We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,045 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,990: English reviews
Start your review of Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Senoia, Georgia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very fun and entertaining trip. The kayaks have glass bottoms and LED lights so you can see fish, stingrays and turtles swimming under you and up to your boat. Josh was a very knowledgeable and interesting guide with tons of information about the surrounding area, history and marine life. I would definitely recommend this. No hard paddling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 438kimberlyr
New York City, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My family & I travel a lot, and since my husband is platinum elite at Marriott, we stay at them frequently around the world. I feel like I'm a pretty experienced traveler, and I here is everything I learned on our recent trip to St. Thomas. I hope it helps fellow travelers to have an amazing experience in St. Thomas:...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KMMCP
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Jack and I stayed for a night on our way through STT to BVI. The property is well maintained and has lots to do. Three pools, a bunch of restaurants a waterfall and a great beach. We had the pleasure of touring some of the resort features with Aaron. His hospitality was amazing and the pride he has in his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
New York City, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The facility is divided between the main Marriott up on a bluff over the water and the Morningstar Resort down below on the beach. We were at Morningstar. Room was just fine except for the musty smell that we couldn't get rid of. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom facilities. Nice porch. We wee on the ground floor and most evenings took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill60763
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bill60763, We are happy to know that your comfortable accommodations at the Morning Star were to your liking, and that you really enjoyed your views from your porch, and your pretty setting right on the beach! Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your dining experiences at The Sand Bar, which became your favorite spot at the...

Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at frenchman reef in the habor view rooms for our honeymoon 2/14/17-2/21/17, this was an amazing trip and very beautiful views, wonderful food and drinks. We did think it was very over priced so we did start eating off resort or eating at the grab and go station to save on spending. However, We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank megansul427
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear megansannes, Congratulations on your recent marriage, and thank you for choosing to honeymoon at our resort! We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing trip, and enjoyed the beautiful views, and your dining experiences at the resort. We do apologize for any inconvenience and/or disappointment you experienced when we closed one of our pools, and restaurant for...

Belmont, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the third year in a row that my wife and I have stayed at Morning Star Beach Resort. I have read many reviews about how poor the resort is. I have stayed in a different building each year. The rooms and amentities have been terrific. We arrived early to the resort. Checking in was very easy and quick....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carletonsoccer
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear carletonsoccer, It is great to hear that we just welcomed you back for your third stay with us, and to hear that you had another wonderful time at the resort! We are happy to know that you were warmly greeted, and well taken care of at check-in, and beyond, and that your requests were all taken care of for...

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room had some serious black mold problems.. the ceiling in my room had black mold by the air-con output. The bathroom had damp and flaking plaster (I am guessing a leak from the room above). The speed of service in Coco Joe's is glacial..... it took an hour to deliver breakfast after we gave our order. Check-in wasn't available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stuart H, Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort, and for offering your feedback. Although you enjoyed our famous views and location, it sounds like your room satisfaction was low. Please accept our apologies for the frustrations you describe. We know it can be disconcerting when a room is not cleaned properly, and for the mistakes on...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We called it a Marriott with only one R. Something was always missing. Room service tray in the aisles for hours on end. The whole place needed a paint job and a thorough cleaning. Every day they washed the deck above us onto our balcony -- we wondered why our chairs and table were so dirty. The deck above was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim K
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jim K, Thank you for reviewing our resort. We appreciate feedback that assists us in improving our services to guests. It’s always a disappointment to learn when we’ve missed the mark. I hope it will interest you to know that we’re scheduling several beautification projects in the coming year and investing heavily in additional training for our teams. We...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We got married at the resort and had many friends and family there. We are Marriott Elite members so they upgraded our room. The room had 2 floors with a dirty spiral staircase connecting the floors, the decor, sofa, walls etc. are outdated and dirty with old tile floors, making it feel cold. None of our rooms were ready when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank niqkava
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear niqkava, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. With regard to your check-in, you didn't indicate what time you were trying to check in. The official check-in time at our resort is 4 p.m. and while we would love to be able to accommodate guests who arrive earlier, that is not always possible. If our hotel...

White River Junction, Vermont
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I and another couple spent 4 nights on the "All Inclusive" plan. My husband has some mobility issues and is on oxygen, our travel agent made this clear when she booked our room. When we got there, our room was in the Harbor View annex, on the second floor and no elevator! We requested a room in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jwpnpd
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear jwpnpd, We apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations when staying at our resort, and that you were not fully pleased with your stay here with us. We are glad to know you were pleased for the most part with your accommodations, but apologize that your husband encountered issues getting around the resort, and that at...

2,782 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2419)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (498)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (577)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (210)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (211)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (801)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
934 reviews
6.1 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,367 reviews
2.5 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,160 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in East End
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $305 - $804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
227 questions
Ask a question
Roanoke, Virginia

See all questions (227)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with balcony overlooking water in Morningstar”
 of 5 bubbles Bill60763, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we had an island view room which actually ended up being harbor view room, very beautiful view”
 of 5 bubbles megansul427, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Love the ocean front rooms at Morning Star. If you get a garden view I would suggest a 2nd or 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles carletonsoccer, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 44stuarth, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevator in Harbor View annex”
 of 5 bubbles jwpnpd, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5