Ulpotha
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ulpotha

new friends
Traveller (276)
Fresh, organic veggies food served every meal
Dining (30)
Twin-sharing hut
Room & Suite (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 resort in Ulpotha Village
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
"One of the world's best yoga retreats" according to The Guardian, Ulpotha is a beautiful private eco-hideaway open to guests for part of the year; a place of total peace, where you can experience the warm, generous and gentle hospitality Sri Lankans love to offer. This oasis of tranquility is a traditional working village cradled on one side by low mountains and a lotus ringed lake, and on the other by emerald green paddy fields. World renowned for its elegant barefoot luxury and sustainable chic, Ulpotha offers fun-filled two week yoga retreats with top international teachers throughout its winter and summer seasons. Complemented with traditional Ayurveda treatments, off-grid relaxation, free massages with outstanding visiting therapists, forest walks, boating, swimming, cycling, exploring, excursions to Sri Lanka's splendid cultural heritage sites, your stay at Ulpotha can be a life-changing experience. Just read the reviews!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Lazy river
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Hiking
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Patio
Walking tours
Taxi service
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Room types
Mountain view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Ulpotha Village 21100 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Sigiriya Air Force Base Airport
39.2 km
See all flights
Polgolla Reservoir Airport
71.6 km
See all flights
340Reviews4Q+A66Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 322
  • 11
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Karla S wrote a review Feb 2020
Rio de Janeiro, RJ2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ulpotha is a magical place in the middle of Sri Lankan jungle. I highly recommend it to anyone who like to be close to nature, who enjoys practicing yoga and want a bit of a quiet time. You will see the transformation inside! A Susi, the host, is amazing! Don´t even think about going, just go!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathrine Hovmand wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My two kids and I had the most amazing holidays at Ulpotha. The staff and the whole atmosphere is so loving and generous.

Not being able to use the internet is an amazing experience - The kids loved it - they were free to do what ever they wanted to do - no computer or phone "dragging" them.
Books and speaking english with new people (we are from Denmark) suddenly became fun.
The feeling of really having time to other people and yourself are something we take with us home.

We can definitely recomend this wunderfull place :)

THANK YOU!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rory S wrote a review Feb 2020
Ibiza, Spain3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have to say, I have never looked forward to being there as much as this visit, when the need for genuinely regenerative days was so needed. Thank you all so so much for creating and continuing to host such a truly remarkable place. It really is so special and, as the world lurches from one grizzly crisis to the next, the values and qualities of Ulpotha become ever more sacrosanct. What a blessing to know that such a place even exists!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cdongart wrote a review Mar 2024
Hellerup, Denmark4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second time in Ulpotha and it was just as wonderfull as the first time.
The place is magic, the people the sweetest, yoga the best and the food just wow.
I stayed in triple hut and that was great with own bathroom and view over the hills.

I can wait until next year when I will go back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harry B wrote a review Jan 2013
34 contributions92 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a colossal disappointment.
We'd read the rave reviews about Ulpotha in Condé Nast and various "best yoga retreat" books.
But I'm afraid they must have been written a long time ago. Perhaps when there was someone competent running the place.

Don't get me wrong: if you were spending $50 per night, Ulpotha would be a lovely, simple, no-frills yoga retreat experience in a charming location.
The trouble is, they charge over $400 per room per night - the sort of rate where you expect, er, a little more. Especially in Asia where staff are practically free.

We were picked up from Colombo 10 hours later than agreed, because there had been flooding on the roads. We drove four hours honking our way through slow traffic in a clapped-out minibus, with ants crawling around the floor and a driver who spoke no English. (The transfer was $120 extra, of course.)

We arrived in the dark, walked down a muddy, rain-sodden path, and were met by S., a rather spaced-out lady who "runs" Ulpotha.
But no, she doesn't really "run" anything. She's the sister of one of the owners, and she treats Ulpotha as her private holiday retreat. The guests are frankly a bit of a nuisance. She lives in Paris half the year, and Ulpotha the other half. And Paris seems to have rubbed off on her. So whenever a guest asks her something, she sighs and shrugs and comes up with a reason why that's not possible. Then, when pressed, says, "well, I suppose I can see if I can arrange something".
She took us to our hut. About a quarter of a mile along dark muddy paths with confusing turns. No, there's no loo in the hut - you have to find your way back along the dark path about 100 yards, turn left at the bush and right after the tree, and you'll reach a basic loo with only cold water and a piece of pink soap the size of a broad bean. Or turn left at the tree and round the corner to have a cold shower by a rock. Just try not to tread on a snake or a bee or a scorpion. "You did bring torches didn't you?" (don't be silly, at a mere $400 per night, Ulpotha couldn't possibly provide torches...)

S. showed us our room. Made of mud and thatch, it's open to the elements - charming on a warm day, but less so in driving rain, and with no doors or windows, there's certainly no privacy.
You get a couple of oil lamps that stink of, er, oil. A cupboard, also made of mud - a nest of insects was busy creating a new home in mine... "Be careful", S., says, "the ants might eat your clothes." Thank you. There are some cheap incense sticks that smell of Glade, to take away the smell of the oil lamps. The sounds of the jungle are lovely, but there isn't a view at all - or anywhere to sit and write, for example. Just two beds and a couple of cushions looking out at a damp bush. Extra damp because in the middle of the night, there's no way any guests are going to go 200 yards down wet, muddy, dark paths in search of the loo - no, of course we all pee in the nearest tree and hope a snake doesn't take a swipe at our private parts.

Don't get me wrong: I quite enjoy a no-frills holiday. I worked in the rainforest for months at a time, living in very similar basic conditions. The difference was, I was paying nothing there. Ulpotha charge more than the Taj...

I won't bore you with every last detail.
But to summarise:
The good things:
- The food is vegetarian and local and tasty (though it's basically the same every day: perhaps find a more interesting pudding than a slice of pineapple once in a while?)
- The area is beautiful: a large man-made lake, surrounded by rocky hills, from which, when you climb up them, you can see for miles of untouched landscape. But sadly none of the huts look at the lake. (Except one, that you can row out to. We later learned that it's possible to spend a night there. Thanks for telling us, S...)
- The butterflies, the birds, the fish, the sunrises.
- The masseurs. There were two. They were both exceptional. You get one free session per week.

Some less good things:
- The yoga: we were hoping that by flying to Sri Lanka, near the founding home of yoga, there would be a local instructor. But no, we had a sweet couple from Clapham who did a class a bit more basic than the one at my London gym.
- The Ayurvedic "treatments" - the "doctor" appears to recite exactly the same diagnosis to everyone, after a cursory stroke of their wrist.
- The weather: it rained every day (we were there in December, supposedly dry season)
- The "gardens": the main part of Ulpotha near the swamp is a dark swamp. Perhaps they're used as paddy fields at other times of year, but when we were there it looked like a chemical waste dump - square pits with muddy water at the bottom; the paths are built on walls of sandy mud around the pits. They clearly make no effort whatsoever to make it look pretty - perhaps that would upset the natural balance too much.
- The complete lack of information. S. the manager is so useless and unhelpful that you're expected to divine everything. They don't even give you a map.
- The laundry: it took forever, and came back dirtier than when we sent it off. Honestly.
- The cliquiness: because you're thrown together with 20 people (our group were a sweet mix of mostly South Londoners in their 30s and 40s), you spend your entire time answering the same questions - how long you're here, how much yoga do you do back home, how are you finding the food, have you climbed up to the monastery yet, where are you travelling next...)
- The damp. Everything gets damp. Damp clothes. Damp towels. Damp beds. damp skin. Damp squib.
- The party: it's a yoga retreat - sure, the traditional drummers were lovely. But we really didn't come here to drink beer and Arrack and dance to Britney and M.C. Hammer until 4am. So we didn't. But we did have to endure the music pumping all night from our hut (no doors). And everyone complaining about their hangovers the next day. yawn.

Actually, the party was the final straw.
We decided to leave. After three nights. We couldn't bear to stay another hour in this hell-hole.
Ulpotha make you pay up-front (now I know why), so we ended up spending over $1000 per night for the nights we were there. Ouch.

But first we needed to find S. The person "in charge". No sign of her at 7am yoga. Or at 9am breakfast. We wandered through the house (the house is charming, but you always feel like you're intruding on the owners). Still no sign. At 10.30 we decided this was getting silly, so we went to her hut. It just happened to be the loveliest hut of all - with glorious uninterrupted views across paddy fields. S. was snoring loudly. We coughed. We knocked. In the end we had to yell. "Sorry to wake you, but we'd like to leave today - is there someone else on duty we should be asking for help?" - "Sorry, it is me who's on duty. But I was up till 4am."

Really, but have you ever heard of a place that charges $400 per room per night, where the manager says "sod the guests, I'm hungover, I think I'll sleep a bit longer"?
And that pretty much sums up Ulpotha. You fit into our routine - this is how we do things here - you were dumb enough to give us your money in advance, now you'd better grin and bear it... Breathe... If you're not enjoying it it's not our fault.

There's no concept of service here. No "what could we do to make your stay more enjoyable?" Let's think: if I were running a $400/night establishment, I might say "it's raining: let's send umbrellas round to people's huts so they don't get wet?" - naah, at Ulpotha you just get wet. Or I might ask "Would you like a wake up call before morning yoga?". Naah, at Ulpotha you have to use your traditional iPhone (even though there's nowhere to plug it in). Or I might think - "after their 4 hour much-delayed hellish journey, let's get them a hot towel and a refreshing juice to make them feel welcome". Naah, at Ulpotha you can make yourself a cup of tea from the pot, mind your head, and if you wait until supper in 2 hours' time you can help yourself to juice then. What do you think we are, a hotel?!

Ulpotha could be utopia if they made a little effort. But they're resting on their yoga mats. The place reeks of smugness, disdain and terminal decay.
Don't waste your money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alankuda, Owner at Ulpotha
Responded 13 Jan 2013
Dear Harry, Though it made for trying reading, I thank you for the trouble you’ve taken to write the review you have. As an owner of Ulpotha, my first reaction upon seeing your name was regret that you did not bring any of your issues to my attention. I remember meeting you and chatting with you and taking away a most favourable impression. It’s a shame you gave up on Ulpotha after less that 36 hours of being there (and sorry to hear that you felt you were intruding on us by being in the house, when I can assure that it’s nothing other than a pleasure to share it with our guests). Secondly, in the context of your comment about Conde Nast, I would like to bring to your attention the most recent Ulpotha press coverage, written for The Huffington Post by a journalist who visited Ulpotha after your stay: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/karin-badt/yoga-retreat-sri-lankan-jungle_b_2400352.html. I hope this can put to rest the notion that we are ‘resting on [our] yoga mats’ or being complacent and indicate instead that your unfortunate experience appears very much the exception to the rule. It might also be interesting to know we do not have anyone carrying out PR for Ulpotha - the press coverage we get comes our way simply because people have heard about it and want to write about it. I am afraid your review is too long and too detailed – and in some places a little too personal – to go into point by point. However I will deal with what I see as over-arching issues relating to Ulpotha and your experience: the cost of staying at Ulpotha, the length and timing of your stay and the management and ethos of Ulpotha. With regards to the costs, I am afraid it is misleading to cite a room rate, as we do not charge such a rate. Instead we use a per-person per-day rate and this works out to $192.85. I would like to point out that this includes taxes, all meals, snacks, drinks, two yoga classes a day, a full day excursion per week’s stay, a one hour massage per week’s stay and the use of the sauna, steam bath and hot water bathing area - and of course accommodation. It’s worth mentioning, when talking about costs, that the monies paid by visiting guests during the six months Ulpotha is open goes towards running the village and supporting the villagers in and around Ulpotha, including a free Ayurveda clinic, for the entire year (the clinic has treated over 9,000 patients and has had over 30,000 visits). Ulpotha is not a profit-seeking venture; it is instead an exercise in co-operative, cross-cultural living through sharing of resources. There is a good reason why we maintain a minimum stay of one week but recommend two. Ulpotha is a place that some connect with instantly while others can take longer. But, by and large, more or less everyone gets it within three days. Once gotten, the experience is generally a special one. In your case, it is regrettable that you left as soon as you did, especially in light of the fact you arrived in the middle of the second week of the stay of the majority of the other guests there at the time. What might have felt at first blush as cliquiness was more to do with the fact that everyone else had come to know each other more than you felt you knew them. As for their conversation, I suppose conversations, however humorous, deep or enchanting they might end up becoming, have to politely start somewhere. I was around when I saw you bid farewell to the other guests, who I thought responded to you with an inclusive friendliness (though it didn’t click with me at the time that you were leaving early and disappointed). I think you’d agree with me that there was a lot of laughter, banter and a general sense of happiness among those guests. It’s unfortunate that, though you were sharing the same setting, the same care and hospitality, the same accommodation, the same company and the same weather conditions, the results were so different. Coming to the weather, what can I say? I am awfully sorry it was so wet and damp. In all honesty extended periods of bad weather can play havoc in a place like Ulpotha, designed as it is to be open and one with nature. Having said that, it is worth pointing out that the rain was exceptional in its persistence - such weather has not been experienced in ages - resulting in a national crisis involving 46 deaths and 300,000 people left homeless (the floods in some areas were worse than the last bad ones in 1957 and the reason why you couldn’t come directly to Ulpotha). It might be a small consolation and scarcely believable to you, but Ulpotha does happen to be located in Sri Lanka’s Dry Zone. You’re right about Ulpotha not being run as a hotel. It is a naturally beautiful place that is available to be shared with the wonderful people who happen to live there and who effectively are all our hosts. They are neither ‘staff,’ nor are they ‘practically free’ as you suggest. Ulpotha is in fact run and managed by a committee of villagers and they strive to do the best they can – and their best is quite exceptional in a unique way. Their approach is driven by generosity and gracious hospitality. This is why there is no tipping in Ulpotha. It would be out of place and its absence is an indication that money is not the focal point here. As for Suzi, who so kindly helps us out by being the bridge between the villagers and our guests on a day-to-day basis, she is by wide acclaim attentive, caring and gracious to a fault. Again, as with Ulpotha in general, I am afraid I have to conclude that yours has been a puzzlingly exceptional and unfortunate experience. Finally, thank you for the nice things you did have to say – about the food, the scenery, the varied and beautiful fauna and flora and the visiting therapists. Thank you too for the point about the torches - we had avoided having our own due to the problem of battery disposal. However, since we can get around this by having wind-up ones, we will have a stock of these handy to lend to those who don’t bring their own as recommended. I wish you better luck when you next go on holiday and all the best in 2013, Viren Perera
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brett K wrote a review May 2008
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico39 contributions78 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Okay, so I'm an American and I'm spoiled.
Not many Americans go to Ulpotha--or Sri Lanka, for that matter...I was the only one during my week--and the only complainer.
Let me start: no hot water, no electricity, bathroom in a separate (pitch dark) hut at a distance in the jungle, "hut" with a pitch dark cove for clothing--making it impossible to find anything.
Food abundant but monotonous in the extreme--all vegan and all served at a tepid temperature--no alcohol.
Good yoga and interesting people (mostly female) who seemed to feel they were in Paradise. My paradise has hot water and light.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cristel C wrote a review Sept 2012
Zagreb, Croatia8 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was ready to stay ages, I was in an adventurous spirit but reality struck me and made me change my mind.
Tha place is gorgeous and the staff very friendly, the vegan organic food is incredible and the other guests are very interesting people. However it was hard to stay in these huts with no walls, the bathrooms were not too close so a night pee was out of the question. The humidity made everything always wet.
The animals are another problem, we had a large mouse (who we named Ludwig) crawling on the beams above our beds. I had to keep shaking my clothes every time I wanted to put a t shirt on for fear that bugs or mice had crawled into my suitcase.
What really made me leave was a hanging snake on the hut's low roof, that almost touched me upon entering my place.
Other than that, the yoga is great and so are the other treatments and massages they offer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ulpotha1, Propriétaire at Ulpotha
Responded 1 Oct 2012
Dear Francesca, Thank you for your review, which was generous in all the things you cited positively about Ulpotha - from how gorgeous you found the place to be to how much you enjoyed the staff, the food, the yoga, the treatments and the other guests. . It's unfortunate that you encountered so many creepy crawlies and had rainy weather during your visit. It is not unusual to encounter a myriad of animal species in Ulpotha, mostly benign, during one's stay - though it's more the case of beautiful birds and butterflies and mischievous monkeys that one usually encounters. However I can understand that nature being as close and immediate as it is in Ulpotha has not been to your taste. This is perhaps a good opportunity for us, as management, to reiterate that Ulpotha is not for everyone. However those who are inclined to accept nature at its purest and most open will find a welcoming spirit - both of a human and animal kind. I wish you all the best and thank you for having come to Ulpotha and for having taken the time to write about your experience - I'm sorry your visit didn't have an happier outcome. Kind regards, Viren Perera
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lawrence7777 wrote a review Apr 2015
Zurich, Switzerland9 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my third visit to Ulpotha having visited previously in 2006 and 2007 - Things remain unchanged in a really positive way - 14 days, 17 massages, 38 hours of yoga, 42 vegetarian meals and 12 days of Ayurveda my extreme stress had melted, dropped 6.5 kg, reduced 20 points of blood pressure and seem to have cured the obstructive sleep apnoea that has plagued me for a few years. a fantastic place to get better (without really trying).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
londongirl44 wrote a review Feb 2015
London48 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Ulpotha is set in a lovely spot seemingly in the middle of nowhere. It is true outdoor living which is so peaceful and relaxing. Suzie and the team are very helpful and warm and the food is amazing (even for a non vegan!)

However as it bills itself as a "yoga retreat" I do have some issues.

I would not classify it as a yoga retreat, more a hotel with yoga. It all depends on expectations of course, but to me a yoga retreat should have meditation, spiritual guidance, silent days, discussions....

Ulpotha offers two times a day yoga, but really none of the above. I would think the time here really depends on what teacher is in residence at the time, and is in part my fault for not researching heavily the teachers. I found the one in residence at my time very cold and not spiritual at all...not even one 'om' on a weeks yoga retreat!! There was too much ego for me.

Also having to bring your own mat is silly...given the prices charged there should be good quality mats available.

Also there were a lot of children around when I was there - so great for families but perhaps not what I had expected.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ulpotha1, Owner at Ulpotha
Responded 24 Feb 2015
Dear londongirl44, Thank you for the kind words about Ulpotha and sorry we didn't meet all your expectations on the yoga and spiritual side of things. It's important in the context of your comments to note that Ulpotha was not created to be a yoga centre to begin with. It was a serendipitous outcome of an exercise in playful creativity with the overriding theme being traditional lifestyle and organic, bio-diverse farming. Yoga came later when we were looking at ways of making Ulpotha financially self-sustaining. It was a good fit because Ulpotha lends itself nicely as a place in which to practice yoga – as well as a place in which to connect with nature and reconnect with one’s self. The latter being important since Yoga is meant as a means of connecting mind and body among other things. By broad consensus, Ulpotha has become a highly rated and welcoming Yoga centre. As for the what's offered, there are times, depending on the teacher, when there might be meditation, more intensive Yoga as well as silent walks. But this depends on the teacher and on the guests present at the time. In the case of the particular (very playful) yoga teacher you had on your holiday, he strongly believes in the idea that understanding one’s ego and then neither denying nor embracing it but accepting it for what it is is central to one’s own self-realisation. His Yoga teaching is based on this and in fact he gave a very good talk on this subject in one of his yoga classes - unfortunately after you left. We are sorry that his message didn't resonate with you. In the end, Ulpotha is a place to come and relax and practice Yoga, rather than being an intensive Yoga centre - though it has much to offer that is spiritual. Having said that, all of our teachers are highly experienced and able to freely discuss and adapt to the needs of our guests, no matter what their level of practice. It’s not clear in your case whether you voiced a desire for some of the things you mention and were ignored or whether you kept the disappointment of your un-met expectations to yourself. If it’s a case of the former, we unreservedly apologise. As for the Yoga mats, we do struggle to find ones of high enough quality in the country, though we buy the best available – hence our recommendation to bring one’s own to avoid disappointment with ours. However, it’s a point well taken and we will continue to look for ones of a standard good enough so that we can feel comfortable offering our own to visiting guests. Thanks for coming. Viren
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mahitab w wrote a review Oct 2015
3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a wonderful time in Ulpotha with my two young boys aged 7 and 5. Our experience was surreal. The place, food, yoga, treatments and hospitality was way more than what I had expected. It was a great time for me and my boys to unplug and bond together. I highly recommend Ulpotha to anyone wanting to disconnect from the busyness of the fast paced life including children.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ulpotha1, Guest Relations Manager at Ulpotha
Responded 29 Jan 2016
Thank you for your very kind words. So glad you and your boys enjoyed Ulpotha, hope you managed to take home some of its magic. Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future. Till then, Be happy, be well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Giles S
Rajagiriya, Sri Lanka44 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi there, Thank you for your inquiry about holidays at Ulpotha in Sri Lanka, via Trip Advisor. Please note that our retreats run from Sunday to Sunday, therefore, to best benefit from the Yoga foundation teachings, it would be best for you to arrive, on Sunday 1 January rather than on the 2nd (1-8 Jan.). If this is not possible, or if you prefer other dates, please let me know. For more information, with our calendar of holidays, our Ayurveda programs and the cost, you may like to visit our "Rates & Dates" page on our website. Frequently Asked Questions Please feel free to visit our website where you will find most of the answers to your questions. If after reading this FAQ page some information is still unclear to you, please feel free to get back to me. I will be happy to answer any questions that you may have, the very best way possible. AYURVEDA Re-the Ayurveda, as per today, I'm afraid that our little clinic has now reached its maximum capacity during this period, therefore, I'm afraid that we won't be able to offer you some treatments, but I will you on a waiting list, for the moment in case our Doctor Srilal can fit you whiles at Ulpotha. I'm really sorry for the inconvenience. Because our programmes are short by Ayurveda standards (anything less than three weeks is ‘short’), we do the basic preparatory, inhalation and purgation treatments which involves oil application to the body, herbal baths, steam baths, saunas, inhalation, rice milk packs and facials; in short, you’ll feel pampered. The programmes are a great detox and, combined with the yoga and Ulpotha’s delicious food, leave one feeling very relaxed, toned and cleansed. Please keep in mind that short treatments, which are essentially preparatory in nature, are similar regardless of your dosha type. Dr. Srilal leaves a couple of days for the guests to acclimatise, before starting a treatment. Therefore, with a 1 week stay, you can have a 5 day Ashinsanaya (Benediction) Ayurveda package at USD-$300. YOGA We have guests coming with all different levels, some are beginners. Our retreat has a capacity of 20 guests when full, which allows the yoga teacher to pay special attention to the guests so all can enjoy and follow the class at their own rhythm. Our yoga classes begin in the evening of the first Sunday of a retreat and end with the evening class on the final Saturday of the retreat, leaving you time to pack before departure on the Sunday at 10:30 am. There is no Yoga, on the afternoon of the 1/2 day excursion trip (week one of the retreat), nor on the day of the excursion trip during week two. I’m happy to confirm that we still have one very last space for a 1 week holiday, from the 1 to the 8 January 2017, for one person. * As this is our very last spot left, with still too many demands for the offer, to avoid any disappointment, I suggest that your reconfirm your dates and secure your booking, with me, within 24hours! IMPORTANT If your arrival flight is prior to your starting date at Ulpotha or late at night (close to midnight or thereabout or in the very early hours of the morning), we kindly request you to check into a hotel close to the airport and we will have you picked up after your breakfast (9 -9.30 am), and bring you to Ulpotha in time for lunch. In such a case, please inform us of your hotel details once you have made the booking. So the best way to proceed is for you to book a flight that lands on Sunday morning, in the Colombo Bandaranaike International airport, also known as the Kutayanake airport (3 hours drive from Ulpotha). COST The cost for a 1 week holiday during High Peak, from the 1 to the 8 January is USD-$1,750/per person. *(with a 5 day Ashinsanaya (Benediction) Ayurveda package at USD-$300, the total cost is USD-$1,770/per person). INCLUDED & EXCLUDED Included in the cost are: · accommodation on a shared basis · all meals, snacks, drinks · two Yoga classes a day (except on arrival – evening class only, departure and excursion days · a one-on-one consultation with our resident Ayurveda doctor · an excursion once a week (1/2 day excursion during Week 1 + a full day during the Week 2) · a one-hour massage per 7 nights' stay · laundry service · the use of bicycles, hot water bathing area · taxes Since gracious and priceless hospitality is what Ulpotha offers, tipping is not accepted and there are no additional service charges. Not included are: · travel costs to and from Ulpotha, · insurance, · Ayurveda treatments · entrance fees to cultural sites, outside meals . any additional massages guests may wish to book with the respective therapists. These can be arranged with the therapist subject to availability at USD-$80/per hour and paid in cash in USD., Sterling pounds, Euros or in Sri Lanka Rupees to Nirosha in Ulpotha directly. A Typical Day at Ulpotha: 7-7:30: Tea and fruit 8 - 9:45: Yoga 10 - 12:30 Time is yours for massages and Ayurveda treatments, swimming and just relaxing 12:30 - 13:30 Lunch 14:00 - 15:45 Time is yours for massages and Ayurveda treatments, swimming and just relaxing 16:00 Tea & snacks 17:00 - 18:30 Yoga 19:30 - 20:00 Dinner BOOKING INFO: To book please copy and paste the questions below into a reply email and answer them as best you can: 1. Full names of each guest, Male, Female: 2. Date of birth of each guest: 3. Telephone contact details: 4. Passport number: 5. Nationality: 6. Dates of your arrival and departure from Ulpotha: 7. Accommodation Type, for 2 persons booking together and sharing their hut (Double bed OR Twin beds): 8. Whether you want an Ayurveda supplement or not, and if so for how many days: 9. If you have already reserved flights to Sri Lanka or not, and if so give flight details: 10. If you will be already in Sri Lanka and coming to Ulpotha by any other means, what are they and do you need directions? 11. Where did you hear about Ulpotha?: 12. Please inform us, before your arrival at Ulpotha, if you have any medication that you request to be refrigerated: PAYMENT: The easiest way to pay is by bank transfer. If you prefer to pay by credit card please let me know and we will send you a PayPal payment request. Please note that there is a 5% surcharge for payments by credit card. Our bank details are: Bank: HSBC Branch: Kings Road Branch Address: 76-78 King's Road, Chelsea, London, SW3 4TZ. United Kingdom. Account Name: EAST POLE FOUNDATION T/A ULPOTHA USD Current Account #: 73864715 IBAN: GB48MIDL40051573864715 BIC: MIDLGB22 SORT: 400515 Currency: USD Please note that transfers must be made NET of all charges (ie. the transferor needs to pay all charges). Please enter your name clearly in the reference field when making a bank transfer. This is particularly important if your transfer is coming from any person/organisation other than yourself (ie: your company or a third person). On reception of your payment we will send you a confirmation of your booking. DEPOSIT:A 20% non-refundable deposit is required within 7 days to confirm your booking, the full amount is due 8 weeks in advance. For bank transfers you may wish to transfer the complete amount in one go to save on the bank charges. AIRPORT TRANSFERS: We will arrange for a driver to collect you at the Colombo Bandaranaike International airport, also known as the Kutuyanake airport (3H. drive, from us), upon arrival and we will return you to the airport or drop you to your next destination after your stay with us. The cost of a taxi to Ulpotha from the Airport is USD-$100 on a single basis and USD-$115 on a sharing basis (max 2 guests per booking/taxi), each way. Our Check-in time is 12:00 (noon) – Check-out is 10:30 am. YOUR VISA: Please note all tourists arriving in Sri Lanka need to apply online for their entry visas before arrival at their website. The entire process is contained online - you apply for it (please make sure that you enter your personal email address), pay for it and receive confirmation online. You can also get it through travel agents and embassies/consulates. *VERY IMPORTANT: Please make sure that your passport is valid for at least 180 days before your date of entry into Sri Lanka otherwise you will be refused entry into the country. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Many thanks. Looking forward to hearing from you. Have a nice day, Sylvie Ulpotha Ulpotha Watta Embogama Nr Galgamuwa Kurunegala District Sri Lanka Mobile: +94 (0) 773507088 (In Sri Lanka) Skype: UlpothaVillage WhatsApp & Viber (Calls & Sms): +94 (0) 77 3507088 Calls from Europe can be made to the following local UK number +442081233603 and are transferred free of charge to our booking office in Sri Lanka. Please note that Sri Lanka is 5 1/2 hours ahead of GMT.
Answer from Giles S
Rajagiriya, Sri Lanka44 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Stella, Thank you for your inquiry about the holidays at Ulpotha, in Sri Lanka. Stella, please note that children are very welcome to stay with us and they usually enjoy the freedom that Ulpotha offers, but please note that there are no special facilities, for children, or nannies, nor do we cater for them especially. 6 years ol is fine, as long as your son respects the other guests who come to our retreat for a peaceful holiday. Also how far in your pregnancy will you be, and when are you planning to stay, with us? Also, for your info, please note that the closest and best hospital to us is in Colombo, a 4 hour drive, from us. I will send you more information, together, with the cost as soon as you confirm your dates with me. In the meantime, for more information, together, with our calendar of holidays, together, with the programs 2016-17, and the cost, you may like to visit our 'Rates and Dates' page, on our website. I'm happy to confirm that we still have some availability, for a 1 week (USD-$1,470/per adult), or, a 2 week holiday (USD-$2,940/per adult), during our Summer season 2016, from June 12 to August 21, as well as during our Winter season 2016 -17, from November 13 to April 2, for you and your son. Your son will come at 50%. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Many thanks. Looking forward to hearing from you. Have a nice day, Sylvie - Ulpotha
Answer from Giles S
Rajagiriya, Sri Lanka44 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi May, Thank you for your inquiry about holidays at Ulpotha in Sri Lanka, via Tripadvisor. As per my previous message, I have already confirmed to you the availability, for a 2 weeks stay, form March 1 to 15 march 2015. Many thanks. Looking forward to hearing from you. Warm regards, Sylvie Ulpotha
Katja B wrote a tip Feb 2024
Paris, France2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A torch is not an option but a necessity! Also, mosquito repellent is a must! And binoculars for bird lovers, so many of them!"
Read full review
Angie C wrote a tip Jan 2024
Richmond, Virginia6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing vegan food!!!"
Read full review
Rudrani D wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Life is best lived in swimsuits and sarongs in Ulpotha, as this is a warm part of the country and the property itself is very laid-back."
Read full review
d01e0n wrote a tip Mar 2020
London2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are wonderful. I have never slept so well or so charmingly. "
Read full review
Jessica T wrote a tip Mar 2020
Christmas Island, Australia112 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are amazing! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ulpotha Village area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$30 - AU$35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ulpotha hotel embogama, ulpotha spa embogama
LOCATION
Sri LankaNorth Western ProvinceUlpotha Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ULPOTHA (AU$30): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Ulpotha Village, Sri Lanka) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars