We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caneel Bay Resort

LHW.comUSD 636*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 798*
USD 636*
Great Deal
USD 679*
USD 734*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Caneel Bay Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Caneel Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 667: English reviews
Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

We anchored at Caneel bay and received permission to tis our dinghy to the resort pier. The bar serves great cocktails and the food although not spectacular or particularly interesting is good and well prepared. Highly recommended by me.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken M
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is rather long. If you don’t feel like reading the entire piece, know that we loved Caneel Bay Resort (CBR) so much that we considered cutting our stay on St. Thomas down by a few days and staying a few more days at CBR. Thank you Lawrence Rockefeller for preserving this very special place. Caneel Bay Resort consists...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank SOCIAWG
New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort is just incredible. The natural beauty of the spot will take your breath away, and the staff is completely polite and pleasant. We had a fantastic time. We stayed in room #90, which had a walk-out deck onto Turtle Bay Beach. I highly recommend Room #90 or the rooms around it with these walk-out decks. They made it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hotelgirl111
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for five nights. It is a beautiful location, rooms are very clean, and the staff is very helpful! From turn down service with seashells on the pillow to providing bug spray, flip flops, robes and a cooler for beach trips they have thought of everything. Also with seven different beaches to visit it never felt crowded.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank F5906PWjenniferm
nyc
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

reservation - 2 stars email responses generally took a few days. got our arrival date wrong. mistake was not acknowledged or apologized for. corrected confirmation was supposed to include an attachment of arrival instruction. an incorrect document was attached. likewise no acknowledgement of the error. arrival - 4 stars check in at the airport was friendly, easy, quick, organized. ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noel17
Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This really is a perfect property - 168 rooms on 170 acres with wildlife galore. Between beautiful beaches, great food and drinks, snorkeling, sea turtles, wild donkeys, mongooses, deer and a great daily tea, you can stay as active as you'd like or just lay on one of the seven beaches. The service was exceptional around the entire resort from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BirdiesTravels1
Glacier National Park, Montana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son, Matthew and I traveled to St John to celebrate his birthday. Having never been to the Island, we choose Caneel Bay for the breathtakingly beautiful beaches. Not only was our room comfortable and located right on the beach, we were both grateful for the simplicity of the hotel. No TV's or Phones. The staff was gracious and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ppayne1957
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got here 24 hours ago. First, we tried to get an upgraded room to which we were told they were sold out. Suddenly when we wanted to pay there became an ocean view and a beachfront view available to which we paid another $88 per night plus tax and service fee. We did not receive our complimentary water and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Karen G
gulfport
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a week at Caneel Bay Resort in the US Virgin Island National Park on St John. From the moment we stepped off the plane till our return we were pampered in a very quiet and efficient manner. The reservation, concierge, and front desk staff are the best we've encountered. The ferry crew, Dive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DAVID666473
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The beaches and grounds at this resort are beautiful and deserve 5 stars. There is good snorkeling right off the beach, and snorkel gear is complimentary for guests. It would be hard not to see a sea turtle on your trip. The food, while expensive, is excellent. Unfortunately the management and service were very disappointing. There was a large group...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Katherine M
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Katherine M, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, and please allow me to apologize for your disappointments. I regret that after numerous attempts to contact you directly, both in person and by the notes left in your room, that we were unable to speak directly. It was our hopes that we had rectified your initial concerns, and that...

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (582)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (184)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
2.1 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
121 reviews
7.5 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
836 reviews
6.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
14.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Price Range: $660 - $1,905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Caneel Bay Resort staff and other travellers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from Caneel Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are good, best views at Turtle Bay”
trip647, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“I would choose a beach away from the dock to cut down on activity.”
MacTraveller64, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Scott Beach and Hawksbill have the best rooms”
interterra, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a beach view.”
sarahbS6424IG, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms with water views are great. We had a connecting room with our children, which worked out great.”
cglisealt, 15 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
LHW.com
USD 636* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 679
TravelocityUSD 734
HotelsClickUSD 798
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates