We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Hotwire.comUSD 224*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 276*
USD 224*
USD 276*
USD 224*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,287: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Nice quiet location. The location does mean you need to either be fit to walk in to the centre of Banff or get the public transport. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms had chairs outside which were nice to sit on and watch wildlife. The negatives were; the room decor is dated. The room wasn't the cleanest with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 509F_B
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. It is nice to hear that you were happy with the services you received from the staff and were greeted by some of the wildlife! I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to expectations and will ensure to share your feedback with the appropriate departments in hopes that we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Decent location, not so central as to be busy/noisy, free shuttle into Banff if wanting to avoid driving. Lodge rooms nice. Unusual issue of a window with no curtain whatsoever. Maintenance stapled a folded towel as a stop-gap. Just fit one more set of blinds, alongside the other half dozen...if there are people who like to sleep in daylight, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SleepyHead1966
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed dining with us received a warm welcome from the staff. I do apologize about some issues you experienced with noise and that some of our services fell short of the high standard we strive for. Should you wish to discuss your experience...

Calgary
Reviewed 7 July 2016

On our wedding day we had our ceremony in Tunnel Mountain Meadow against the unbeatable canvas of Rundle Mountain. BML staff set up our chairs and commented how beautiful everything was. The reception was held in Wapiti Room with towering rustic ceilings and fireplace. Kerrie and Hannah managed our event with prompt replies and excellent service. Our file was large,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayleyjordanh
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and Congratulations!! It is so nice to hear how happy you both were with the services you received from all of the staff and how satisfied you were with your special day! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Toronto
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We ended up in the old accommodations not shown on website. Old lodge with thin walls and 1970 sliding glass windows which needed to remain open because of no air conditioning in the suite. No venting in washroom along with slow drains and nasty filth in the baseboards. No designated parking spot for suite first come policy. It's a 20...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toronto16758
Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The rooms need ceiling fans or window A/C in the Summer. I had a defective room, the hot water pipes that heat the room would not turn off and eventually had to move rooms at 2 am. The staff responded quickly and were great on accommodating me. I have a feeling this is an ongoing issue. New room was better,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Slwhite900
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It is nice to hear you were happy with the service you received from the staff. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced in your room but it is great the staff moved quickly in accommodating the move. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We arrived on Canada Day, so Banff was very busy. The lodge is a hike from town, but offers a complimentary shuttle every fifteen minutes to and from town (will pick you up wherever you are, just takes a phone call). Clean rooms with fireplaces. Walk across the street to the meadow for incredible mountain views. Borders lots of hiking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VagabondingWithKids
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at the lodge and were happy with the services you received. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Weyburn
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Well worth the money, but rooms would be very hot in mid summer. Also the hot tub hours didn't start till 10:00 am and would have like to use it first thing in the morning. Would make a great winter getaway. Over all was a great place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivian A
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you were happy with your accommodations and enjoyed your time spent at the lodge! We appreciate your feedback on ways we can improve and will bear this helpful feedback in mind during any future updates. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Langley
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Was a great place to stay. Really took care of us. Beautiful location. Fireplace was terrific. Heated floors in the bathroom are a nice touch. Although don't. Leave any change laying around as it may go missing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H7753SEiang
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you were able to come out to the lodge for a wedding and were happy with the service you received from the staff! I am very sorry to hear about your experience with change possibly going missing and would like to speak with you further regarding this. You are...

Glen Waverley
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Found on internet with trip advisor assistance. Found rooms and facilities somewhat dated considering the price being charged. Standard rooms did not have fridge, kettle or toaster even. Quite disappointing given location well outside town and gardens poorly maintained. Price of rooms did not match the experience. Canmore 20 kilometres or so down the road looked a better alternative with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neilbY266SV
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I apologize that you were disappointed with your room, and will make sure that any issues you have raised are addressed. We will also bear your comments in mind as we plan future renovations to the property. If you would like to discuss anything further, you are...

Cedar Park
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This was our first trip to Canada! We really enjoyed the Banff and surrounding areas. So much to do and such beautiful scenery. We didn't see as much wildlife in Banff as we had hoped but we also stayed in Japser and we were able to see tons of wildlife there. Buffalo Mountain Lodge had a great location and their...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelaL9900AX
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear you were able to visit Canada and enjoyed your time spent at the lodge! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

704 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (387)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Buffalo Two Queen Room (52)
Viewed
Hot Tub (13)
Viewed
Lodge Two Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Premiere One Queen Room (53)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.3 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,090 reviews
0.6 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,097 reviews
0.9 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $176 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buffalo Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Buffalo Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in room 808 which gave views into the the National Park”
269anthonyh, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“I would probably ask for an upstairs room, although we had no problems one could hear the upstairs occupants walking around.”
KeithC152, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“found the 900 and 1000 block had much better views. Room 912 was great!”
TheCamerons, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a premium room on the south side.”
739KARENB, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor offer vaulted ceilings”
YYCTravelgirl10, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 224* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.comUSD 224
HotelQuicklyUSD 276
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates