We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. John Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Start your review of St. John Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I just spent a few nights at the St. John Inn... what a cute little gem on our favorite island. Kelly & April hosted our stay and we're amazingly kind, and accommodating! If you are looking for walking distance to town, super clean and nice accommodations, wonderful atmosphere, and great service, this is your place! We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy G
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you both so much! I will be sure to let April know of your kind words. Makes us smile knowing you enjoyed it here! See ya'll hopefully very soon! -Kelly

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved everything about this boutique hotel, the hotel staff was extremely helpful and kind, they had a homey deck to enjoy the free happy hour rum punch and free breakfast every morning. Super convenient to town and the taxi stand that's needed to get you around this perfect island destination. Highly recommended. Frank and Sabrina from Dallas, Texas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankabarnes
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

It was so nice meeting ya'll and having fellow Texans here! We are so happy that the two of you enjoyed our Inn and this special island we call home! We look forward to seeing ya'll again very soon! Thank you for your kind words- Kelly

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed everything about our stay. JD, April and Kelly were so helpful. We originally planned to stay one day but ended up adding a second day. This little in has a perfect location for walking to Cruz Bay. We loved the complementary rum punch in the evening and the continental breakfast in the morning. The social time gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne K
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! Ya'll were a pleasure to have. Come back and see us soon! -JD

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the kind of place where you want to stay forever - the Inn is great, the folks running it are wonderful, and the location (right in St Cruz Bay) is perfect. We were upgraded to a villa when April discovered I had tendonitis and had trouble with stairs. The rooms are impeccable and very pretty, with bright colors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PetalumaGirl
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you both! We want our guests to have the best experience possible and thrilled we were able to make your stay more comfortable for you . Hope that tendonitis get better very soon and you are more than welcome to stay forever :) - Kelly

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely property in a perfect location. It was close to the dock and all of the restaurants/bars in Cruz Bay. However, the best part of this place is by far the gentleman working the front desk. His name was John and he completely made our experience in St. John. He gave us recommendations on restaurants, beaches, where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

JD (John) will be thrilled you had such nice things to say about him and your stay here. Truly makes us all very happy to hear that our guests had such a great time on island and a wonderful experience at our Inn. Thank you - Kelly

California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First let me warn people that want perfection with high end quality lodging, that you would be disappointed with this place so pick another hotel. They don't want you to be unhappy and write negative reviews nor do other guest there, that really appreciate the charm and low key atmosphere, want to have it spoiled by by unhappy guests that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tropical_fool
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Linda and Joel for such an amazing and detailed review! We love the "funky Caribbean Charm" description, exactly what we are going for! The owner has done a fabulous job at keeping the historical charm when updating rooms. It is so easy for us to have smiles on our faces because we love our guests and this Inn!...

Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a two bedroom villa with full kitchen. Living room had futon bed for kids. Great location, has small pool, coolers, beach towels and chairs you can use. Games for kids! Complimentary breakfast in morning. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words Sarah! Come back over whenever you'd like! We're only a short ferry ride away. :)

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While island hopping around the USVI, my boyfriend and I spent an evening in St John. We booked a room at St John's Inn and had a wonderful stay. An easy walk from Cruz Bay after a day spent swimming at Solomon Beach, it is conveniently located to shopping and dining. The grounds of the inn are beautiful, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASMC83
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you keep us in mind and stay with us longer next time!! JD

Clear Lake, Iowa
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We just returned from our stay on St John and at the St John Inn. We always enjoy staying here! They are always willing to work with us and give us the same room every year. The breakfast is more than enough to start your day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tybogirlkick
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

We had such a good time with ya'll! Thank you so much for returning to stay with us and we look forward to your return next year! :) -JD

Clearwater
Reviewed 18 March 2017

No phone in the room, the drain in the shower you could literally break your foot on. There was some sort of insect furrowing its away outside our bathroom. The towels are so worn that they looked dirty. They could not help us find a snorkeling trip, after two days of trying. We literally went downtown and booked without a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marelise22
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

We are bothered that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I want to touch on a few things. First, even though we do not have landline phones in the room, if you had asked to use one of our hotel phones, we would have been more than happy to let you use ours. This property is very...

401 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Cruz Room (32)
Viewed
Honeymoon Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.5 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
118 reviews
0.3 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
450 reviews
0.7 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
667 reviews
0.8 km away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
417 reviews
13.8 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 bedroom Villa. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Price Range: $302 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. John Inn staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from St. John Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not a resort, clean and comfortable rooms. Great staff.”
287jaynek, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The villas are great for a family, or just if you want more room - full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, and a back and a front porch.”
PetalumaGirl, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the family room (2 connected rooms)”
931nhk, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have at least 32 steps. Upstairs back is more private”
29deek, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are a few different room types.”
DominiqueP59, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5