We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Ctrip.comUSD 62*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 73*
USD 62*
Great Deal
USD 73*
USD 71*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 283: English reviews
Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 December 2014

Now this is a hotel straight out of the 1950s that has refused to move into the new century! Everything – from the dining room to the hotel rooms to the WIFI to the discourteous parking sign – was begging for a new coat of modernity. The proprietors are still struggling with the concepts of antique vs. old tat and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank J P
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Your comments have been taken into account and we hope to see you again in the future so that we can make amens.Thank You.

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 November 2014

Formally known as Bala's Holiday Chalet this hotel offers everything you wish for a short stay on our trip from Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok. We arrived there by car and only had some slight difficulties finding the hotel due to its changing of names which our navigation system didn't seem to be aware of. It's about 2-3 km outside of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gronings_Expat
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments.It was certainly refreshing to note that someone has captured the very essence of our establishment.It is hard to arrest the damp problem at the same time as maintain the beauty of our place that is a lovely chalet surrounded by rainforest.We certainly hope to welcome you back to our place in the near future.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights. But we cancelled it after 1 hour in the room. The rooms are wet and they smell really old and damp. Our children became sick, so we had to leave the hotel. The rooms are neglected. It´s too expensive for that service! But: The surrounding is very nice. We saw fotos in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sille501
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We were a bit disappointed at your comments but nevertheless we shall take them into consideration and make the necessary changes.Thank you once again and by the way The Cameron Highlands Resort is definitely not 50 Euros more than us.

Reviewed 13 October 2014

Planters country hotel or formerly known as Bala's Chalet is a nice cozy place. It has the nice european look. Property is very good. Staffs are friendly and food is also nice. This place is highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sisir P
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments.We truly appreciate the wonderful words and will make sure to live up to your expectations.We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile

We had high expectations when we arrived at this place. It looks really beautiful, but in the end we were kinda disappointed: our pricy room (560 myr for 2 nights) had mold all over the place, the sheets weren't that clean and the place just feels a little a bit like it has past his big peak years ago. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ruurd d
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel.We hope to see you again to rectify matters.All the shortcomings have since been addressed and once again we apologize.

Reviewed 16 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed there only for a night. The food was great but can still be improved (we only tried some breakfast menu and the tea+scones deal). We love the quiet and peaceful ambient. Thats the best thing about this place. To us, the staffs were very accomodating and helpful too. Personally, the only thing we see lacking was the low...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ahmadf4rhan
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your very useful comments.There was a problem with the Cameron Highlands water supply at the time of your visit hence the low water pressure.But it has since been rectified and the pressure is back to normal.We will definitely take into account your advice and do the necessary as regards to bidet and increasing the quality of...

Reviewed 30 August 2014

The first night was not good but on changing room to the Diana suite for the next two nights, we had a lovely luxurious and comfortable room. This room was clean, bright and well equipped with a lovely feel where as the first, and cheaper room, was shabby and with a leaking toilet. The shower in the second room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your comments.The problem in the first room has since been rectified.We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.We hope to see you again in the future.Thank you.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at Bala's for 2 nights in August on our way to Penang. What a beautiful place. The outside was so quaint the house covered in flowers and plants and the gardens were gorgeous. We had a cream tea in the garden on arrival whcih was lovely. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we expected, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your lovely comments.We shall definitely take into account your very useful comments.We have instructed our existing staff to improve on their attitude towards guests be it for service or friendliness.We are regularly having meetings to improve on customer service and also we have noted that we need to take extra staff to improve on customer satisfaction.Thank...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed at Balas Chalet for 5 nights. The setting is wonderful. The houses are covered in climbing lianas, flowers everywhere, a bit of a fairytale feeling. Yes rooms need a lot of fresh air, but all in all it was ok. The restaurant is not bad, I especially recommend the Indian classic set served there. (if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Southseadreamer
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your lovely comments.We have taken into account your advice about the expensive menu and taken the necessary steps to modify our menu to include some varieties and change in price.Thank you.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yes, the place is beautiful but could be better with a bit of humbleness. I booked the Raffles Suite from Agoda but upon check-in, I was given a deluxe room even though the print out from Agoda clearly shows the room type. They insist that if I want a suit I have to pay the extras and blame it on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Suzie_Yau_Andrew
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,We have noted your comments and taken the necessary steps.Firstly your booking with Agoda was for only 2 people and when we saw you had a child in tow we overlooked that matter at the reception.But as it turned out there were actually 4 people in your group.Our agreement with Agoda states that we allocate the rooms according to...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (310)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (123)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.4 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
510 reviews
0.7 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
769 reviews
5.3 km away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
1.8 km away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
118 reviews
1.1 km away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lot 55 | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia (Formerly Bala's Holiday Chalet)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Price Range: $78 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bala`s Holiday Chalet Hotel Cameron Highlands
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are unique”
srihartamas, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“I'd now recommend checking the room and checking the facilities and water before checking in to make sure it's clean and everything is ok”
dangibas, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Get the suite...it's tucked away from everyone else”
  • This is a suite with an attic above
LionelY_13, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room in the main building more chance of hot water”
davidwplaird, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chestnut for views & your private balcony. However if the dining hall starts the fireplace, close all your windows or taste soot.”
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
andrewy609, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Ctrip.com
USD 62* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 73
Booking.comUSD 71
Orbitz.comUSD 73
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates