We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Orbitz.comUSD 48*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 57*
USD 48*
USD 57*
USD 48*
USD 57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portonovo Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Denton, Texas
Reviewed 3 January 2017

While checking in, we could see the beach about 100 yards away, probably less. At one end of the block is a grocery store, at the other, a bank, and across the street are great great tacos at Santo Tacote. The new Malecon is a short walk away and the beach, as already stated, is very close. There's a 24-hour...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank benjambment
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such fun and thorough review. We enjoyed reading it, specially the part were you warn future guests about what happens in the airport. We also liked your advice on the eggs, unfortunately we cannot do it given the high percentage of lactose intolerant people we accommodate, bit we will definitively try it at home. We...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 29 December 2016

A friendly hotel just 3 blocks from the promenade and two blocks from the beach. Clean room with all the amenities for just $58 plus free breakfast. Only drawback. No blankets. Just a sheet. Still I would recommend this place for budget conscious traveller.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodtaste_10
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are very happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you so much for staying! Please come back soon!

victoria
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stayed for one night to fly out next day. The room was very small but entirely adequate and very clean. Looked like it was remodeled recently. Our greeter, Jaime, suggested a room at the rear and not on the top floor to ensure it was quiet and it was very quiet. Rooftop pool is not much bigger than a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank grver
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to read you had a pleasant stay even dough it was a shot one. Thank you so much for staying with us and please come back soon, but for a longer stay with us!

Reviewed 22 December 2016

We've had a great experience on the first stay last February 2016 so rebooked but not quite the same this time. The mattress was covered by a non-fitted sheet that kept sliding of the bare mattress with no blankets only to be told that next time you need to come to the reception to get the blankets! Also no one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jocelyne J
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry to read that this time we did not do as good as last time. We have taken into consideration your comments and we will take action in order to improve the service. Thank you very much for staying with us!

Okanagan Valley, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Weve just checked out after 12 nights at this great hotel. The location is only 2 blocks from the malecon and close to groceries and local restaurants. The rooms are small and have minimal extras, but they are very clean and comfortable. The addition of the room safes is great! The staff are very helpful, friendly and hard working. Jesus,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lael P
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such nice review! It was our very pleasure and honor to have you stay with us; we got used to seeing you and we miss you! Please come back soon to this your home away from home!

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days great location. Close to the beach. Restaurants massage areas and more stuff really close. Has a small pool on the top and they serve breakfast eggs waffles coffee milk bread etc.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danny D
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to read how much you enjoyed our location and facilities. We had a great time having you over and we sure hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The location is amazing, you need to walk some Minutes to the "malecon" where you can find many bars, restaurants or enjoy a walk with your friends or family. The pool has an excellent view but is very small. You can have free breakfast but there is not variety of food nor beverages. The parking is included and you can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David F
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the time you took to evaluate us. We are glad to read that the location of our little great hotel was so convenient and served well to the purpose of your trip. Pleas know we had a great time having you over and we hope to have you back in the near future. Thank you...

Reviewed 8 April 2016

Chose this place based on all of the reviews in Expedia and this website. Our experience was quite similar to the most recent experiences of other travelers. We booked a room back in January for a week. We reserved a double which was supposed to be a matrimonial. When we entered our room, we saw two twin beds. We complained...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clyde m
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much on your feedback. We are very please to read you had a pleasant stay and that we were able to take good care of you. We do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the bedding. Thank you so much for staying with us. Please come back soon to your home away from home!

rhinelander wi
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We had never stayed in the downtown area of Vallarta and picked the Hotel Porto Novo. We were very pleased with our choice. The hotel was renovated about 6 years ago and is very modern and clean. The staff were all great but Jamie the bellman went beyond. When I asked if there was a lavenderia close by to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rhinelandermike
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, specially on the staff and Mr. Jaime, we sincerely appreciate it. We are very happy to read your stay was a pleasant one for it was our very pleasure to have you over. Thank you for staying and please, come back soon!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Perfect location away from the touristy part of PV and to beach, Playa Camarones. Breakfast was a plus but lacked imagination after a few days. Rooms are tight but modern, clean and balcony on Avenida Mexico made a difference. Decent water pressure. AC available. Front desk staff should learn to greet and smile from the personable bellmen. Semana Santa crowds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeachBoHo
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We apologize on the WiFi, a lot of devices where connected making the signal weak. Thank you so much for staying with us, we had a great time having you over!

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,509 reviews
0.3 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#52 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
331 reviews
0.1 km away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#70 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
476 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#69 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
138 reviews
1.8 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $54 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of the hotel is much quieter.”
disappointedtrave601, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the backside.”
bigred, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a balcony if you stay here. The Superior room is an inner room and the difference is about $8 a night and worth it.”
937janisd, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“keep windows closed and A/C on to greatly lower street noise”
GaryP440, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you may want to ask for room upgrade, if you booked on line, sometimes these are not the best rooms”
davidjU2118MW, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 48* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 48
PricelineUSD 57
Booking.comUSD 57
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates