Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea

1-5 Samarinda Dr, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183 Australia
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 small hotel in Point Lookout
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head and for travellers visiting Point Lookout, Samarinda is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, board walk and attractions, Samarinda makes it easy to enjoy the best of Point Lookout. All apartments are individually owned and are fully equipped, just bring what you need for your stay. Some of the amenities offered by the complex include pool and barbeque facilities. An added convenience is free undercover parking. If you’re looking for good restaurant, consider a visit to The Whales Way Restaurant & Bar or the Straddie Wood Fired Pizza, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Samarinda. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out the North Gorge Walk (0.1 mi), which is a popular attraction amongst tourists and is within easy walking distance. Samarinda is sure to make your visit to Point Lookout one worth remembering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Beach
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Outdoor pool
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars

Location

1-5 Samarinda Dr, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183 Australia
74Reviews2Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 26
  • 5
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HB333 wrote a review Aug 2022
20 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first visit to North Stradbroke Island, and we were blown away. Samarinda is in the perfect position, close to the amazing gorge walk and the fabulous Blue Room cafe. Everyone we dealt with at Samarinda were delightful, friendly and so helpful. The apartment was very clean but pretty dated, it would be an easy fix to have made it fabulous.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yrica wrote a review Aug 2020
Granada, Spain8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely three night stay at Samarinda. The managers Angela and Barry were very welcoming and helpful (with some great recommendations for nearby coffee and food). The apartment was very clean and pleasant with a view of the main beach surf. Samarinda is a pleasant short walk (5 minutes) to the North Gorge walk, Main Beach and local shops for coffee, gelati and seafood. This stay was with my elderly Mother who managed the walk between Samarinda, lookouts and shops with comfort. Samarinda has proximity and privacy. Don't want to mix for a wine or coffee? Enjoy the view from your balcony. Highly recommend. We will be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela and Barry Stubberfield, General Manager at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to be able to welcome you back again real soon. Stay safe Angela & Barry
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee G wrote a review July 2020
Brisbane, Australia44 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This would have to be the best located accommodation on Straddie near the end of the gorge walk. Situated on the hill behind the surf club, you can watch the surf, dolphins and whales from the large balcony and from the bedrooms and lounge. Excellent views!
We stayed in a 2br apartment - it was spacious & well appointed. 2 bathrooms and the main one newly renovated. Kitchen had a large fridge and all appliances and utensils you need. Easy parking with a few steps up or down to the units. Close proximity to coffee shack, shops, beach and gorge walk.
Wifi was patchy inside the apartment but good coverage from the balcony. Managers were helpful and friendly. Can firmly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela and Barry Stubberfield, General Manager at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 29 July 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Samarinda. We are happy you enjoyed your stay on our beautiful island:) Kind regards Barry & Angie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bagsgettinround wrote a review July 2020
Brisbane, Australia65 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had a 2 night stay at Samarinda and loved every minute, the managers are very welcoming and the apartment was very clean and fully supplied, sometimes you can stay at places and find that the glasses, cutlery etc. there is few supplied, but at Samarinda the kitchen was well stocked. Awesome views from the balcony and bedroom's able to check the surf and watch the whales. The only downside was that we had trouble getting the football on fox and had to listen to Phil Gould:( on channel 9, could have had something to do with the cloud. Would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela and Barry Stubberfield, General Manager at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 29 July 2020
We are happy you enjoyed your stay on beautiful Straddie! Thank you for your review of Samarinda we always welcome your comment’s! fox is now up and running, its always hard getting things sorted on an island. but our fox man came over last week and it is now working great. you might have to come back to watch the footie.. Kind regards Angela & Barry
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
swainballs wrote a review Nov 2020
Redcliffe, Australia5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looked after beautifully by Angela and Barry, nothing was too much trouble.The room we stayed in Unit 11 , has got the views that everybody wants and the sunrises and you woke up in bed to were brilliant. Walking distance to the Gorge Walk, patrolled beaches, surf beaches, cafes..and only a short walk to the pub. even thou the room was a little dated, not uncomfortable and had what you needed, it is starting to tell its age.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: unit 11 on the 2nd floor had fantastic views of the ocean, surf club
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queenslanderrr wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia94 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have visited North Stradbroke Island several times over the last 25 years.

Straddie is one of those surprising island/beach locations within 1.5 hours of a capital city.

If you are after 4 and 5 star, Straddie is not for you.

We have irregularly, stayed at Samarinda and have always found the units clean, suitable , honest and affordable.

The units are spacious, well located with views to main beach from the balcony.

Pool is great when the beaches are not so good. Samarinda is well located to cafes, coffee shops and nature walks.

The management team are experienced and dedicated.

Would recommended, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela and Barr... S, Manager at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Thank you for your favourable review of Samarinda. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon on beautiful Straddie! Kind regards Barry & Angela
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer Marsh wrote a review Oct 2021
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in unit 3 at Samarinda Jewel by the sea, for 3 days and 2 nights. It was beautiful! The apartment was lovely, so colourful with a happy holiday vibe! Everything was clean & the view out over the ocean was gorgeous!
We walked to get breakfast and went on the North Gorge walk, which were an easy walking distance from the apartment.
Angela was great and helped us out in any way possible.
It was a perfect spot for a relaxing, chilled out getaway.
Nancy & Jenny.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Stubberfield, Owner at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 13 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give this lovely review. its always lovely to hear our guest have had a wonderful time, we look forward to your next visit. you were also the perfect guest. Kind regards Angela and Barry.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen J wrote a review June 2023
2 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I stayed at Samarinda in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was such a beautiful unit with comfy beds everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. Couldn’t fault a thing. The views were amazing and the whales really put a show on for us. Angela and Barry were brilliant hosts and made sure we were comfortable and happy. Great place to stay within walking distance to the surf club and restaurants nearby. We will definitely be back 🌸
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela and Barry Stubberfield, General Manager at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 23 June 2023
Thank you for your amazing review. It was our pleasure having you as guest at Samarinda, We look forward to your return. Kind regards Angela & Barry.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jody0411 wrote a review Feb 2013
Brisbane, Australia49 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stay here every year, renting out 3 to 4 apartments for a week in each January. This will be our last year staying here. We used to enjoy staying here but the last couple of years, and this year in particular we notice the place is no longer clean or properly maintained. I have attached photos of our apartment from January 2013. When we first checked in, we had to ask the manager to come and clean the pantry as it was filthy and had rubbish in it. He came and vacuumed unwillingly. The management is also ridiculous, in our group of 3 families we had one couple that was given a 3 bedroom apartment and myself, daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren were given a 2 bedroom apartment (we had booked 3 x 2 bedroom apartments, but they ran out of one), you would think they would have had the common sense to put the larger group in the larger apartment? Anyway, a family tradition is to be no longer sadly as we can no longer justify the price of over $1500 per apartment for such shabby and dirty conditions.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere on the island
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robin B, Manager at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 29 Mar 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on your Stay at Samarinda . All your comments have been noted and the problems have been corrected. Jo and I have been managing Samarinda for 9 years and we work very hard with our owners to try and make sure that the cleanliness and maintenance of the apartments are kept to a high standard and it is disappointing that you did not find it to your satisfaction. We can assure you that we will work very hard to ensure that we maintain the highest of standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert J wrote a review Jan 2017
12 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Samarinda every year for the last 4 years over the New Years week. 8 families stay every year. This was our LAST year. We have stayed in pretty much every apartment and apart from 2 of them, they are sorely lacking in basic amenities. Virtually none have adequate fans so be prepared to be very hot!! The kitchen supplies and furniture are also very basic and often with inadequate kitchen supplies. The final straw however was the care taker Peter. He is best described as a self proclaimed "rule enforcer" he stands guard in the pool before 7:30am and won't allow people into the pool. He aggressively removes you from the BBQ area at 9pm even if you are eating your dinner. They do not fix things when they break. There is no phone service at this establishment but they charge for WiFi (despite advertising free WiFi) which charges your credit card for $40 but then doesn't work and Peter refuses to do anything about it. We stayed at Samarinda for 4 years and spent over $60,000 in accommodation costs between us, the location is fantastic but we will not be returning. If you are one family and don't mind being bullied by the caretaker it is OK but be warned, the apartments are very basic. If you are a group STAY AWAY!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Responded 5 Jan 2017
We were not prepared to rebook this group next year due to their noisy, inconsiderate behaviour on several occasions. On New Years Eve, the writer of the above review was decidedly aggressive when asked politely by the manager to keep the noise down and at 1am to vacate the pool area. It is interesting that now the apartments are lacking in basic amenities, yet it was fine for them all to holiday here for 4 years in a row. We did not hold the apartments for them to re-book for next summer, as we did not wish for them to return. Some members of the group actually came to management after New Years Day and apologised for the poor behaviour of the above reviewer. Samarinda is a family resort and while we are happy people enjoy themselves on nights such as New Years Eve by extending the pool hours, we do not allow poor behaviour of a few to upset the quality of other guests' holidays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YvonneDann asked a question Jan 2019
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions13 helpful votes
Do you have ground floor accommodation or lifts? I have a disability
Point Lookout, Australia3 contributions
Thank you for your enquiry with Samarinda. Unfortunately Samarinda does not have lifts - only stair access. Please note our ground floor apartments do have stair access. Our mid-floor/Oceania apartments have the least amount of stairs(approx 6) however we do have one apartment on this level which has no stairs. We recommend contacting us direct if you would like to book this apartment(subject to availability). Kind Regards Sharon & Peter Turnbull Managers Ph: 07 3409 8785
swainballs wrote a tip Nov 2020
Redcliffe, Australia5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"unit 11 on the 2nd floor had fantastic views of the ocean, surf club"
Read full review
Diana I wrote a tip Nov 2019
Gold Coast20 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"no options"
Read full review
Dolores C wrote a tip Nov 2019
Brisbane, Australia30 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a room with ocean views. Garden rooms are quiet and close to the pool."
Read full review
Seatouner wrote a tip Feb 2018
Wellington, New Zealand64 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are a number of levels so the higher you are the better the views but all the rooms face the ocean."
Read full review
WhartonD97 wrote a tip Feb 2018
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the higher level would get an even better view of Main Beach!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Point Lookout area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$239 - AU$325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionRedland CityNorth Stradbroke IslandPoint Lookout
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAMARINDA JEWEL-BY-THE-SEA (AU$239): 2024 Prices & Reviews (North Stradbroke Island) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea?
Nearby attractions include North Gorge Walk (0.2 km), Dunwich Cemetery (5.7 km), and Myora Springs Conservation Area (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oceanic Gelati & Coffee Bar, The Blue Room, and Straddie Wood Fired Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Samarinda Jewel-by-the-Sea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.