We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (163)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (2)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“penthouse room”(4 reviews)
“no elevator”(4 reviews)
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Kitchenette
Business Centre
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
23
21
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
23
21
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenthouse roomno elevatorblackout curtainsthree blocksclean hotelair conditionerbeach towelsfifth avenuetop floorroom was largehot waterrefrigerator
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Caught last ADO bus to Playa del Carmen arriving at 0125 and at our hotel, Hotel Delfin, a few minutes later. Corner of 5th Ave and 6th Street, only three blocks from the bus station. I had called the hotel, from Ft Lauderdale, to tell...More

Thank Ronald L
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This is a very nice old hotel that has been given a 2.8 to 3.5 star rating only because many visitors have been spoiled with in house restaurants & elevators. This hotel doesn't have either so if you can't climb then reserve a room as...More

Thank Bill V
Reviewed 12 February 2017

If you like small hotels as opposed to large resorts then I highly recommend this little gem! Don't let the fact that it is right on 5th Ave worry you. We could hear a bit of music outside but with the A/C and the fan...More

Thank flipwilson1529
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The hotel is in a great location, close to the bus station and the ferry. It's clean, safe and comfortable. It's just off the busy Fifth Avenue so it still can be loud at night (the air conditioner is so quiet it doesn't drown out...More

Thank Nancy B
Response from DanielShore693, Manager at Hotel DelfinResponded 13 November 2016

Thank you Nancy for the thoughtful review.Our normal room don't have balconies but we have 2 penthouse rooms with large ocean view patios They are great for private sunbathing.Hope to see you again

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at Hotel Delfin with my wife and son! The location is perfect! The top two penthouse sweets overlook the ocean and main tourist boardwalk. This hotel is for people who want to experience the local culture and be at the center of...More

Thank Brian B
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
USD 85 - USD 110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 85 - USD 110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (163)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
slt00
29 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DanielShore693 | Property representative |
Wifi is good and free in every room
1
Vote
deedash
9 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Brian B | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately they do not have beach towels, but 15 feet across from the hotel is a nice store that sells beach towels for about $7 U.S. I always buy a towel when i'm there and give it away before I leave!
1
Vote
intrepidkat
7 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Brian B | Reviewed this property |
You can pay for a massage with credit card or cash, however; this hotel does not have spa suites. Just walk 5th avenue and there are spas and massages everywhere.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I would pay to upgrade to a King size room and have a balcony."
Read review
"There are no ground floor rooms, but the staff will help you carry your bags."
Read review
"Room 7 has two double beds and a large bathroom"
Read review
"We were on second floor on street side and there was no noise problem at all. And the room was plenty dark..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing