We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,104: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is very nice, but prepare to walk quite a bit. It is situated on a cliff, so you have to walk down stairs to get to the beach. You will pass numerous large, iguanas on your way to the beach...pretty cool. The beach is relatively choppy, but nice. If you want fantastic waters, take the ferry to St....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maxgsp2015
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear maxgsp2015, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially all the beautiful views! As our resort is sprawling, we do offer a shuttle to take guests to an from the beach area! Thank you for your feedback, and comments, and we look forward to welcoming you again!

VIRGINIA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Carrying luggage three flights of stairs wasn't that great but the room at Morning Star was spacious and beach view was nice. However, the bathroom tub needed some serious TLC.Lots of black spots between tile.I assume mildew. The bar in tub was painted over which clearly had old chipped painted over. I Understand that beach resorts tend to get more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MORAMARI
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear MORAMARI, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hear you about the TLC and we are indeed working on it. With a resort this size, there is a lot of maintenance work to be done and we wish we could take care of it all yesterday. My apologies about your room service tray not being...

Jannali, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 2 nights between swimming 20 miles in the British Virgin Islands and flying home to Sydney. I wanted to have a nice rest and asked for a quiet room 3 months in advance. There were some issues with this, but resolved by the helpful management. I have the impression the staff are very concerned that all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DerekHulme
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear DerekHulme, We are very happy we could provide you with a quiet, relaxing stay, and that you let us know that you found your accommodations outstanding. Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your two day stay with us, and that your breakfasts with the omelet lady really stood out! We hope your swim went well, and...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are Marriott timeshare holders so my husband had points for the week's stay. It is a beautiful hotel; scenery is absolutely gorgeous. My only complaint is that we were on the second floor right above a bar where they had nightly music. It was really loud even though there was a hallway door and our room door between us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baltimorebird
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear baltimorebird, Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest, and timeshare holder, and letting us know that you really enjoyed staying at our beautiful resort. We appreciate your feedback, and comments on your room location, and apologize for any inconvenience the music may have caused you. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your time at the...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had ocean front room with balcony. Hotel Restaurant has excellent breakfast Buffet. Outstanding connections to activities, swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, underwater scooter, Catamaran and tour to BVI

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter G. D
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Walter G. D, It is wonderful to hear that you had a wonderful spring getaway at our resort! Thank you for telling us how pleased you were with your ocean front balcony room, and that you enjoyed your meals at the resort especially our excellent breakfast buffet. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy so...

Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was here with my 2 sisters and a friend. We shared a "villa" on the beach rather than staying in the main hotel. The overall property was great, good shuttles, great food at the 2 places we ate (skipped the more expensive Blu restaurant), service was wonderful. And the pools at the main hotel were amazing. Only complaint was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori H
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lori H, It is great to hear that you found our service wonderful, and that you were very pleased with your accommodations, too! Our resort offers a number of dining options, infinity pools, and beautiful beaches, and we are very happy you were able to enjoy it all. We are glad we could host all of you, and hope...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I loved it , the customer service was amazing and the staff downstairs that serve the breakfast Made me more than comfortable I would definitely stay here again . Room service was Delicious as well . As far as the price , I wasn't expecting everything to be charged to my credit card and when I checked out I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Empress C
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Empress C, We are very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us! Thanks for sharing how much you liked and appreciated the amazing service you received, and that you had delicious dining experiences,too! We appreciate your feedback, and comments, and hope you will be planning a return stay real soon!

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with family for 4 nights from 3/30 - 4/3 beautiful weather! In the 80's & the ocean was refreshing! So clear! Sand so soft! We did a lot of outings so I didn't get to hang out at the resort like I wanted to. So much there: several restaurants, bars, swim up bar in the infinity pool, free rum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChilliJilli80
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear ChilliJilli80, We are so happy we could host you and your family for a very enjoyable stay at our resort. Thank you for letting us know that from the soft, sandy beaches, to the infinity pools, to the numerous dining choices, that you enjoyed everything! We are glad you especially enjoyed dining on the beach at CoCo Joe's, and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used to stay with spg. since spg and Marriott merged and i was looking forward to stay with with the same brand in increased locations world wide. One would expect the same type of service however it looks like Marriott did not meet my expectations and I was very disappointed in this hotel. It appears that it is resting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo G
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Leo G, We never like to hear that a guest left disappointed after a stay with us, and apologize that we did not live up to the expectations you have when staying at Marriott properties. Your feedback, and comments are very important to us as we move forward to refurbish rooms, and amenities at the resort. We have begun...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Frenchmans reef and Morning Star Marriott is definitely one of the best resorts I have been to. The views are remarkable and the amenities are just as amazing. The layout of the property and the pools is done perfectly and the two infinity pools just draw you in.Would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
MrChrisDonohue, Executive Offices at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jane K, We are thrilled to hear that you found us to be one of the best resorts you have stayed at, and that the views were remarkable, and our many amenities amazing! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed relaxing in our infinity pools! We appreciate your rave review, and hope to welcome you again one...

2,827 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2464)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (595)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (509)
Viewed
Room/Suite (213)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
View from Room (216)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (806)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
979 reviews
6.9 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,388 reviews
6.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
665 reviews
2.9 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $349 - $734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Jetsetter, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
250 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (250)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1655 and 1651 were good rooms - big and comfortable; First floor was a little dirty and our room smelled like sewage (so we moved)”
christinepG4955UZ, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Full sea views are exquisite!!”
544tld, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Morningstar ground level has no stairs if you have strollers. Quiet in the evening. Garden view was very quiet”
JennE1101, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Aim for higher floors - both for view and privacy”
riptide, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we asked for ground floor for easy access”
CARIBBEANonlinemagaz, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5