We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mayan Palace

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mayan Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 646: English reviews
Start your review of Mayan Palace
 Click to rate
Rocklin, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are just finishing a beautiful week at Mayan Palace Puerto Peñasco Mexico. We flew to Phoenix and rented a car and drove the 4 or so hours to Puerto Peñasco Rocky Point. The drive across the border and down to the town was great with no issues. Once we made the turn towards the Mayan Palace we experienced some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pastormholliday
American Fork, Utah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have now visited this resort twice. Once in October 2015 and this last trip in February 2017. I must say that both visits were absolutely wonderful & relaxing. The resort is very safe and tucked away directly on the beach. The grounds are so beautiful & impeccably maintained. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Carlos checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sidboyle
Deming
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived and went to the front desk to check in. The clerk spent 20 minutes on the computer and had us sign a few forms. Instead of being given keys to a room, we had to go to an adjacent desk 'for room assignment.' That's when the NIGHTMARE began! Extreme high pressure to attend a sales presentation! We kept...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank bearhug68jr
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay with us. We are delighted to find out that some our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We are happy as well that you enjoyed our food options and your massage. On the other hand we are disappointed...

Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Grand Mayan in Puerto Penasco. Upon arrival we realized that there was some confusion concerning our reservation need for a handicapped unit with a roll in shower . Julio and Daniella immediately corrected the problem providing for my traveling companion's needs allowing us to enjoy the rest of our week. While...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elliesheesley
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a week here on a time share trade. We are Canadians vacationing in AZ and used this opportunity to drive to Mexico and see the ocean. We needed a wheelchair room. We were promised 2 bed, 2 bath. With kitchen. One bedroom one bathroom with Kitchen. There were two couples in our party . We had to share a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank free2be2015
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay with us. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming as this is what we strive for every day. All the same, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Rest assured...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed 7 days of relaxation, visited the little towns around the area . the maid service was great!!!.Make sure you have pest spray for flies they are ever. The scenery is nice. You will be given a badge on your hand that will indicate what areas that you may be able to go in the Mayan the Grand Mayan, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debra T
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The premise of the Mayan is to get you to spend much more money than you planned to upgrade or buy more weeks so they can fund expansion. If you get past the fact non-owners get to book rooms before owners (we call on the first possible minute available to book 6 months out and get told the resort is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MarquetteCPA
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn our staff’s service was efficient. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever. All the same, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 21 January 2017

So much solitude and beauty! And service! We were well taken care of at this beautiful resort. Just one well-maintained road 90 minutes south of Arizona. So easy to get to. Rooms are clean and have a great view. Also, golf course is immaculate! Ride your bike down to the estuary and go sell collecting on the beach. The entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank thaitinsel
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This property is 40 minutes from Puerto Penasco. Very isolated. There were a lot of problems with the room we had. Very noisy furnace fan. Microwave was broken inside therefore unsafe. We had to ask to,have the floors swept, they were never mopped. The bathroom had a strong odor. Really bad entertainment most nights. Very few guests. On the very...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Pamela N
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful landscaping and grateful for your kind words about our staff´s service, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. However, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to...

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Property - lovely, well kept. Everything within walking distance but half an hour from Puerto Penasco. Other Vidanta properties we've been at are larger and you needed a shuttle to get around. This was better. Golf course - excellent course, nice clubhouse, had an awesome lunch Rooms - clean, good maid service. Bed was the absolute worst we've ever tried...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SlQuilter
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff mentioned, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important...

609 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (585)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (154)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
28.0 km away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
657 reviews
30.1 km away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
668 reviews
28.9 km away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
129 reviews
26.6 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#10 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
38 reviews
31.3 km away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Mayan Palace

Address: | Km. 24 Carretera Penasco-Caborca, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $130 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Hotel Puerto Penasco
Wyndham Puerto Peñasco
Mayan Palace Penasco
Puerto Peñasco Wyndham
Mayan Resort Puerto Penasco Mexico
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mayan Palace staff and other travellers.
128 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (128)

Questions? Get answers from Mayan Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor, no adjoining door.”
 of 5 bubbles bearhug68jr, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles free2be2015, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Half rooms face Sea of Cortez, but it is not that big of a deal. We are generally at the pool or beach during the waking hours.”
 of 5 bubbles MarquetteCPA, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the Sea of Cortez.”
 of 5 bubbles 808pamelan, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view! Otherwise your view will be the desert and estuary.”
 of 5 bubbles SlQuilter, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5