We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Damson Dene Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 105*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 329*
USD 105*
Great Deal
USD 117*
USD 115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,073 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,072: English reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited this hotel recently on a recommendation. We found the room to be very nice, clean and well presented. The staff were polite and as helpful as possible. The bar area and restaurant were dated and in need of redecoration, the flowers were dead! However we must say the the food was wonderful and we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review and comments about our staff. We appreciate your helpful comments on things we can improve as well. Thank you for saying you would visit again, we hope you do!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014

you must visit this hotel for entertainment alone,wayne is a superb front of house ,manager waiter,entertainmet, and the staff are all behind him,rooms spotless had room 9 spa ,four poster ,unfortunately we had to cut our visit short,fab location only 5 min to windemere,but benefit of nice quiet location too,lovely gardens,lovely food cant say enough about it.xxxxx

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weeweegie1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate the 5-star rating for our staff, accommodation and entertainment! I'm hoping we'll see you again soon!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014

me and my partner visited this hotel in august and were very disappointed.the hotel is very dated the bar area was full of dead flies and didn't look like it had been cleaned in a long time.breakfast was a complete joke we were sat at the table for 20mins before we were served a coffee and a further 10mins before...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dasman37
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

This was an unfortunate review to read, especially as the glowing review below this one is from guests who stayed at the same time! It just goes to show the subjective nature of reviews. Although breakfast was busy, we think this reviewer may be stretching it a bit on the time of waiting. We will certainly ensure however that we...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a lovely place to stay for any trip to the Lake District. Very good value also, just £63.20 for a double room per night including Breakfast! The hotel is in a beautiful setting, lovely outside seating area and garden full of colourful flowers and a pond with friendly ducks. The rooms are nice, quite small with quite low...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sge31
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. The photos you posted came out well too! All of the staff appreciate your lovely comments about them, especially Eliza. We are pleased you had such a nice time and hope you'll visit again in the future. Thank you.

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 days as part of our honeymoon. Very clean, quiet and comfortable hotel. Breakfasts were especially good with the added pleasure of the ducks who would appear at the dining room door every morning to be fed toasr by the guests. I can't think of anything negative to stay about the Damson and will certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rab h
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely 5-star review. Thanks for visiting and we're delighted to have hosted you for your special break and certainly hope to welcome you back for that 2nd visit! Thanks again.

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was a special offer directly from the hotel group. It was good value and the food at dinner was good. The breakfasts were OK - I just wish that hotels would resist cooking tons of bacon in the oven. Breakfast was enlivened by a visit from the ducks from the hotel's pond - they have obviously worked out that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ama162606
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. You've pointed out some of our strong points as well as some areas where we can improve, which is always helpful. We have always worked to keep the hotel a great place to visit and will continue to do with helpful reviews like yours. Thanks.

Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The setting was beautiful, staff friendly and food delicious. Our room was a little dated but clean and a very comfortable bed! This was a 2night break, with dinner on the first night, internet offer. Fantastic value for money and we would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steph C
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. We aim to offer good value for money and are pleased you found us to be so. Thanks also for your nice comment about our food as well and for saying you would stay again. We hope you do.

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our recent stay this week August 12 2014. Was a night mare we will never forget. We had booked a family room only to get a double room with camp bed. Bath room had blocked sink with black stuff ouesing out at back. At one in the morning camp bed calapsed, grand son not injured, told manager who them moved...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank eileen p
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that these issues occurred during this guest's stay. There was clearly a mix up on our booking system, which was really the root of the problem. Unfortunately, things got worse not better. It was unfortunate although we were happy to refund the cost of the guest's stay and will certainly learn from this.

Seascale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a disappointment! We picked up a stay on Travelzoo and having known of the Damson Dene for years, thought it would be good to try it. We were very disappointed. The hotel looked as if it needed loving - it needs a great deal of attention. Our rooms were tiny, and there was dirt on the windowsills and even...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank WestLakesMan
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Sometimes as soon as a guest walks on, you know there is going to be a problem. That was the case for this reviewer. It is not that we think ourselves above criticism or anything like that, but if you visit a hotel to seek out its flaws, you are bound to find a few. Nowhere is perfect and we...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a TravelZoo deal for two nights. Very friendly and in a wonderful setting but the room was just adequate and not well maintained, but you get what you pay for I suppose. Ideal spot for using a base to discover some of the Lake District. Meals were good and reasonably well presented, buffet breakfast and all you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and for your review. Your photos came out lovely as well! We appreciate your comments about our food and location as well. We do have a variety of room choices, so we always recommend to ask when booking so to make sure everyone gets what they want. Thanks again.

600 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (452)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
7.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,317 reviews
3.7 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,258 reviews
32.0 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,025 reviews
7.6 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: $123 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I could not complain about the room which I had. The en suite facilities were good - lots ofhot water, plenty of towels.”
223drewg, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only book Suites, the other rooms are too small.”
Argiek, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on ground floor small Avoid Room 25!”
stuartbruce42, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stayed in room 11 overlooking the small lake and garden but be prepared we woke up to ducks sitting on the windowsill”
350KarenT, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on a Groupon trip so were on the ground floor as we were the last time, the rooms we had were 24 and 28, both functional and comfy”
geob442, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 105* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 117
HOTEL.INFOUSD 115
AMOMAUSD 329
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates