We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Horse Inn

PricelineUSD 91*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 101*
USD 91*
Great Deal
USD 101*
USD 101*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 529: English reviews
Start your review of Black Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night just as a break from home. So glad we did from the moment walked in we were met with a warm welcome,we had sandwiches for lunch these were very tasty. The room was lovely. The evening meal was absolutely to die for I had the Parma ham and feta starter followed by pulled lamb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alec d
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are a very welcoming bunch down here at the Black Horse. So glad you enjoyed all you food. We have a great team in the kitchen ....the linguine is my favourite too. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor world.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was lucky enough that my Son & his fiance chose to hold their wedding reception here on Saturday 6th May 2017. What an absolute gem of a place. Food superb, staff amazing, surroundings gorgeous, could not fault the place in any way whatsoever . Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hosting a good party is what we are good at here....years of practice. Chrissie and Callum were a delight from start to finish and it was our pleasure to look after them. The Black Horse is an ideal location for a family orientated wedding (hope the dogs enjoyed their big day). We are lucky to have the rooms and the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as was visiting friends . Our friends joined us for one night and stayed . Amazing place . Lovely rooms with attention to detail . Lovely staff , fantastic food . We will return .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant G
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Mr Gain It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your lovely partner. So glad you had a successful re union with your old colleague and that you managed to explore some of our beautiful county. We look forward to welcoming you back. The Black Horse Team

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very enjoyable 2 night stay at this country inn for our friends birthday. Nice buzz in the bar on Friday evening and lots of locals coming in for take out fish and chip suppers which the inn does every week. Accommodation comfortable everything we needed plus nice breakfasts which set us up for the day. Dinner nicely cooked and presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Collybean
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay very shortly. Thank you for your feedback it really is apprecaited and encourages new customers to book with us on your recommendation

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a delicious meal here recently to celebrate a belated mothers day with family. The food as always was delicious, good portion of Sunday lunch with plenty of veg etc. The décor in the restaurant is cute with bunting and gingham chairs, tastefully done, Moving on to desert (a must) all of our deserts were delicious and well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abb1ehannah
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Our Sunday lunch is a very popular experience. I am a Yorkshire pudding snob and ours really do tick the box. So glad you enjoyed your visit I shall let the Chefs know. As for our décor. There is a plethora of words to describe it and I think it is cute too. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Tyne & Wear
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

The Black Horse Inn is an old country pub with rooms, but is not all dark wood and red carpets as is often the case. It was very tastefully decorated with a modern and light twist. I really loved the decor. On arrival we were met by a chirpy lady who took us to our room, Kauto Star. What a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cugs22
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

What a detailed review. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Dating back to late 16th century the Black Horse has been around for a few years. We definitely are not everyones cup of tea but those who like our décor are delighted with their stay. Glad the baked beans were appreciated...... my Chef giggled at that comment. Please...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We have used the Black Horse regularly for a number of years and unfortunately the overall experience gets worse with time. Whilst the rooms remain quirky, odd and wonderfully 'Alice in wonderland' (superbly comfortable and clean) the food seems to have been in steady decline for the last 2 years. The breakfast is almost always poorly cooked with hard inedible...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback which we totally encourage, however I cannot say I am nothing but mystified by your comments. The Black Horse is very well supported but our regular customers and we are very grateful for this. As you will see by previous customer comments the standard of food we serve continues to delight both our old and...

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We called in to the Black Horse Inn by chance on Good Friday and we're welcomed by the staff with a cheery smile and open arms. I won't tell you what I ordered off the menu, however, it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time, piping hot and cooked to perfection. My wife's meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Happy Easter to you. I trust you had a good one. Fred and Ginger are presently on a sabbatical (voluntary work in Zimbabwe). You will be pleased to know that you are not the only ones who miss them. They keep in touch but are on an open ticket which is slightly worrying! Glad you enjoyed your meal. We have...

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Not much to say about this little gastro pub,,,but,,, if you've never been you're missing out ! A little bit off the beaten track but in my humble yet honest opinion one not to be missed out on. The rooms are quaint and well presented, a little awkward on check in (but maybe thats me) couldnt fault the evening staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barleychaser
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. A little off the beaten track ie 10 minutes from junction 51 on the A1M. Less than 60 minutes drive away from York, Newcastle, Durham, Leeds and Harrogate. We are located in a beautiful sleepy Yorkshire village in a very tranquil location. We get a lot of repeat visitors from people breaking their journey north/south....

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Loved this place. Have been several times for Sunday lunch and decided to try an overnight stay. The room was spacious and well presented. We decided to eat in the very nice bar area as opposed to the restaurant. Food was excellent

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dav1dmorton
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Lovely to receive your feedback. So glad your enjoyed your stay. The menu is the same throughout but we can provide two very different atmosphere depending if you eat in the bar or restaurant. Do come and visit again soon.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
23.6 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
452 reviews
8.0 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
279 reviews
16.7 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
693 reviews
34.6 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
667 reviews
9.9 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Inn is set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham, in the North Yorkshire countryside and benefits from free parking and free Wi-Fi. It also features a Bar, a Garden and a Restaurant. Each of the seven bedrooms have been decorated in neutral colours and boast shabby-chic furniture, a HD Flat-Screen TV and a small refrigerator with fresh orange juice, milk and water. The en suite bathrooms feature either a bath and/or a shower and complimentary H2K toiletries. Some bedrooms benefit from an in-room roll-top bath. Guest can relax in the bar or in the garden and the restaurant serves traditional British pub food, all prepared using regional ingredients. Black Horse Inn is just 10 minutes' drive from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes' drive from Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range: $151 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Limoges France
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great room, loads of space and lovely bathroom ”
dav1dmorton, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The bathroom floor was really slippy as was the flooring around the roll top bath in the room. Otherwise it was pretty much perfect! There are even ladies sanitary products in the room. Everything is thought of!”
kinster, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Shergar for aspect, size”
Sue&Ian, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Shergar (ground floor)”
Pauline267, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms in the annexe are great for those of us with creaky knees!”
Judy160, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 91* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 101
Hotels.comUSD 101
TravelocityUSD 101
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates