We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Maine
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. I've stayed here a bunch of times, and if you read my reviews you'll see that I've always enjoyed it. But John and Gwen keep finding little ways to make it even better every time I come, which is impressive, considering how much I liked it to begin with! Green Iguana is the best hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoxWin09
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Matt, Guests who return as often as you do are more than Guests, you are a friend! We are happy you were able to stay a little longer with more time to enjoy what our little island has to offer! We know you were sold on The Green Iguana with the previous managers and are proud we have been able...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My girl and I stayed one night after our St John vacation. Totally charming John and Gwen were sooo hospitable and interesting Loved it all Short walk to shops nightlife ad flea market awesome view from the hill Many steps

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We love the view from our balcony too! Anytime of the day or night we look out in awe! And to think, we get to see it everyday! We are happy you enjoyed your stay on St. Thomas AND at the Green Iguana Hotel!

Lorain, Ohio
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My girlfriend and I had an amazing time in St. Thomas. The Green Iguana hotel had all of the accommodations we needed and John and Gwen really made our first trip to the island an unforgettable one. Their knowledge of the beaches, restaurants and shops helped us to quickly start relaxing and took all of the stress out of trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Drew, you and Kelly have GOT to be the cutest couple around! Not that being from our home state of Ohio has anything to do with it! We enjoyed your company and are glad you had a great time! We know you are working on your dates to come back to your island home! See you soon!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Green Iguana for two nights either side of a 7 day sailing trip and it was fantastic. Both John and Gwen were extremely welcoming and ensured we had a pleasant stay. They even allowed us to take an extra late checkout to align with our flight out of St. Thomas. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay on either end of your sailing adventure! Lots of our Guests enjoy "detoxing" from everyday life at the beginning and then as a "vacation after the vacation" before heading home! We hope to see you again next year!

Quebec
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was my first trip to the islands, didn't know where to stay, and counted on the experiences of others on Trip Advisor. The reviews of The Green Iguana looked like what we needed, so yes when we arrived John and Gwen were there and they gave us a practical introduction to the island and made extra arrangements at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacques N
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We must say you guys were GREAT Guests! It was fun to hang out with you when our schedules allowed. Thank you so much for introducing us to bbq'd ribs that didn't take all day to cook! They were delicious! (We think the Boss like them too!) We know you will return as soon as you can. Stay warm up...

Kent, Washington
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The morning of December 12, 2012 began terribly wrong, after being left behind with what was supposed to be an Epic cruise, we were, sad,stressed and feeling hopeless with barley any money and no way to get back home to SEA, we were brought to the airport only to find airline tickets were outrageous, we began to feel worse, no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Zebragirl28
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Jason and Nikki.... we are happy we could help you turn a bad experience into a good one! We understood your unique situation. You cannot always get a last minute flight out of St. Thomas. We thank YOU from the bottom of our hearts for your kind words and for the awesome Christmas Tree ornament! (That will probably go into...

Auburn, Alabama
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We recently spent one night in Charlotte Amalie before heading out on a sailing trip. When researching places to stay The Green Iguana stood head and shoulders above every place else based on the reviews I read. The place did not disappoint. This is a great little hotel located conveniently to the downton area and all of the shopping and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jkphoto212
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for finding us! We have awesome reviews because we have awesome Guests who make our job as resident managers very easy! Charlotte Amalie is a great location! Easy access to the airport, ferries, sea planes and beaches, plus the shopping and restaurants! It is our pleasure offer information and suggestions to be sure you get the...

Fletcher, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our flight was over sold and we didn't get on the plane. I started searching for a room and was referred to The Green Iquana. I called and didn't get an anwser so I left a message and kept looking for another room. With in no time Gwen called me back and left me a message with ALL the details...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D F
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We love the times we can take stranded Island Visitors and give them safe and comfortable accommodations! We know what it's like to be stranded in a strange town and how nice it is to have a great room available to us at the last minute! Late check-outs are not always possible, however we can always keep your...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I was sailing in the Virgin Islands the first part of Dec, 2012, and needed a room in St Thomas for just one night. Trip Advisor recommended the Green Iguana Hotel, currently managed by John and Gwen Pittman. Gwen was very responsive and informative, and since I was arriving close to midnight, she arranged to have a taxi driver they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank capnscotty
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Hey Cap't Scotty! Congratulations on completing the next faze of your sailing school! That means you will be visiting more often? It was a pleasure to chat with you as well! We are happy the taxi driver was able to provide you with your ground transportation and also to make late night dinner suggestions for you! Thank you for your...

BVI
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Beautiful room, beautiful view. Very clean and comfortable. Reception is very welcoming and helpful. My husband and I have spent quite some time on St Thomas before and stayed at different hotels and self catering accommodations but I found that The Green Iguana Hotel is now my favorite and we will definitely stay here again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panzysc
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear your boat is back in the water and you are again enjoying the seas! We enjoy that to be able to provide reliable accommodations for Guests from surrounding islands for any reason for a visit to St. Thomas! We are looking forward to serving you on your next visit!

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.9 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
675 reviews
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
549 reviews
4.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
414 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $226 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the H block rooms they were up higher, super view!!!!”
864lisaf, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ours had a great view - it's a small place and Gwen will tell you all you need to know when booking.”
LizzyP12345, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views are the lofts but if you want a balcony go with H1 and H2!”
Q7981QGpamb, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room list for availability, size, location within the hotel's A and H buildings to book yours in advance.”
WilliamL809, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved room H1; beautiful outdoor terrace with lounge chairs. Perfect for sundowners. Big kingsize bed and cream,/white color palette.”
R9959YXvickym, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5