We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
See the most recent reviews
Showing 29: English reviews
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice hotel in general, but noisy, because it is in front of the main plaza and they have marimba pkaying at the kiosk every night from 7 to 10 pm and if you get an interior room, the window is overlookin the hall were everybody walks and has access to see the inside of your room. The personnel working there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
375 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here three nights and were glad to leave. Situated right in front of the centro it is a good location. But we found nicer and cheaper hotels on the streets around , specially on one of the streets closed to car circulation. The beds are hard . Very uncomfortable. What they call pillows is really ridiculous..it takes three... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shou1
HotelesCiudadReal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you took to share your comments about Hotel Ciudad Real. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had and for not exceeding your expectations during your visit. We are currently working on the wireless issue and we had pass along your comments to the ownership. We can guarantee that you will change your mind... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel has the perfect location and is a nice building, but unfortunately I found the rooms dark and the beds uncomfortable. The hotel is also really noisy. The service was fine as was the restaurant. If it wasn't for the bed and the dark room I would recommend this hotel but I think there are better options for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank NicolettaM123
HotelesCiudadReal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for sharing your opinion. Certainly hotel’s location is our greatest strength. We will take into consideration the issue with the beds and the dark room. We apologize for your restless night you had, but we guarantee that we will not miss a second chance to demonstrate we can exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we look... More 

sofia,bulgaria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

good hotel, nice breakfast i stayed only 1 night in january 2014 very good for people going from mexico city to cancun you must have in mind its in the center streets are very small so arrange some parking if you travel bt y car

Helpful?
Thank rumiana1951
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion about Hotel Ciudad Real. We are really pleased to hear your good comments. I would like to mention that you do not have to worry about parking, the hotel counts with parking lots for all guests. Thanks again!. More 

Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Ciudad Real following an organized tour around Mexico. The Hotel was considered a 4 stars hotel, but it is not true! The rooms are not so comfortable and very noisy, the air conditioning and the hot water were not working and none repaired during our 3 days stay. Breakfast is good with very tyipical mexican food... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ValeryIT
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear ValeryIT, We really appreciate your comments about Hotel Ciudad Real. It is very important for us to hear your opinion in order to improve our services provided. As you said, the hotel’s location is one of our strengths; however we are sorry about the inconvenient you had in your last stayed. We are taking action to solve the problems... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As already mentioned by other travellers location cannot be better, right at the Plaza of beautiful city of San Cristobal de las Casas. As the hotel is located in a nicely refurbished colonial building, some rooms (like the one, my agency ordered) are with windows to an inner hallway decorated as colonial lane, which wasn´t that pleasing, although the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank manankanchu
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We are glad to hear from you. Your opinion is very important for us. We are very proud that you had a good time at Hotel Ciudad Real. Allow me congratulate all the team involved in making that amazing experience. Nevertheless, we want to apologize for the frozen beer. Thanks again and hope we can see you soon!.... More 

Ciudad de México
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My sugestion is to know this magical place and Area staying in the hotel that makes you confidence...in my opinion people in general are the best host ...I mean you are welcome...the food is just exquisite and cheap, the same as most of the hotels, the city has a collection of wonderfoul museums and markets, restaurants (keeep away of greasy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mexicaviajero
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We were so excited while reading your lines about San Cristóbal. Thanks for visiting Chiapas, it is a great place to be in contact with nature and regional culture. Hope you come back soon!. More 

Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel location cannot be complained about-- as other reviews mention, right in the middle of town. It has a few options to eat there (I counted like 3 restaurants?) but we didn't try any of them (choosing to go out for breakfast and so on). I stayed in a room with queen size bed which was very comfy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cristina J
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for giving your opinion about the hotel. We really appreciate your comments because through them we can improve our services. We would like to inform you that we are working with the wifi issue so in your next stay you can enjoy of it inside the rooms. Thanks again and looking forward to see you soon! More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It is defintely a very central hotel and quite nice as well. The only problem was that the rooms were very small for 3 people with huge luggages. Hotel staff did not speak English but nonetheless they were still very friendly. Breakfast at this hotel was very good.

Helpful?
Thank AlexiaB4
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comment about Hotel Ciudad Real. We really appreciate the time you took to make the survey. As you mentioned, location is one of our strengths, we are in the city center, just in front of the principal square. I would like to mention that we were certified by the program “Tesoros de Mexico” (Treasures of... More 

amsterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayer here 3 nights with the family. Good points: On central square, very clean, helpfull staff, great restaurant, great breakfast, good showers. Lesser points: rooms are way to small for 4 persons, (even for 2!)rooms don't have windows on the street but on a inner court yard which makes it noisy, there is no where to sit and relax, not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dutchy21
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thanks for taking the time to write your comments about how you felt during your stay in Hotel Ciudad Real. We really appreciate that you highlight our strengths and let us know your perspective about the things we need to improve. Definitely we will consider creating a space to hang out and be with family and friends, besides... More 

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 km away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
270 reviews
0.2 km away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#9 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
136 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#14 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espanol
Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espa...
#8 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
254 reviews
0.2 km away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#12 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
108 reviews
0.2 km away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#16 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a hotel chain with properties in San Cristobal and Palenque Chiapas, Mexico, at the hart of the Mundo Maya region. Our hotels are charming and refined, decorated with the traditional Mexican colonial style and designed to give the ambiance and comfort that your customers are looking for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico

Address: Calle 31 de Marzo No. 10 | Col. Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $62 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't book here”
 of 5 bubbles Globerunner12, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No elevator to get to the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles sclcasas, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Front balcony room.”
 of 5 bubbles ARTarea51, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs and in the back is less noices.”
 of 5 bubbles ClassicStrider, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The rroms overlooking the plaza are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 506veronicac, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay