We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mayan Palace

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mayan Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mayan Palace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 675: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We spend the first week of April and it is pretty nice, but WAY out from town, like 20-25 min! We did not intend on eating there (restaurants are a bit pricey compared to town) but we were a little stuck. We tried to make the long trip to town almost once a day just to get out and save...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nanalee50
Highland, Utah
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We were treated poorly here, they are always trying to get you to spend more money on timeshares so whether you own or not they want you to buy or upgrade. They gave a terrible room, no view, bad beds etc. They even told us when we checked in we would not like it. Lots of view rooms were open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patrickp476
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We are delighted to find out that some our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. Please accept our sincere apology for behavior exhibited by the sales and housekeeping staff mentioned in your comment. Rest assured these...

kissimmee,fl
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We spent the past 6 days at Mayan Palace and have some good and negative things to say. First of all, we ended up with a studio, which we thought would have a mini refrig, but not so much as a coffee pot! (Luckily one showed up in the room when we were out!) We were prepared to cook some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nkappe
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. Regrettably, it would appear we did not meet all your expectations. Nevertheless, this will be shared with the appropriate areas so they can look into each one of your observations, since they work tirelessly - day and night,...

HIGH POINT
Reviewed 5 April 2017

4 hr drive from Phoenix if you know how to get there. Entrance is on a dirt road. 3 restaurants to choose from. Nothing special. 40 minutes to town. $40 each way. Good fish and shrimp to buy inexpensive. The resort is nothing great. Beds and furniture uncomfortable. Lower scale resort. In the middle they are working with cranes, grinding,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe C
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We regret that your stay was not as you were expecting. We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standards as we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. Rest assured that your feedback will...

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Pros: Isolation of the hotel Beach is a postcard Staff were amazing 1 bedroom suite was new, spacious and comfortable. Great views of thr estuary and partial ocean view. Great for a family of 4. Indoor pool was a great for the kids Cons: The town and other food options were 30 minutes away. Bring lots of snacks for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garret B
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Although this is isolated from the city. Truly, there is no need to anywhere else. They have fantastic and delicious meals every day. They sell coupons to pay for meals at fabulous prices. There is a travel agency, eco fun travels, where you can book trips. I recommend the tequila factory, which is part of the city tour. We went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
Leduc, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Our first time at this resort. The resort is on smaller side but lovely, clean and quiet. I must say though if you don't' attend the sales pitch you will not have access to the Grand Mayan side which includes the lazy river. We attended, therefore had full access. Housekeeping was exceptional, clean towels (thick and soft) daily and am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grammy929
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We have been driving down to Puerto Penasco for about seven years. Two years ago the road was so pot holed, we got a flat tire and decide not to come last year. Due to the reports on Trip advisor, we decided to try it out again this year. And the road had been repaired, no issues at all. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patfromer2
Winslow
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We just returned from our 7th trip to the Mayan Palace. I love the beach and golf. We have encountered issues in the past and they were dealt with quickly. This year was horrible. It was one thing after another. It doesn't start well when you come with an owner who is at the "Bliss" level and they treat her...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tedpatewinslow
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are glad you enjoyed the beach and the golf course. It appears as though not all your expectations were met. This will be addressed by the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our...

Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to Puerto Penasco and this particular Grand Mayan Resort. We had a lovely time and would go back. This is a small resort and does not have some of the amenities that their larger resorts have but I prefer smaller and quiet. The beach is lovely and user friendly and the resort has a relation...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maribeth L

647 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (623)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (194)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (133)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
28.0 km away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
706 reviews
30.0 km away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
692 reviews
28.9 km away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
26.6 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#8 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
40 reviews
31.3 km away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 17 in Puerto Penasco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco is an awe-inspiring vacation for guests of all ages. This desert oasis of relaxation and wonder offers a truly unique getaway, with its world-renowned golf course, luxurious outdoor pools, Jacuzzis, fire pits, and stunning surrounding scenery. As soon as you enter The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco, you’ll leave the rest of the world – and all of your cares – behind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mayan Palace

Address: Km. 24 Carretera Puerto Penasco-Caborca | Ejido Miramar, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $134 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Hotel Puerto Penasco
Wyndham Puerto Peñasco
Mayan Palace Penasco
Puerto Peñasco Wyndham
Mayan Resort Puerto Penasco Mexico
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mayan Palace staff and other travellers.
137 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (137)

Questions? Get answers from Mayan Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view up higher!”
nanalee50, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Towers over the older section, Ocean faces rather than laundry and water treatment plant facing.”
patrickp476, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go here!”
joec588, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean views are available when you attend the presentation. Which is a total waste of time”
patfromer2, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“request gulf view, one can hear workers on the other side early in morning”
fibamorado, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5