We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9 Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
31 people are viewing this hotel
Riu.com
USD 238
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
USD 238
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/03/21
Snaptravel
USD 229
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/03/21
Expedia.comUSD 239
Hotels.comUSD 239
StayForLongUSD 230
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (13598)
360
Panoramas (36)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Cancun
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#83 of 244 hotels in Cancun
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Cancun opens all year round and is located right on the beautiful beach of Cancún, in the Corazone area which is the modern hotel zone with American-style shopping center, various restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancún Airport (20 km) and Cancún city (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 569 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 4 outdoor pools. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Asian, Italian specialty restaurants, Steakhouse, and 5 bars.
Read more
Room & Suite (2,484)2,484
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Kids club
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
32Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
4Attractionswithin 0.5 km
12,113Reviews1,821Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6,292
  • 3,427
  • 1,263
  • 594
  • 537
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sadie wrote a review 19 Jan.
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution
I visited Riu Cancun on 01/16/2021. My friend and I were looking for a quick getaway for MLK weekend and we came across this hotel. The day we arrived we checked in and saw that the hotel looks nothing like the pictures. After checking in we were given a room. We got to our room and the room was disgusting. It was dusty and looked like it was not cleaned properly. We opened the fridge and the fridge was disgusting. We immediately went back to the front desk to change our room. We got a different room and although it was not great it was better than the first. Within 2 hours of arrival we were ready to leave the hotel. They did not practice social distancing the food made me sick and the hotel was severely outdated. We decided that we could not stay and tried to check out. The receptionist gave us a hard time throughout the check out process and refused to give us an itemized bill. We were told that we would be refunded for the nights that we didn’t stay, as RIU does not have an early cancellation policy (we searched). We get back home today and get an email saying that we will not get a refund. I will never stay at another RIU again. This has been the worst experience of my life!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Mete wrote a review 16 Jan.
Miami, Florida1 contribution
I have booked 2 top suites for my VIP clients for 3 days and they had a bad experience so I have tried to call the hotel about the issue and wanted to speak to a manager and they said managers don't take calls so they asked me to send an email than I have been disconnected. Next 4 calls I did their line was busy. Than I have reached out to a lady who was nice but when I told her to speak to a manager she said Ola Ola like she can't hear me and again she hung up the phone. It seems like the front staff doesn't want anyone to talk to a manager. Anyway I have called late hours again and the gentleman at the front desk with a very poor English told me he can't talk right now and he hung up. He didn't even listen the problem. After total 12 international calls in one day I couldn't talk to anyone about the issue and more sadly no one bothered to ask what was the issue or asked for assistance. Also the wi-fi supposed to be free and when my client checked in he couldn't figure out how to connect wifi so asked for help at the front desk so they took the phone and connected him to wifi but at the check out they charged him wifi fee because of front desk staff connected him to high speed with purchase. REDICULOUS. Also there were hairs on the bed and the elevator had missing buttons so you had to get out on second floor to walk to the lobby. I have never experienced such a poor and rude service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mete, Thank you for choosing us and posting a review about the stay of your customers. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our beloved guests that is why we are concerned to learn that we did not meet their expectations during this visit and deeply regret the hassle you had to go through. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience, and know this is not the norm here at our property. At the same time, we would like to go sure that you used the correct contact number as in such cases you must dial the number indicated on our website. For USA, the number is USA1 888 RIU 4990. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Without valuable feedback, both positive and constructive, we would not be able to constantly revise and raise our already elevated standard of service. Be assured we are reviewing everything you mentioned, as well as talking with our associates to make improvements where necessary. Once again, it is always our goal to ensure that our guests enjoy the best hotel experience. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Cancun Online Reputation Manager
Read more
CAROLYN G wrote a review 15 Jan.
Olympia, Washington1 contribution
BE AWARE of this Riu Cancun hotel the night before we checked out the house keeper stole my diamond ring and diamond neckless hidden in my bags. Even tho we put a sign do not disturb on the door they still went in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Carolyn, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to make us aware of your concerns. Although, we certainly cannot accuse anybody without having ample proof, we surely regret that your stay was impacted by the incident as mentioned, since we want all of our guests to experience some care-free and safe holidays while staying with us. We understand and share your concerns as we greatly care about the safety and wellbeing of our guests and assure you this normally does not happen; However, for a proper follow up we kindly ask you to contact, our After Travel Complaints Department via complaints@riu.com. Please be assured that the security of our guests is one of our highest priorities. As an added precaution we have invested so that all our rooms are equipped with a safety deposit box provided free of charge at all times. As mentioned on the registration card on arrival, valuable items and cash should be stored in the safety deposit box. We look forward to your complaint and do hope that this disappointing experience will not prevent your future use of our worldwide available hotels. Respectfully, Hotel Riu Cancun Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Laaymarshall wrote a review 14 Jan.
Toronto, Canada6 contributions4 helpful votes
We travelled during covid and thought we would be confined to our rooms and subject to severe penalties for no mask, but this hotel has done an amazing job at not only reinforcing covid protocol with designated no mask zones, sanitation stations everywhere, stringent social distancing measures during dinner, they also reinforced protocol but allowed us to still have the same amazing experience as before covid; fun and open spaces for activities, the beach, pool, entertainment. Despite having no pacha/ disco, this hotel is conveniently located 4 minutes walking distance from the strip where all the clubs and hype is. The excursions were amazing, 5 stars to Xperience with Xcaret. BEst excursion I have done by far and I've been to Mexico twice and have participated in many excursions. THE STAFF HERE IS AMAZING. Attentive, caring, client centric, happy, and you can tell they love their jobs. They gave me a reason to always tip until I got to the point where I became sad that I ran out of cash tipping everyone around. Dining servers, bartenders, entertainment team, excursion team and most of all the front desk team is absolutely phenomenal. If I could recommend them for promotions, I would. I'll definitely be going back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Kristi wrote a review 12 Jan.
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Have been going to Cancun since 1985 as my mother lives there. Have stayed in many different hotels over the years. January 1st we booked Rui Cancun as it was "all inclusive" and we had extended family coming (had never been to a Rui but it looked nice) . Upon arrival I walked out to the pool- it was packed liked sardines. Every chair was taken and no social distancing anywhere! If felt like a kid rock boat cruise ( I like Kid rock but this is not what we were looking for during covid!) totally felt unsafe, the hotels' height and mass shades the beach and pool area at mid day. ( I already wanted to leave!) The room was extremely bland. We paid for Ocean view but had lagoon view. Roms are old and not kept up and the hallways and elevator need a total remodel. Food stations were dirty, totally un covid friendly and everything was the same color fried and almost burned! We stayed one night and left. Went to the El Presidente which was less$$$ has one of the best beaches in Cancun -beautiful pool area and duvets on the beds! Staff was gracious and friendly. Each time someone went to the front desk they wiped them down. Breakfast is included and served on plates behind glass. totally different experience. Thank goodness they did refund the money! I would never return to any of the RI hotels after this experience. It really ruined the entire trip especially not knowing until we returned to the states whether we would see any money back on multiple rooms
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Kristi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your most recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry that you had such a negative experience with us, we clearly missed the mark on multiple aspects of your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for not all aspects of your stay being acceptable. At the same time, we regret to read that you had the impression that our hotel was very busy during your stay. Please rest assured that we comply with the laws established by the government, in this case, not exceeding the maximum occupancy. Your comments mean a lot to us, and we do care that we perform better. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will be discussing these issues with our entire staff to make enhancements whenever possible, ensuring that this does not happen to you or any other guest in the future. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance so we can impress you. Kind regards Hotel Riu Cancun Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 162 - USD 413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu cancun hotel cancun, riu cancun mexico, rui cancun, cancun riu hotel, hotel riu cancun
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
569
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Cancun
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Cancun?
Nearby attractions include Plaza la Fiesta (0.4 km), Playa Linda (0.09 km), and Galeria Balance Cancun (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Cancun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marinero's, Casa Tequila, and Calypso´s Mexican Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Cancun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Cancun?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (7.8 km) and Scorpion’s Temple (3.3 km).
Does Hotel Riu Cancun have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Cancun accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.