spot many others did not. I found it rather curious that a gentlemen from the front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to expectations, but appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the team that our service fell short; we will work hard to ensure this does not happen again in future. If... More 

681 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (364)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (141)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Buffalo Two Queen Room (52)
Viewed
Hot Tub (13)
Viewed
Lodge Two Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Premiere One Queen Room (53)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,892 reviews
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
788 reviews
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,001 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,040 reviews
0.9 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $123 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buffalo Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
NW Subs of IL

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Buffalo Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a fireplace”
 of 5 bubbles mattkwilliams, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had an end unit room which was large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles colleenh22, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a premium room....well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethS253, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles KevTheClotter, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room on top floor would be less noise and more air!”
 of 5 bubbles TammyD992, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay