We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Okiwa Bay Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Okiwa Bay Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Okiwa Bay Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is definitely the place to stay if you visit Marlborough! Wonderful stay. Lovely friendly and very helpful hosts Suzie and Martin. Absolutely wonderful views looking down Queen Charlotte Sound - a superb spot to enjoy a glass of wine. The optional dinners were excellent too. Recommend the guided kayak tour from a little further up the road and Branscott,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Okiwa Bay Lodge and all the wonderful activities and visits you managed to undertake. This certainly is a very special region with outstanding beauty. We never tire of looking at our ever changing spectacular views down the Queen Charlotte Sound. We do...

Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After a long winding drive in late afternoon from Picton, we arrived at the gorgeous Okiwa Bay Lodge where we were warmly greeted by Suzie and Martin. Within minutes we were enjoying the hot tub, with a glass of wine, and looking out over an incredible view. We had dinner at the lodge with 4 other guests. With delicious meals...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanneloisl
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Relaxing in the hot tub with a glass of wine and enjoying the spectacular views is rather special. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the company of other guests. We do hope you will come again in the near future to explore more of this beautiful region.

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay over Christmas with our exceptional hosts Susi and Martin at the utmost, making us feel at home. Nice comfortable room, outstanding view over the bay, excellent breakfast and a delicious BBQ on Christmas day in an outstanding pleasant atmosphere with our hosts and the other guests. Our first choice if we travel to NZ again. Couple...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gertrudes715
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Christmas is a special time for everyone and we are so pleased you enjoyed our celebration. It is wonderful to share experiences with guests from around the world. The scenery from our home is certainly unique. We do hope that you will come again in the near future.

Stockholm County, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We happened to find Okiwa Bay Lodge on hotels. com . When we arrived we couldn't believe how fantastic the lodge was with a view that one could never get enough of. Martin and Susie are gracious hosts and the breakfast was wonderful. I especially admire their enviromental philosophy . The small sculptures on the way up the drive is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesswes
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that our guests notice the little creative touches around the property. We certainly totally respect and try to enhance the natural beauty of our surroundings. We do hope that you will come again to explore more of this beautiful region.

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The most incredible view down Queen Charlotte Sound. Perfect position high above the water. Lovely house run by the most welcoming and charming couple. She is an extremely good cook - the optional dinners are well worth going for. Great location for doing the Queen Charlotte Track: can arrange locally to kayak to a point on the track and walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brit98
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. Yes, our views from the deck are spectacular and the sunrises and sunsets can be very dramatic. We do hope that you will return in the near future to explore more of this beautiful region.

Boston, MA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Susie and Martin have a truly special property. Perched on the side of a hill just an hour outside of Picton, you feel like you are in another time and place. Our honeymoon suite looked right onto Queen Charlotte Sound, where we could watch the ferries in the distance and other nearby boats glide by. Located a short walk or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mOmwteens9
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you loved our "Piece of Paradise". We do hope you will return to explore more of this beautiful region and all its delights in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our two night stay with Susie and Martin. Great restful location and view with easy access to Queen Charlotte track. Dinners and breakfast were outstanding.... my favorite dinner of the trip. Opted for tour guide Martin for winery day. Hope to some day do it again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It was really lovely having you to stay in our "Piece of Paradise". We do hope that you will be able to come again and enjoy our hospitality and to explore more of this beautiful region. (we have 8 baby quail running on the hillside)

Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had done two weeks travelling the North Island and thought we had seen some beautiful and amazing scenery which of course we had, however on arriving at Okiwa Bay Lodge we were both totally blown away by the absolutely stunning views. We had the Charlotte Sound stretching away in front of us, where you could see the Picton ferries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Powell1024990
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always delighted to hear that our "Piece of Paradise" has not disappointed. The ever-changing views from the deck are captivating and we never stop looking. We do hope that you will be able to return in the near future to explore more of this beautiful region. We have 8 cute...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fabulous place - the view is to die for and the hosts, Susie and Martin, make sure that you are looked after from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. We booked for 2 nights but enjoyed it so much that we extended by another night (we might have stayed longer but had already booked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay in our "Piece of Paradise". We were so pleased that you were able to do part of the Queen Charlotte Track and Mountain Bike and Kayaking. Conversations over dinner can be wonderful and lots of fun. We do hope that one day you will return to explore more of this beautiful...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Susie and Martin are very nice hosts and let us feel like at home. In addition, Susie is an excellent cook. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Okiwa Lodge is our favorite Bed&Breakfast on the south island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruedi V
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We try to ensure that all our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay in our "Piece of Paradise". It is always a pleasure to cook for people who enjoy good food and conversation round the dining table. We hope you will come again.

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
11.4 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
9.3 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
22.7 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tirimoana House
Tirimoana House
#4 of 5 in Anakiwa
112 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
100 reviews
1.9 km away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our modern lodge caters for people who enjoy peace and tranquillity and the special things that nature has to offer. Whether you are just looking for a night’s rest after your walk along the Queen Charlotte Track, or wanting a few days "away from it all", the warm hospitality of your hosts Susie and Martin will ensure that your stay is a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Okiwa Bay Lodge

Address: 169 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Price Range: $254 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okiwa Bay Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Okiwa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Okiwa Bay Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was really attractive, bed very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Joanneloisl, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 has stunning views over Queen Charlotte sound.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifert24, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“spotless, super quiet, beautifully appointed, comfortable, exquisite location”
 of 5 bubbles AAgnieszka, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front room with a view is worth it”
 of 5 bubbles JonHiclimb, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the lower level and it was wonderfully private and quiet. The hot tub was literally just outside our door.”
 of 5 bubbles saradG6290RI, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5