We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Manteca, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I picked this hotel because it is in the middle of all the down town shopping, beauty salons and coffee shops and walking distance to Hussongs and Papas n Beer. The hotel is very very old. The hotel room door was very thin just didn't feel safe. This hotel does not offer any kind of view of the city. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene U
Corona, California
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Hi, I forgot my favorite jean jacket. I contacted them and they shipped it back to me in the states via UPS and did not charge me. They went over and beyond what I expected. Also the room was clean and nice. Free breakfast at the hotel restaurant was yummy. I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank photosbysusan
globetrotter60, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your review! It is our pleasure to serve our clients, and we all have a favorite something that we forget somewhere, happy to reunite you with your favorite jean jacket! We hope to see you soon, Jeannelle Bitterlin

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We were at El Rey Sol on August 9-13, 2016. I am a native of Ensenada, so I knew exactly where the hotel was located and what it looked like. I know it's an old hotel, but I knew that over time it's been maintained. However, sadly, I was dissappointed. First, we hadto ask for a second key, needed extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosa e
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Wow! We are so embarrased and upset that you had such a terrible experience with us. I can only extend my apologies to you and your family, and find out on my side what happened that you had so many incidents. Although of course there are human errors and "bad luck" no customer of ours should have as many...

Menton, France
Reviewed 28 August 2016

For years the quality of the internet connection was highly dependent on the location of your room. The situation has now changed: wifi is excellent also in some remote rooms. So, the place is fine for business travellers as well. The laundry service can still be improved to avoid the struggle to get a laundry bag. Also if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claude M
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I've been staying at this place for the past few years, and their honeymoon suite is still the same. I can't say about their other rooms because I've never stayed in another type of room here. I can say that through the windows, they don't look fancy. You can ask the front desk to show you the room first, before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Wow! What a thorough and detailed description of our honeymoon suite and our hotel amenities! Thank you for that and your continued patronage through the years. As happy as I am that you have enjoyed the suite, I invite you to try our new and remodeled rooms, which is about 50% of our hotel by now... I believe you...

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

When we first pulled up to the hotel, I was hesitant for a minute. I wasn't expecting the rooms to be as nice as they were, for Mexican hotels. The outside of the hotel needs a remodel, but once again the rooms a very nice. My only complaint is the Wifi. I was not able to go online, very slow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised with our nice rooms! We have been working hard at remodeling the property and it shows. And you are absolutely right that our facade also need a facelift, and we'll get there! We have focused on the rooms/bathrooms where our clients spend most time :) My apologies with the internet, it...

Reviewed 10 August 2016

We were fortunate to find parking right next to our room, which was on the first floor, and we didn't move our car at all and the car was safe the whole time we stayed there. The location is prime - it's in the middle of everything so there's food and shopping all within walkable distance. Nothing was ever more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn L
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks you for taking the time to review us. I'm very surprised and concerned for what you mention regarding the bathroom, they have been recently remodeled (last year to be exact) so there shouldn't be issues, especially the awful odor you describe!! We'll look into it for sure and fix it, and we hope you will come back and...

Reviewed 18 July 2016

My wife and I made a mid-week overnight trip to Ensenada from Los Angeles. We very much liked the location of the hotel from which we walked almost everywhere. Our encounters with the staff were positive. Check-in was OK. The young lady appeared to be a little overwhelmed with our questions regarding recommendations and directions. The experienced gentleman who handled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kent B
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Wow! What a thorough review; we appreciate you taking the time to rate us and would like to thank you for your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and most importantly your room. For future reference, we do have other rooms with bigger balconies that overlook the street, the mini balconies you refer to were really...

Anaheim, California
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Went down to attend a funeral and wasn't sure where to stay. We drove through the tourist part of Ensenada and found this hotel. Besides the beds being a little hard, this hotel was find for our 2 night stay. It was close to everything we needed. It needs a little TLC which we could see they were working on....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrandmaKathyx3
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us. You are right in that our property is a bit Old, and needs some care which is exactly what we are Doing! We look forward to having you again soon, for a much happier occasion and that you will enjoy the hard work we are putting in...

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday and Sunday night. It is more of a charming, vintage style motel, with car parking in the middle and the rooms in a horseshoe shape around it. It is very clean, safe, and, as others have noted, in just a great location. We easily walked to restaurants, bars, & shops. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelingWithMyBaby
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, I absolutely enoyed your thorough and very organized review! Thank you for your recent stay and for pointing out our strenghts. The staff really enjoyed working in the industry and I believe it shows, and our philosophy of providing great customer experience is felt throughout the property. You are absolutely right in that this property was originally built as...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
3.9 km away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 36 in Ensenada
502 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN El Cid
BEST WESTERN El Cid
#3 of 36 in Ensenada
159 reviews
0.6 km away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#5 of 36 in Ensenada
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 36 in Ensenada
116 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#16 of 36 in Ensenada
109 reviews
29.3 km away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 36 in Ensenada
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perfect location for shopping and restaurants within walking distance.”
 of 5 bubbles rosae658, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor is best if you have heavy luggage”
 of 5 bubbles analuciau2013, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“They have original and remodeled rooms, ask for the remodeled room and keep in mind the date this is written, all rooms will be done soon!”
 of 5 bubbles 470danyz, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get a room near the front of the hotel since the karaoke bar is near the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Sanchoviejo, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Upper rooms seem to be nicer and quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles WJDuca, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay