We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Costa Sur Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 728: English reviews
Lake Forest, California, United States
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We went here for a family vacation over Christmas and had a great time. I was here with my 8 month old and it is definitely a great place to stay with little ones. The rooms are huge. Small kitchen with full fridge (such a plus if you have a baby!) and a view to die for. We fell asleep...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Krista H
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Krista thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your family vacation was a success. It is a fact one of the factors, besides the views, that is a big part in our guests' experience...

ARVADA
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We bought the Travelzoo 4 nights for $299 and it was flawless. The airport transfer was easy to find and quick. We were provided with a taxi directly to the hotel with no charge, except tip. Upon our arrival, the check in went well and we were given an end room on the 6th floor. There was minimal road noise...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ArvadaCullen1
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are glad we were able to satisfy, overall, your expectations and that you had a nice vacation experience. We have taken note of the problem encountered at the Bar area and want to assure you that we will take...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Just spent 6 weeks at this resort. The staff are great and extremely helpful. Restaurant and bar waiters will go out of their way to look after you. Unfortunately it is a very small place and when there are weddings ( there were three one weekend) the place tends to get very noise till very late and overcrowded, especially when...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bavaria93
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you had a successful vacation experience. Our staff is one of the highlights of the resort and they proved it once more by giving you...

Kansas City
Reviewed 10 January 2015

This hotel is on the far South of PV. We had our adult daughters stay here for 3 nights. The room they had had a small kitchen, two nice beds, and a wonderful balcony overlooking the bay. Right below the balcony, they have a large area that is surrounded by large boulders. This area is a good place to swim,...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Mary F
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. It is a pleasure to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you enjoyed a nice family vacation experience. We will be waiting for you in the future at your "home away from home", hoping...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Wonderful people work here! Beautiful location. Easy access to anywhere by bus. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Not much beach here. They have the coral reef where you can snorkel and see many fish. The big pool is very nice. A bit cold! The costa needs a renewal. Update, paint and it would just look fresher. It is situated on a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jennie G
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jennie thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the vacation experience was a good one. Our staff is an imoortant part of our success and they showed it once again. We will make...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We stayed at Costa Sur for Christmas last week. The hotel is a bit older but has amazing ocean views for every room. We stayed in the 1 bedroom studio suite. The room itself was decent size and very basic. A big bed, a sofa bed, a small kitchenette (no oven), and fridge. You could hear the main road outside...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Michael S
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michael thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are glad to know we were to satisfy your expectations and that you had a nice family vacation experience. We have taken note regarding the pool chairs and towels and will make sure to keep an eye open in...

Monterey, California, United States
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My husband and I flew in with my parents and met my sister and her husband and baby 3 days before Christmas. We had 3 rooms and they were all really nice. All with ocean views, small kitchens with refrigerators and stove/microwave. Nice, king size bed, clean linens and towels. Absolutely perfect! The buffet was kind of hit and miss,...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Carrie D
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carrie thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad to have been able to satisfy your expectations and that the family reunion was a great one. Our staff has a large part in our success and they proved it once again. We will make...

St. Louis
Reviewed 5 January 2015

I'm going to Costa Sur for the 3rd time next week. It is located on the south coast between downtown Vallarta and Mismaloya. Fairly mature crowd here. Peaceful and laid backed. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel. Cheap and easy to get wherever you want to go. The bus lets you out around Old Town Vallarta,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoeMexico
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Joe thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that we provided a relaxing vacation experience. Hoping you will give us the opportunity, we will be waiting for you in a future stay at...

Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Not sure how this place can have 4 stars. It is a dump. The rooms are very outdated and subpar. The shower doors were held together by duct tape. The elevators were never worked and we were on the 9th floor. I have bad knees and this was just unacceptable. The cake topper was we were headed to Yelapa for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank mmalario1
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Malario thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur, as the feedback is very important to us. We are very sorry we were not able to satisfy your expectations and you can be assured that we have taken note of your remarks and will take all necessary corrective actions needed...

Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

When traveling you must always take into account service! Poor service will effect your whole trip! The Store very limited on what they carry that's not junk, have exact change because they were not able to break a 500 peso bill that's about 40 usd and another time they shorted me on change due to not having any small coins....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeffrey J
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very sorry we were not able to satisfy your expectations and your vacation experience was not the success we would have liked you to experience. We have taken note of the issues encountered and will be working very hard...

1,110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (684)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (123)
Viewed
View from Room (87)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (291)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (339)
Viewed
Adults Pool (12)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (94)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Studio (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,124 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
273 reviews
3.2 km away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#63 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
600 reviews
7.8 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,075 reviews
6.2 km away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $102 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Costa Sur Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from Costa Sur Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring your own bottles of wine. ”
 of 5 bubbles 528staceyr, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the units are Ocean front. The elevators are slow so if that is a issue stay in the one bedroom tower they have far less people there and are huge.”
 of 5 bubbles Cindyxxx, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fix the things that need to be fixed in the rooms.....”
 of 5 bubbles paullZ2774HO, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for their Remodel rooms, floors that are not remodeled need some improvement”
 of 5 bubbles maripposa, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Main tower is better, we first had a room in other building, a lot of traffic noise. They moved are room no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciacN9505FF, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay