We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Namukulu Cottages

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Tuapa
Location
Service
Value
Namukulu Cottages, offer 3x 1-bedroom cottages, 1x 2-bedroom cottage, a 3-bedroom cottage and a sleepout all with ocean views from our location. Positioned in a totally tranquil tropical setting. You can visit the Niue's best snorkeling & swimming spots, explore caves and chasms all in close proximity of our self-catering cottages, then return to relax by the pool, or book a massage with a local masseuse. Children are welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Poolside bar
Free airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Car hire
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
29Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
nzfoodi wrote a review Feb 2024
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand12 contributions7 helpful votes
Enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are relatively clean and tidy but a bit dated. But that’s part of the Niue experience I think unless you go stay at the scenic.. nice pool onsite though we didn’t use it. Close to some great spots like Limu pools, talava arches, matapa chasm and other great places. Quite a drive to town however so we found we did a lot of driving and petrol is very expensive. Downside was - no soap in room, and didn’t realise that we had to clean our own room at the end which was a bit disappointing.. totally self catering.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Namukulu Cottages, Owner at Namukulu Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
Hi NZFoodi, we are sorry to hear you had no soap, this could've been easily remedied, however duly noted. We are also unsure of why you thought you had to clean your room at the end of your stay, this is definitely not the case. We clean the cottages on the day of your departure. There are hybrid rental vehicles on island that can be hired to help alleviate the petrol costs and keep it to a minimum. We hope you enjoyed it enough to visit again. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to place a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cruiser_Ktān wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
We booked the three bedroom cottage and sleep out for our fanau of eight including a 15 month old. The cottage is great for families, everything you need and help was close by with Presley onsite if we needed anything else. We were in regular comms with Hana prior to our arrival and during our stay and she did everything she could to ensure our comfort. The cottage had gas hobs, big fridge/freezer, washing machine and dishwasher. Inside and outside dining with lots options for seating on the deck. Whole cottage had mosquito netting and had bug sprays available. Lots of space for washing on deck as well at the rear. Ample space around cottage to walk around and enjoy the gardens. The bar wasn’t open. The pool and canopy were great to cool down. Our baby loved having the chickens around and the ginger cat. There are no locks on the doors however we had no issues and kept our valuables with us whenever we left. There is wifi however you need to organise the data yourself at Telecom and we had already purchased simcards so could hotspot instead. The sleep out wasn’t directly outside our cottage, it’s located outside the two story house and was so hot in there so we couldn’t use it as hoped however management were very supportive and took our feedback on board. Overall, Namukulu cottages was a nice place to enjoy Niue, cook your own food and relax. We would come back here for the space and location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Lots of space
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KezzaNiue wrote a review Oct 2023
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand10 contributions1 helpful vote
What an amazing place to stay. We had an extended family of 8 spread across the 3 bedroom and a 1 bed cottage, there was enough to self cater and also to cater for a big fam gather (the bbq got a workout). Jimbo, Hana and everyone else were great hosts and so helpful and the cottages are really close to Limu pools, matapa chasm and other great swimming spots plus the pool was a bonus. We went fishing with BJRex, swimming with the Whales with Niue Blue plus played golf and even went on a 20km bike ride.....We will be coming back to Niue !!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
William W wrote a review Oct 2023
Takapuna, New Zealand12 contributions16 helpful votes
Beautiful small group of holiday cottages with lovely clean pool and well stocked bar. Great sunset viewing platform. Well manicured lawns and good quality accommodation, with fans, bbq, great linen. Staff were marvellous and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
peter g wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Comfortable, clean, peaceful and away from it all. Walk to Namukulu boat ramp for a swim in clear blue water and watch the whales go by. You'll need a car 10kms out of Alofi, but in Niue you need one anyway to see the sights, Hio Cafe is walkable with great pizza and cocktails (Midori Splice a winner). Namukulu Cottages was fabulous and a break from the "real world". If you want peace, quiet and an opportunity to relax this is the place. Hosts are super helpful but not in your face. Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Food (especially meat and cheese) is super expensive in Niue, if self catering take vacuum packed...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Audw65 wrote a review Sept 2023
Perth, Western Australia, Australia28 contributions35 helpful votes
We have just spent a great week in Niue, what an amazing and beautiful island. We stayed at the Namukulu Cottages and were very happy with our accommodation. It is basic but has everything you need. Hot water, ceiling fans to keep you cool, a comfortable king sized bed, cooking facilities including Weber BBQ on the deck and full size fridge/freezer. Sea view from the deck. Internet is available via a mobile device, however you need to go into town to Telecom to add credit but this was easy to do. Hana, the manager, met us at the airport to give us instructions on how to find the place and Jimmie, Wendy and Billie were at the property greet us and help us get settled in. We didn't see much of them after that but thankfully Tony and Annie, the owners, were staying at the house on site and were very helpful when we needed more supplies and a pot to cook our uga! The pool is delightful on a very hot day when you want to stay 'home' and as there are only a few cottages, it meant we had the place to ourselves most of the time. There is a pool bar, open at limited times and with a very short walk through the bush you can go and watch the sunset and look for whales at a viewing seat. Thank you to our hosts, we had a fabulous week and are already thinking about our return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travelling-wilbur wrote a review Aug 2023
Lyttelton, New Zealand107 contributions102 helpful votes
We spent two weeks in Niue and stayed at Namakulu in week 2. Absolutely loved this place ! Jim and Wendy are great hosts and full of enthusiasm for everything Niue. The setting, in a beautiful garden with elevated views out over the Pacific Ocean is superb. Our cottage was spotless, with new appliances, plenty of hot water and a very comfortable bed and functional ceiling fan. Cafe Hio is a short walk down the road when you are ready for the best fish taco or a beer or cocktail. Or it’s a 15 minute drive to Alofi if you need to go there. There was only one rooster in the whole place and it barely raised a cocke-doodle-do. Many of the patrons are repeat visitors… we’ll be going back too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ray M wrote a review Aug 2023
Hamilton, New Zealand13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
A great place to stay! About 10 km from the main town Alofi, the cottages provide comfortable self catering accommodation. Though the cottage we were in had no airconditioning two ceiling fans kept us cool in 27+ degree temperatures. Friendly hosts Jimbo and Wendy were readt to help us and the manager Hana met us at the airport to get us on the way with our rental car. Each cottage has a large deck complete with a Weber barbecue. The gardens are a joy to look at - a nice tropical outlook from the deck and a glimpse of the ocean as well. All in all a superb place to stay...nothing to grizzle about at all and pretty well a little paradise. Many thanks for your hospitality Jimbo, Wendy and Hana!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cilla333 wrote a review Aug 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand10 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful, peaceful setting. The units are well spaced, appointed and maintained. The friendly hosts are very responsive, efficient and knowledgeable about the island. We'd definitely stay there gain.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Suzieq210 wrote a review Aug 2023
Auckland, New Zealand10 contributions2 helpful votes
Second stay at Namakulu Cottages, this time under new managers who have lavished love and attention on the place and made a huge difference! A great couple with their daughter … warm and welcoming with nothing too much trouble for them to help you with! A great place to stay, quiet and well appointed with a swimming pool and a view of the ocean from the cliff top where you can relax with a glass of wine and watch the whales.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Take some of your own food to the island if you can. Variety of food is limited in its availability
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tuapa area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
namukulu cottages hotel niue, namukulu cottages and spa, namukulu hotel alofi
LOCATION
NiueTuapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NAMUKULU COTTAGES (AU$164): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Tuapa, Niue) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Namukulu Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Namukulu Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Matapa Chasm (2.8 km), Limu Pools (0.9 km), and Avaiki Cave (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Namukulu Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and a poolside bar.
Which room amenities are available at Namukulu Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Namukulu Cottages?
Guests can enjoy a poolside bar, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Namukulu Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Namukulu Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Namukulu Cottages have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Namukulu Cottages offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Namukulu Cottages have airport transportation?
Yes, Namukulu Cottages offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Namukulu Cottages?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Namukulu Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.