We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marinaterra Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marinaterra Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Marinaterra Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights it was wonderful staying there the only bad thing is that they dont have buffett service at their restaurant and its very expensive to eat there and in the morning all these sales man in the lobby that bug you but everything else is wonderfull we planning on returning to this hotel next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jabaderass
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment Our restaurant have breakfast buffet all day and menu, the meal is delicious and the marina view is wonderful. We will consider your opinion and we hope you see again in San Carlos

Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had a one night stay in this hotel as part of a trip to Mexico's Copper Canyon. We all wished that we could have stayed longer. We had a very nice room with 2 large beds and a marvellous terrace with views to die for! It was very clean but had a rather fusty smell. We had a meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane C
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank your for your comment We appreciate your opinion, We hope you see again. Best regards!

Boston
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed one night in January...cost 940 pesos. Room was on the 6th floor street side & had a balcony with a far view of the ocean...checked out the bay side rooms & not worth the extra $. Room was clean & bed was very good for Mx. Make sure to ask for the TV remote & a heater if it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendytravels L
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank your for your comment, we appreciate it. We want give you an answer and to inform future clients, about your experiencie at Marinaterra. We have 112 rooms and only half have marina view and the other side have boulevard view and several rooms have a special a far view of the ocean, the difference in price between these view...

Encinitas, California
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Marinaterra. We were driving to the USA from Zijuatanejo and stopped in San Carlos for a night. I was having a lot of back problems and I was extremely pleased with the comfort of the bed, the high quality bedding - although, I always bring my own pillow - no one could please...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank looski
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment We are very grateful with you for your opinion about our hotel in San Carlos. Our hotel is being remodeled to provide better service. We hope you see again Best regards!

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Enjoy Resort like living with nice views of the bay. Pool, small exercise room and spa on facility. Also many small shops next to the bay. Hotel also has a nice restaurant, your package may have welcome drinks and meals included. Simple password protected WiFi in rooms. Room fixtures, refrigerator are ok not spanking new. Sea of Cortez tour start...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R K
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment The facilities in Marinaterra are for that your and your family have a great stay. We have spa, gym, restaurant, beach club, bar, pool bar, and more. And we hope see you again Best regards

chicago, IL
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Room is suite, spacous, good view. However, the floor is not so clean. Bathroom is very small, the shower is terrible because the water had difficult to drain out. The dinner food and Breakfast buffer were nice, but lunch had a long waiting and too much flies around. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judychicago
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment We appreciate this opinion; our rooms are very comfortables, the view to the marina is beautiful, we have the best location in San Carlos and we invite you to visit our hotel in another time and see a change in the things that for you were a little bad. We hope you see again Best...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 28 September 2012

If you've never visited San Carlos you should know that it is not a resort on the scale of, for example, Cancun Mexico. Having said this, the hotel reflects the ambiance of the community--not glitzy or humming with activity--but comfortable and laid back. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly, but there are a few disappointments. There are no refrigerators...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 40LVE
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment Marinaterra is a special hotel in San Carlos, the marina view and in front the tetakawi hill. We have several rooms; boulevard view, marina view, junior suite and master suite, each room is different and not all have a refrigerator but you can to choice that you need for stay with us, with different rate...

Victorville, California
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Room was nice&clean comfy beds, beautiful view from pool,to marina a/c worked excellent but no refrigerator stove top didnt work in rm.313 no microwave&lobby needs remodeling @ check-in, staff was friendly& very courteous.but the most annoying people their staff at the pool area ughhh the prices on our drinks were changing from one day to the next was disappointed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lourdes r
Marinaterra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment Our hotel is the best option in San Carlos, rooms and facilities are always updating We have several rooms, with different facilities, when the guest want to make a reservation, we offer different rooms, we ask if they require kitchenette or not, and the guest decides what´s best for itself. We hope to see you...

Minnesota
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were planning to stay at the San Carlos Plaza, but after reading the poor reviews on tripadivsor, we decided to stay at the Marinterra hotel in San Carlos for a week in July 2012. We were very pleased. The hotel staff and the front desk is very courteous and friendly. No mosquitoes, bed was comfortable and the Air-Conditioner ran...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nearmsp
Marinaterra, Guest Relations Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you! This is a good comment for us, because is important to know your opinion about our hotel. Our rooms are completely renewed!!! and our view is the best in San Carlos We will consider your opinion and hope you see again Best regards!

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We went to San Carlos to scuba dive. We stayed at Marinaterra & I booked the junior suite. It was WONDERFUL! The bed was comfy, the 2 couches were like futons, so comfy for sleeping as well, 2 air conditioners so we were cool. Location was perfect - 3 min. walk to the marina to dive and a gorgeous view....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Renee S
Management response:

Thank your for your comment You were in a Junior Suite, this room have 1 king bed with kitchen and marina view, is a special room and very comfortable. Marinaterra have a special view to the tetakawi hill and marina. We hope you see again Best regards!

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
4.5 km away
San Carlos Plaza Hotel Resort & Convention Center
1.3 km away
Los Jitos Hotel
Los Jitos Hotel
#5 of 5 in San Carlos
21 reviews
10.4 km away
Hotel Playa de Cortes
Hotel Playa de Cortes
#2 of 7 in Guaymas
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Guaymas
15.3 km away
Hotel Armida
Hotel Armida
#3 of 7 in Guaymas
56 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#15 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marinaterra Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of San Carlos, adjacent to Mexico’s largest natural marina and in front of TETAKAWI hill. Both the marina and Tetakawi hill gives us majestic views and stunning sunsets. We are 15 minutes from Guaymas Airport and a short 20-minute drive from Guaymas. San Carlos is 1 hour from Hermosillo, Sonora’s capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marinaterra Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Gabriel Estrada s/n | Sector La Herradura, San Carlos 85506, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > San Carlos
Price Range: $94 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marinaterra Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marinaterra Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marinaterra Hotel San Carlos
Marinaterra Hotel And Spa
Marinaterra Hotel Beach
Marinaterra Resort Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marinaterra Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Valle de Bravo, Mexico
4 months ago
Tucson, Arizona
1 month ago
Kamiah, Idaho
2 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Marinaterra Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the marina.”
NotAfraid2BeHonest, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a view of the harbor or the sea.”
travelbug19902016, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask a lot of questions when making a reservation.”
GeorgeR136, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book one of the refurbished/renovated family rooms with views of the marina.”
  • View of the marina from our balcony.
trvlbufElmhurst, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room that face the marina.”
josch1122, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5