We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
bristol
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Arrived late evening after a very long drive. First impression was a very local pub with rooms. Greeting was friendly had ground floor room so couldn't open curtains to let in natural light at all as over looks pub seating area. room clean and compact. Dinner was nice eat in restaurant but no atmosphere or background...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen19675
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Having seen a negative review or two...very surprised......we stayed at the front...aware on booking it would be a 'bit noisy' (Friday night!)....alternative accommodation was available and offered. However, we were quite happy with the expectant night out crowd so it wasn't a problem. Room was extremely clean, well fitted out...and what a comfy bed!! :) Restaurant is a bit 'tired'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJT343
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to let us know. I always let the staff know when we get reviews whether good or bad and its lovely to share something positive with them. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Fiona

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I have been using the Red Lion for over two years as a base for my work which is located just outside Ely. The Lion is a village pub with guest rooms . Good food served in the lounge & conservatory or in the bar where you can watch the sport as well. Guest real Ales & local cider (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonybfg
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you Tony for your lovely review which has cheered me up no end. We must be doing something right for you to keep coming back every year. I think its great when a local village pub makes someone feel like a home from home, especially if they are on their own but feel that they are among friends whenever...

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We had booked lunch for 16 of our family and friends, the first strange excuse came when my daughter complained about the prawns on her meal these were served whole and had eggs still attached to the under body making them look quite unappetizing the reason for this was they were quite busy and didn't have time to clean them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger l
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Roger How disappointed I was to read your review this morning, especially when the comment card your group filled in said that everything was good from the accommodation to the food, and that you felt that we did go that extra mile for you. Having arranged an early breakfast and a late checkout to accommodate you, Its upsetting to...

Didcot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

At first glance, it looked ok, however, our room was musty on entering. We daren't open the window because it was rotten! We opened the French Window but couldn't leave it open as it opened onto the main walkway from the car park to the pub! The bed was very creaky and every time you moved on it a spring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

What a shame that you didn't like our lovely pub. We came here in February and we agree it does need some maintenance doing. I'm not sure why the room would be musty because we are constantly full and the rooms are being changed over daily. We have ground floor accommodation so that we can cater for disabled customers, but...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

It got 'average' as I was feeling generous. The room was comfortable but the free Wi-Fi was non-existent. The usual overnight toiletries were available. The carpet in the hallway was very new which may have accounted for the stink. Beware ~ ground floor rooms over look the public entrance, so close your curtains or be viewed by passing staff or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tankerton1944
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have wifi in the pub and we use it daily to receive and send emails so I am puzzled that you felt it was non existent. It can drop out occasionally in the annex rooms, and we are working to improve the signal. The Red Lion is a village pub with rooms and...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

The Red Lion is in a little village close to Ely and Wicken Fen. It is easy to find. The food in the lounge was excellent, with generous portions. We ate there both days of our stay. Breakfast also had a good choice. We had a double room over the bar facing the front which, was large and comfortable. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. Its lovely to receive a review from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us, we like to think our staff are a friendly bunch and its great that it came across to you as well. Our head chef is fairly new to the Red Lion and is pleased that you enjoyed the...

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015

A friendly, clean and cosy pub which was ideal for my family (me, husband and two adult sons visiting from overseas. Rooms were a little dark and stuffy with a small double bed, but fine for the price with powerful showers and adequate toiletries. We had annexe rooms so our keys let us in without disturbing the managers. However, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneMay
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hello again, and thank you so much. I'm really pleased that you all had a nice relaxing holiday. We have always tried to create a happy homely feel in our pubs as do our staff, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Best wishes John and Fee

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Very warm and helpful during check in, double room en-suite spotless. Dinner good selection of dishes very well cooked and presented, waiting staff amazing. Only had a light breakfast but others looked really good. Overall would highly recommend to anyone, as would a couple we met who have stayed several times to visit Newmarket races.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil c
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We have been here now for 6 months and are enjoying it very much. When we came to view the pub the staff were so welcoming and friendly we felt like locals! and we do get a lot of good comments about how friendly they all are, and I am glad that you...

Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome by happy, friendly staff. A lovely clean pub, I especially enjoyed the haddock mornay (to die for!) and the smiley service. I will definitely be going back for more!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngeB1974
redlionstretham, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so glad that you enjoyed our great pub. We have a new head chef and I know he will be thrilled that you enjoyed the smoked haddock so I will certainly pass that on to him. We will be introducing our new menu at the end of the month so hopefully you will...

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretham
6.4 km away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
493 reviews
6.3 km away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
577 reviews
9.9 km away
The Three Pickerels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
33 reviews
2.9 km away
Woodlands B&B
Woodlands B&B
#1 of 2 in Witchford
49 reviews
7.0 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ely
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Lion

Address: 47 High Street, Stretham, Ely CB6 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Stretham
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Stretham
Red Lion Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only ate in the pub”
 of 5 bubbles anns514, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms 10 & 11 are allocated to people with dogs, and or disabled guests”
 of 5 bubbles SJD1305, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 is a twin bedded dog friendly room.”
 of 5 bubbles 167Dave8, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in annexe overlook the patio at the rear and are reasonably quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Chelseagirl47, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If eating here and you are keen on pork then try the triple pork dish”
 of 5 bubbles 167Dave8, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5