We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Garniche at the Puesdown

    A40 Near Compton Abdale | Cheltenham, Compton Abdale GL54 4DN, England
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (2)
    • Excellent75%
    • Very good18%
    • Average6%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “pork belly” (4 reviews)
    “shop attached” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Wheelchair Access
    All hotel details
    29 Oct.30 Oct.
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (101)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 99 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We stopped off for a late lunch and sat in the garden as it was a lovely day. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and we had a great relaxing lunch. We really love the decor and thecshop has some beautiful items - I...More

    Thank Kitessa
    Response from Paul S, Owner at Garniche at the PuesdownResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for taking the trouble to review our business. Your comments are much appreciated. We're very glad that you like what we do and found something in the shop to take your fancy. Sorry about breakfast, we did try it for a good while...More

    Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

    We were passing through and stopped based on TripAdvisor reviews. Only 4 other people in large restaurant, friendly service and good mushroom soup. The other table said the beef sandwich was delicious. Pleased we stopped

    Thank Marie W
    Response from Paul S, Owner at Garniche at the PuesdownResponded 12 September 2017

    Thank you, glad you enjoyed our home made soup, and that our other guests were equally pleased with their home cooked rare roast beef sandwiches. I hope that you will stop again when passing this way.

    Reviewed 1 September 2017

    We booked for a two nights stay during our last visit in May as part of my 65th birthday celebration during August as we have always thought a quiet weekend with good food was our ideal break and where better than Garnish to do just...More

    Thank pjtravellergloster72
    Response from Paul S, Owner at Garniche at the PuesdownResponded 12 September 2017

    Thank you Paul & Ali for being perfect guests, you were so easy to look after. And so kind that again you have taken the trouble to review your experience. WSe hope you both had a great holiday and will be in touch shortly about...More

    Reviewed 18 August 2017

    We called here for a light lunch and sat in the large garden area at the rear of the property which is really nice. The rare roast beef sandwich with hot horseradish was excellent as was the portion of chips and my wife enjoyed a...More

    Thank charles005
    Response from Paul S, Owner at Garniche at the PuesdownResponded 22 August 2017

    Thank you for tking the time to share your expeience with other trip advisor users. A well thought out review that is constructive is always helpful for people to make informed choices. We certainly hope that you will visit us again.

    Reviewed 6 August 2017

    Clearly things have changed at what was the Puesdown pub of old, the establishment has gone 'up market' and metamorphosed into a bistro type establishment aimed at a certain clientele, which is not necessarily passing trade with grandchildren! The interior is quite Spartan with a...More

    1  Thank Martin B
    Response from Paul S, Owner at Garniche at the PuesdownResponded 23 August 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experience. I am aware that you spoke to my wife about the burgers, but not that you also had an issue with the soup. In terms of the burgers, all our food is consistently cooked...More

    DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
    292 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Charlton Kings
    The Slaughters Country Inn
    1,268 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Lower Slaughter
    Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
    704 reviews
    #10 of 23 hotels in Cheltenham
    Chester House Hotel
    723 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • USD 78 - USD 104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garniche at the Puesdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cotswolds >
    • Compton Abdale
    • Also Known As
    • The Puesdown Hotel Compton Abdale
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (28)
    Bathroom (1)
    The Slaughters Country Inn
    1,268 reviews
    10.49 km away
    Chester House Hotel
    723 reviews
    9.89 km away
    DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
    292 reviews
    11.36 km away
    Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
    704 reviews
    13.92 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Garniche at the Puesdown
    92 reviews
    .02 km away
    The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
    439 reviews
    4.41 km away
    The Frogmill Restaurant
    167 reviews
    5.26 km away
    Seven Tuns
    115 reviews
    5.58 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Chedworth Roman Villa
    651 reviews
    4.29 km away
    Mechanical Music Museum
    262 reviews
    4.65 km away
    Chedworth Farm Shop
    82 reviews
    6.58 km away
    Colesbourne Park
    15 reviews
    7.54 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    1 May 2016|
    Response from Paul S | Property representative |
    Thank you for your enquiry. There is a walk which starts in our car park and goes to the village of Hazelton (no pub there) and our licenced café/restaurant is there waiting when you get back. Alternatively there are other... More
    Room Tips
    "If you're not used to the noise of light traffic, there are earplugs in the bathroom"
    Read review
    "Room three lovely views and massive super king size bed for the best nights sleep ever!!"
    Read review
    "We cannot as we only came for. The dinner."
    Read review
    "There are only 3, they are all good although my friend had room 3 which was larger than mine."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing