We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
LEICESTER
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. Don't expect to much as basic rooms. Could do with major updating. Def highly recommend some new bedding. Staff very pleasant. Parking also limited as public use car park for cinema and other leisure facilities in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZIGGYLeicester
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us and we are really pleased to learn that this was achieved and that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the service you received from our staff. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As mentioned above, this place is the perfect base for mountain bikers, bike park wales close by and there are so many trails nearby it is a bikers heaven around here! There are loads of restaurants and a cinema nearby for evening entertainment!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one and you found lots of places to take your bike! Your feedback is invaluable and we will notify the hotel of...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as my normal hotel in Merthyr was full, and after this visit, i will book here in future, staff were amazing from the guy who checked me in to the staff that cleaned the room, everyone seemed friendly,, room was really spacious, and had a bath, as well as a shower, if you need more tea and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shenisegibbs
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Merthyr Tydfil Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn that our hotel team were friendly and cheerful and your room was clean and comfortable. We aim to offer great value stays with a high level of service to all who pass through our doors and we are thrilled to see that this...

Didcot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a great "budget " hotel - don't expect the Ritz but the hotel is clean and comfortable. The beds are lovely and the rooms are spacious. Bathrooms are clean. Free parking outside. Gavin the reception chap was very nice and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emski28
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Difficult to book over phone with head office. Impossible to get message across even by spelling the name Merthyr Tydfil. Eventually called to hotel but could only book for one night at a time with reception. Most frustrating following a long journey! Room was clean and comfortable. Difficult to figure out the workings of the shower without instructions. Only 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Educoshaun
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to learn of the trouble you experienced during your booking journey. Please be aware you can make bookings via our website as opposed to calling. However, we're pleased you enjoyed clean, comfortable accommodation. Your comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for taking the time for reviewing our hotel.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

brilliant location everything walking distance, On a leisure village comprising leaisure centre with swimming pool. Sub way ,Mcdonalds. Frankie and Bennys . Harvester , Nandos ,Oriental garden Chinese ,Marstons Dragon Fly pub ,Bowling and leasure complex with lazer quest. 5 mins walk town centre

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colin1111
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The room was filthy. Crumbs and hairs on the headboard light shelf. Dirty ring marks on the shelf next to the bed. Dust encrusted toilet roll holder. Dust and dirt against every skirting board on the carpets. Generally disgustingly dirty. Stank of that cheesy bleach smell you get when you keep using the same cleaning cloth.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMadoc
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Merthyr Tydfil Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience, however we are pleased to see you have contacted us directly on our Social Media pages and your stay is currently being investigated directly with the hotel team. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Our stay was OK but at 1am run Ed by 2rooms off drunk teenagers setting alarms off, and letting large groups of friends in, and and to top it off a very young night Porter totally unable to deal with situation, end result totally unacceptable rowdy guests allowed to stay and make more notice till after 3am, non guests removed,,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Great experience at this hotel, stayed here for 3 nights, staff were great, from checking us in to the cleaners to the girl who checked us out. nothing was too much trouble, room was huge, we had a great room on 2nd floor at the front of the hotel. No food at this hotel (apart from a breakfast box which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found the staff to be helpful and friendly during your stay.Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we do hope you will...

Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Slept on a put me up bed in a family room and I'm still looking for my spine! The beds were so uncomfortable I think it's a form of torture to make a child's sleep on a bed like this. We were in room two on the ground floor, the room itself seemed too small for a family room. So...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S5Maddock
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
312 reviews
1.3 km away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
110 reviews
5.0 km away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
123 reviews
12.5 km away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
10.8 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Address: Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Once you book on line, phone the lodge to request a ground floor room if you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyhedger54, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor at front”
 of 5 bubbles L2859WBpeters, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if with a bike (although there is a lift)”
 of 5 bubbles MarkGa1971, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at the back. When we were there the leisure park was not too busy, so not sure what rooms would be like at front.”
 of 5 bubbles 685margb, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles weloveholidays007, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5