We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. John Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Start your review of St. John Inn
 Click to rate
Clear Lake, Iowa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just returned from our stay on St John and at the St John Inn. We always enjoy staying here! They are always willing to work with us and give us the same room every year. The breakfast is more than enough to start your day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tybogirlkick
Clearwater
Reviewed 1 week ago

No phone in the room, the drain in the shower you could literally break your foot on. There was some sort of insect furrowing its away outside our bathroom. The towels are so worn that they looked dirty. They could not help us find a snorkeling trip, after two days of trying. We literally went downtown and booked without a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marelise22
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

We are bothered that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I want to touch on a few things. First, even though we do not have landline phones in the room, if you had asked to use one of our hotel phones, we would have been more than happy to let you use ours. This property is very...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this place for a couple of days. The room (rather a small flat) was splendid, with good space and everything we needed. There was complmentary breaksfast and happy hour/rumpunch every day. The best was the staff who were extremely helpful. Beach towels and snorkeling gear could be borrowed without cost

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErikB1945
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time and we are also so happy you had a very good experience! You should come back very soon , we have larger rooms we would love you to experience as well! :) thank you again, Kelly

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great hotel on a great island. We stayed in both the Inn and in one of the Villas. Both were quiet, comfortable and well-maintained. The location is great, too. Right in Cruz Bay - walking distance from the local restaurants, shops, etc. But what made this place stand out was the staff. They were - all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out all of our wonderful staff! We have a great group that really takes pride in their jobs and it will make them so happy to hear such a nice review! We are also happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our new Villas and the convenient location of our Inn to restaurants and town....

Storrs, CT
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Saint John Inn from Febuary 24 - 27th. This was our first time vacationing in Saint John. I have traveled to several places and stay mostly at resorts or major hotels (Hilton etc..) in addition to an occasional bed and breakfast. We wanted a different experience this time so I booked with Saint John...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ssemino
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for such a cool and in depth review. It helps so many people when they are researching places to vacation. Thank you for also mentioning the cleanliness or your room and the added touch of the flowers. I will pass that information on to our housekeepers as they will love to hear that! We are thrilled...

Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this Inn on the front and back end of a Trimaran sailing cruise. It is a very clean hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. It is pretty small and a little dated, but that may be part of the charm. They have a nice continental breakfast and a Rum Punch Happy Hour, where it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 552williamn
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are happy you chose us and that you will be back again ! We love getting to chat with our guests at Happy Hour too and always happy seeing guests make new friends from all over the world! Hopefully we will see you again very soon! -...

Foxboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best part of the St. John Inn was the staff - who were very friendly. We booked a suite with a kitchenette but missed the fine print which said kitchenette was a small microwave and small fridge - we expected more. The picture when we booked our room showed a balcony - which our room did not have. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S A
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Well we hate hearing that you didn't feel like you got what you expected. We have no way of knowing from this review how you made your reservations (online booking agent, our website,etc) and how to help resolve the issue. We do have a couple of rooms with a balcony/porch as well as those with full size refrigerators and actual...

Locust grove
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have had friends stay here and rave about it. We experienced it ourselves this weekend. Room was perfect, location is awesome! Right downtown Cruz Bay. Much more then we expected here. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmalek1
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Even though your stay was short, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! Just let us know when you would like to come back and we will be more than happy to have you guys again! Thank you. -JD

Reviewed 19 February 2017

THE hotel on St. John. Perfect location, totally great and kind staff (not to forget the male-cat named Alice) Great yet simple breakfast, nice and clean room, no noise from town and the best, the FREE rum-come session from 5.30pm-7.pm:-) Love you guys:-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N H K
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We love hosting our rum-punch happy hour each evening so that the guests can mingle and share ideas with each other. Alice is definitely a staple here at the Inn and is our mascot. Come back and see us again! :) JD

Ruston, Louisiana
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Staff were great! Ill be back soon! Most helpful with stuff to do and getting things arranged. Close to everything in Cruz Bay and great place to just hang out and relax there or venture out all over the island. Nothing is hard to get just stay left!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tandrews72
KellyHudnall, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and were able to get you on a boat charter to see the BVI's! We will see ya'll again soon! -JD

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Cruz Room (32)
Viewed
Honeymoon Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.5 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
115 reviews
0.3 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
444 reviews
0.7 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
650 reviews
0.7 km away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
413 reviews
13.5 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 bedroom Villa. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Price Range: $248 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. John Inn staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from St. John Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the family room (2 connected rooms)”
 of 5 bubbles 931nhk, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have at least 32 steps. Upstairs back is more private”
 of 5 bubbles DJosefK, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are a few different room types.”
 of 5 bubbles DominiqueP59, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you can get one with a bay view, it's worth it!”
  • View from outside our room
 of 5 bubbles erinbsc, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 117 does not have a private porch like some of the others.”
 of 5 bubbles tberry12, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5