We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Westin St. John Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin St. John Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westin St. John Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,594: English reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Visited several hotels during our sray here as we were part of a wedding and several other parties stayed elsewhere, inculding Gallows Point. The grounds and the rooms are unmatched on St:John, Furthermore the resort is the hub of many activities, such as snorkeling excursions, sunset sails, scuba and parasailing trips that leave from the very convenient hotel dock. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ceedub16
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your review. All of us here at the Westin St. John enjoyed reading your comments and learning of all the things you enjoyed during your stay. We were especially excited to hear that you consider our beautiful resort to be unmatched by other resorts on St. John! What a great compliment and we appreciate... More 

New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Westin resort in St. John was beautiful the pool the beach the grounds...everything. We were in a room that overlooked the pool. The resort was very kid friendly, from the big trampoline float in the bay, activities, playground etc. We took two excursions right from the dock at the Westin. they were awesome and convenient. We are planning to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank loridun
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

We were very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here with us at the Westin St. John and we want to thank you for posting your comments to Trip Advisor. We can’t wait to welcome you back so that you can enjoy our beautiful beach and pool, activities and excursions provided by Cruz Bay Watersports... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

St John is just beautiful, we went to Hawksnest, Trunk and Cinnamon bays, all of them are idyllic, they have to be among the most beautiful beaches in the world. The location of the Westin is convenient,the resort beach was very nice and our 10 year old spent most of his time on the floating trampolines. We stayed in one... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathyMD
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were day visitors as we were staying elsewhere on the island in the US Virgin Islands with family. The USVI is the American Caribbean so not well known to UK people. We checked with the pool waitressif it was Ok to be there and were immediately made welcome. With a credit card deposited we were able to order drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive B
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for sharing your perspective with us. We were delighted to hear that although you and your family only spent a day at The Westin St. John, that it was a day to remember! From our delicious food and great pool to our instinctive staff and beautiful beach, we were thrilled to hear you enjoyed... More 

andover ma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our first trip to St. John, which was a beautiful beach island,a small town center, no big chain stores, great small restaurants, low key and friendly, safe. We had a hotel room at the Westin, short walk to their great pool and small, man made beach. Beds were comfortable as promised. Only complaint was that outdoor floodlight shone... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelcouple97
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and for posting it to Trip Advisor! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of The Westin St. John, and that your recent stay was a successful one. While we were glad to hear that your room was clean and your Heavenly bed was comfortable, we were disappointed to learn... More 

East Lyme, CT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Westin on St. John is not what one would expect from a Westin. The first time we went, we stayed in a hotel room that was ok. We own a week in the hillside villas and that's where we stayed on our trip there last week. I was disappointed. We pay over $3k a year in maintenance fees for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica C
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

While St. John is a must see paradise, the Westin is a disappointment. Our ocean view room looked out over a parking lot/basketball court. Annoyed by the sound of young ones running and yelling outside our room we asked for the starwoods preferred guest upgrade. Though we were denied the first day, Jeff was able to find us a room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jon G
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to voice your experience during your recent stay at The Westin St. John Resort & Villas. Your experience at The Westin St. John should have been a transition between the stress of travel to an environment where you can relax and refresh yourself to be at your best. Clearly this did not... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We got off to a little 'rocky' start. First, everyone should realize the only way to St John is by boat, and we arranged to get picked up by the Westin ferry. We were the only passengers, and when one of the engines on the ferry went, in quite choppy seas, it was a little longer and bumpier ride than... More 

Helpful?
Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and for sharing it with all of us here on Trip Advisor! We were very disappointed to hear of your rocky start and that your experience on our ferry transfer was not comfortable or ideal. We were also disappointed to hear of the service you received at the Front Desk. We truly value you as a... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Westin grounds are beautiful, peaceful, well kept and private, however, I cannot say the same thing about the rooms at The Westin. Rooms: The rooms are very dated and in major need of an upgrade. Our room was a beachfront room. I'll give the hotel some credit for the room location, it literally was 2 steps from the beach.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JJFigs
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay and I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. While it sounds as though you found certain aspects renewing, like our gorgeous property, our private beach, and our on-site Watersports company, it appears we did not exceed your expectations in all areas. Your thoughts are very... More 

LBI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Let me start by saying that my family LOVES St. John. We also love the Westin, however, we just got back from our trip on the 14th and were a little disappointed at the Westin's management. The Westin is supposed to be a smoke-free property except for the smoking area that they have designated over by the deli, club, sales... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for posting your review regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. We were thrilled to hear that you love returning to both our island and our property! We strive to provide you with a personal and renewing service and I am so glad that you find this to be true this year after year. However,... More 

1,523 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (250)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (445)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Poolside room (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.2 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
422 reviews
0.9 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
415 reviews
1.2 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
593 reviews
6.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort, makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Price Range: $602 - $1,962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet and not at all crowded. Very relaxing and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles stovall1305, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I loved the Coral Vista Villas because they were close to everything I needed. I was on the ground floor and was pleased with it.”
 of 5 bubbles GinOaklandCA, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If I stayed here again I would not want to be on the ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles yanzkc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They do not honor requests for a particular type of room or one with a view!”
  • the worst
  • the villa pool was dirty & only had 2 ft of water in it
  • torn stitching & ugly stain on side of mattress
  • lots of furniture had stains & rips
  • deep hammock-like dents on both sides of mattress
 of 5 bubbles ElleN350, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hillside for views”
 of 5 bubbles 150robyns, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay