We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chandoori Sai Guest House

Goudaguda Village, Goudaguda 765013 India
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (189)
Dining (17)
Room & Suite (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 guest house in Goudaguda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Western standard accommodation (toilets, bathrooms and showers) with American tariff in the heart of tribal Orissa. Listed in the latest edition of Lonely Planet India in "Best places to stay" in Orissa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Goudaguda Village, Goudaguda 765013 India
Chandoori Sai Guest House
130Reviews3Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 123
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elly B wrote a review 22 Feb
Hampshire, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
We have been travelling around India for 3 months and this was the best week of our trip so far. It was like slipping off the side of the hectic world into a calm, peaceful parallel universe. Leon and his staff are absolutely wonderful. Everything is done to the utmost high standards and the needs of the westerner are understood and met. The food is superb, cooked and served with care and pride. The entire place is clean and tidy, full of beautiful things which reflect the identity of the area. We felt entirely cared for during our week at Chandoori Sai and can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take advice from the owner, Leon on all incoming taxi/travel arrangements as it is not easy to find.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Guido wrote a review Dec 2023
Geel, Belgium19 contributions12 helpful votes
If you want to escape the rigors of Indian travel for a couple of days, this is the place to be: there is absolute silence, no Wi-Fi (there is a very weak mobile internet signal), no blowing car horns in the distance, no plastic garbage, large garden, manicured lawn, nice flowers, and beautiful mountain views (in clear weather, that is). Rooms are big and clean, with good shower, fronted by a veranda for a relaxing afternoon tea or cold beer in the evening. Because of complete safety in the confines of the resort, door keys for your room do not exist. There is also solar power, and the tap water is locally sourced and purified at the resort. The friendly tribal girls from the village working in the resort are preparing excellent Indian food, but Western food is also available, which is admittedly sometimes a nice change from the Indian food if you spent already some time in India. The interaction with the girls demonstrates the warmth and curiousness of these lovely people who are not spoiled yet by Western consumption stress. Breakfast and dinner are served at one large table, where you can enjoy the company of all other guests and Leon, the Australian owner, for socializing and listening to, or telling, interesting travel anecdotes. Leon is an excellent host with fascinating stories about his Indian travels of the past and about how the resort came to be. He will also assist you in booking train tickets, or other transportation, and provide local guides to visit the surrounding markets or walks through nearby villages and rice paddies. The price for the accommodation might seem a little but high at first, but it is not, considering the fact that you get breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, and refreshing drinks in between. When your onward journey is by night train, Leon will also prepare a lunch box for you to consume on the train. If you are planning to visit the tribal area of Odisha, this resort is highly recommended to stay at least 3 or 4 days.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Malkia wrote a review Mar 2023
Amsterdam127 contributions92 helpful votes
What a great place!!! Just go there and find out for yourself. Also go for long guided walks in the neighborhood. The lodge can organize this for you. I was lucky to have mister D. as our guide. He also dropped me at the station when leaving and waited with me for the train to make sure that I would be okay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask them in advance to help with your train booking to get there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mznw3 wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom80 contributions58 helpful votes
We arrived in Chandoori Sai after a strenuous few days of sightseeing, and were greeted by Leon and his delightful staff as if we were guests in their home (which we were, in fact). The place is really beautiful in a well-designed, low-key kind of way with gorgeous local artefacts and fabrics showing off the structure and local workmanship with elegance. We had horrible colds and coughs - like everyone else in Odisha, it seemed - and we were able to recover in the warmth and kindness of everyone at Chandoori Sai. Leon’s cooking was just delicious and we were also treated to some lovely lunches cooked by the women who work in the place. Our five nights stay left us wanting more - we were so sorry to leave our new friends and our home from home. We can’t wait to come back and to enjoy the peace and calm of Chandoori Sai. Thank you Leon and all the staff - what an oasis you have created.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LaurensHagens wrote a review Nov 2022
Vught, The Netherlands6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We have been in India many times but staying at the Chandoori Sai Guest House was one of the best and certainly now in our top 3 locations!!! What a great place, beautifully decorated and designed, very comfortable, super atmosphere and the best staff ever (great cooking) We stayed for 3 nights and the owner Leon is a great host and very helpfull in making your stay worthwhile. He knows the area and the local people and can arrange good guides. The Chandoori Sai is highly recommended and I can suggest this place to anybody who wants the best Orissa experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
J S wrote a review Oct 2022
Hyderabad, India8 contributions1 helpful vote
Stumbled on this place while reading a biker's travel blog. Not many Indian tourists visit it and that's a shame. This place is a hidden gem. There's probably nothing like it in a 200 km radius. We were two families and the kids enjoyed the place as much fun as the grown ups. Leon has made sure the place is wonderfully designed. Open courtyard, lawns and great views. The rooms are spacious. Great Indian and Continental food cooked with locally sourced ingredients. No wonder it's tastes heavenly. Experiencing local tribal culture on the walks across nearby farms and villages is a pleasure. Goudaguda is a potters' village and one can watch the entire process and pick up great pieces directly from the potters. There's quiet, peace and starlit skies. There are plenty of books to dive into. Really a great way to get away from bustling cities and experience a different India.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ample parking. Take the suite if possible. It has great views of the hills.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vikastayal81 wrote a review July 2022
16 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1. "Sitting on an easy chair, sipping on a hot cup of coffee or masal chai, gazing at those white and grey clouds touching the lush green hills not very far away from you," such was the magic of the coming monsoons at Chandoori Sai. 2. Our family holidy in the guest house, nestled amongst small green hills all around, the general elrvation itself around three thousand feet, cool breeze, pleasant weather was something that I feel will pull us again to this beautiful homestay. 3. The guest house itself, "Chandoori Sai", named after the huge Chandoori mango tree in the compound, manicured lawn in the garden, flower and fruit bearing trees, all add to the magic of the place. 4. Built by Mr. Leon, whose love for the place and more importantly for the local people reflects in the way he has desiged it. Every little detail has been looked into. A place designed keeping in with the local traditions, yet every modern facility has been incorporated to cater for your comforts. 5. The range of food they can prepare is truly global. We enjoyed each and every meal, gorged on the pizzas, gobbled up everything put on the table, fresh and with so much love by the staff. The Apple pie, a speciality of Mr. Leon was the icing on the cake, each time we had it. 6. The seven days we spent at the guest house flew away even before we realised it. The kids just loved to be at the place, to play in the garden, to listen to Mr. Leon's stories and the food on the table.It was great to experiece the the love and warmth that the Chandoiri Sai team have for their guests. The smiling faces, ever so ready to help you out. 7. Add the local village potter community, the long and short walks and the tribal markets giving a sneek peek into the lives of the simple tribal folks. Do not forget the traditional varities of toddy and other country made drinks prepared by the tribal women who bring it to these weekly markets. The whole atmosphere oozes happiness and calmness by way of its simplicity and unpretentious conduct of the people engaged. 8. We are glad that we decided to visit Chandoori Sai. We look ahead for many more such visits to the place. Thank you Mr. Leon for the immersive experience, for creating such a beautiful place and sharing it with us... Will see you all again soon... Vikas Tayal
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sayak Chakraborty wrote a review Jan 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India359 contributions82 helpful votes
+1
On New Year's Day, at the end of a long 9 hrs drive from Bhubaneswar, when we reached Chandoori Sai in the falling light, we felt that we finally arrived home. Chandoori Sai, is a blend of modern technology in a tribal setting. The rooms are spotless. A vast lawn centers the guest rooms and we whiled away a few hours sitting on the landscaped garden. As we discovered later, more than the stay, it was the whole experience. We spent the nights star spotting and capturing trails. Imagine Roasted Chicken or Apple Pies or Fresh baked pizzas or home made bread, at 3000 ft, in a remote tribal village in Koraput. The next day we went on a picnic to Deomali and Leon provided us a packed lunched. Leon, the man who is the force behind the guesthouse, has even taught the tribals to speak in English with guests. We stayed for 2 nights - but this place deserves atleast 3 nights - and so with that being an excuse, we will return once during the monsoons!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Raghavendra C wrote a review Nov 2021
Visakhapatnam, India29 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
I will categorise this into 3 which I care the most. Ambiance - The place has huge open areas that you can roam freely. The resort has greenary everywhere. The lawns are well maintained and without disturbing the natural wilderness around it. The village style houses and rooms add more rustic feel. The rooms are well ventilated, clean and has 24h hot water. First I thought why there isn't a ceiling fan in my room then I realised that I don't need one. The day time temperatures right after Diwali 2021 are around 25°C and night time 15° - 17°C. Your phone singals will be weak here and there are no TVs or WiFi. Get a book or simply relax/medidate if you are travelling alone or spend time with your loved ones with no distractions. We got a frisbee and a football to keep our kids engaged. My kids loved this place as they got our 100% attention 😂 You can also visit the pottery village, a shiva temple close to the resort. But you can't spend more than an hour strolling around the neighborhood. So pick this place based on your purpose. Food - I cannot generalize this part of my review as the choice of food and taste vary from person to person. We are vegetarians and whatever we were served with were in line with our dietary preferences. The food is tasty, fresh and is a blend of various cuisines. From Pizza to Dal, Cheela to Pasta, Noodles to Apple pie, there is a variety. Two things you need to be watchful of - 1) There aren't too many options like a buffet spread that you typically see in restaurants. But we being the À la carte type, what's served for us (a family of 4 with 2 kids) is more than enough. 2) If your taste pallette lean towards spicy and greezy food this may not be the place for you. I didn't explicitly ask for spicy food or barbeque items so I don't know if they can accommodate these type of requests. I can close the food part with a one liner - we loved what we ate during our stay. Hospitality - I ought to talk about Mr. Leon Mahoney and without that my review stands incomplete. Leon is from Australia and in one word this place is his brainchild. From our conversations, I can easily sense that he put his heart in making this place what it is today and in enabling the local Adivasis to render a 5-star level hospitality. Leon is loves the locals and he seamlessly blended into their culture and respects it. He takes special care of his guests and even a 7-year old can sense it. Last but not the least he has this contagious postive vibes that you will be 'Wow'ed for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Srath wrote a review Oct 2021
Bhubaneswar, India5 contributions3 helpful votes
An unparalleled experience. The host Mr.Leon along with all his team see to all your needs .Loved the place , the atmosphere and everything about it. The nearby Pottery village is an experience by itself.Would love to visit again . All the amenities were better than what we had expected.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Goudaguda area.
LOCATION
IndiaOdishaKoraput DistrictGoudaguda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHANDOORI SAI GUEST HOUSE (AU$64): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Goudaguda, India) - Photos of Guesthouse - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chandoori Sai Guest House
What are some of the property amenities at Chandoori Sai Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Chandoori Sai Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Chandoori Sai Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.